We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From the phone call i won't be booking...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grove House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grove House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“From the phone call i won't be booking...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I call the hotel to find out about the room, I say hello and that i am calling to find out about the hotel; i was expecting a pleasant greeting, perhaps even a "how lovely, how can i help?". However i am greeted with "yes what do you want?". Hmm ok different; so i continue...
I keep it simple and ask about available dates; then however I move on to 'children' (big mistake). I asked how accommodating the hotel is of children; I am NOT ALLOWED to ask that kind of question because it assumes he has a problem with children!! Honestly i sometimes wonder about the mental health of the people who run hotels...I mean seriously have you considered a different profession where maybe you don't have to deal with people?! Needless to say that is as far as our booking went.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankysaysrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulalisuffolk, Owner at Grove House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I don't normally respond to reviews, but in this case I feel that you have given me no option. Never have a seen such a distortion of the facts reported to support such a scathing attack.

I should point out that this person did not stay with us. This review is based upon a phone enquiry. You were answered properly and politely at all times whilst discussing room rates and availability. After discussing the family room, its suitability, etc, everything was fine until that point.
Your questions then proceeded to ask if I like little children. I said that I felt uncomfortable, and I could not answer any further questions. At which point you got upset.
I find it hard to believe in this day and age that you could ask such a politically insensitive question. Your review infers I have an attitude or a problem in dealing with people, to which I can assure you, the rest of our reviews clearly state otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
67
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely b&b on a busy dual carriage away and unless you drive is a little out of the way.

Clean and bright and a lovely garden. Breakfast was nice though the fried potatoes were hard. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

When we checked in Friday evening and we were given the week day breakfast times instead of the weekend. We looked through the information booklet and realised we had been given the wrong times. There is no check out time listed in the book. I found out by going on line.

We had a drink in the small.bar area with limited drinks. I was advised by the person who served me "this is not my domain and will add the drinks.to your room i dont want to muck the till up".

Our room was situated at the back on the groundfloor looking onto the car park. You.need to keep the blinds shut as we found two other guests looking into our room on the way to their car.

Overall it was a nice bright b&b

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notnic
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked last minute for one night and we're not disappointed. Lovely hotel, deserves it 4 *. Friendly welcome, staff all lovely, bedroom very good, comfy bed, quality bed linen. Nice lounge to sit in, small bar area, nice restaurant tho we only used this for breakfast. Breakfast deserves a mention .. Lovely fresh fruit cut up small, beautifully cooked full English. Nice garden to sit in with a drink. 15 min walk into town or you can get a cab where there's a great choice of places to eat. Lovely stay, no noise from road, ample parking, I'd definitely go back and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice clean, comfortable small hotel where we stayed for three nights. Immaculately decorated.
Really pleasant and friendly owners and staff, nothing was too much trouble, so we really enjoyed our stay.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served promptly. We also chose to stay in for our evening meals and here again these were perfectly cooked and nicely presented.
Plenty of free parking on the premises adjacent to the main A12 so easy to find. Wifi was free but not good in the bedroom area although in the sitting areas we had no problem.
Certainly would recommend Grove House and will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norman9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Not in Woodbridge itself but on a busy dual carriageway. Not a problem if you are doing lots of day trips out but nowhere to walk to in the evening so if you don't want to eat in you have to drive somewhere. It is certainly worth eating in as the food is excellent, two menus plus from the board which changes daily. I would have liked to see a pasta dish as standard e.g lasagne. Nothing too much trouble for them, we ate in twice as too much trouble to drive out unless you eat on way back from your trips. Beds extremely comfortable, both rooms we occupied beautifully decorated. We did not however like the big chunky mugs and on leaving said this to be told if we had asked they have China ones but most people prefer the big ones, too heavy for us when full of tea if you have arthritic hands! Would definitely stay here again. Very pleasant owner and staff. Have not said how good and filling the breakfasts are, no need for lunch! Lots of parking. Super lounge, big comfy squashy sofas for watching TV if you do not want to stay in your room. Separate bar, excellent choice of drinks.

Room Tip: 3 is a lovely double room overlooking the garden. 2 is a small double it only has two velux roof win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Injebreck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

not bad hotel. a bit outdated. On a main road a hotel from the 1980 th. Easy to get to ,Room are good
A bit small. The shower is good a bit small for a large person but it do the job
Good off road parking 24 hour staff all in all ok good for i think 2 till 3 star ,breakfast good and compleet .we think. this is a good place when you are traveling and want to stay for one or two nights,internet good

Room Tip: Have no expiences any room i think we do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were group of 9 people staying in the Grove House for 3 nights. We found the place very clean, comfortable and well furnished and plenty of free parking. The breakfast was good and on the one night we ate our evening meal there it was also very good. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_from_Shropshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
2.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.7 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#8 of 22 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House Hotel

Property: Grove House Hotel
Address: 39 Grove Road, Woodbridge IP12 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House Hotel is a small, friendly, family run Hotel situated just on the outskirts of the beautiful market town of Woodbridge, Suffolk. Providing 10 en-suite bedrooms, fully licensed Bar and Restuarant, and plenty of free parking, the Hotel is located within easy reach of Woodbridge and access to the A!2 and all of the Heritage Coast. Once you have visited, you will return, whether you are on business, holiday, golfing trip or visiting friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grove House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing