We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private beach”

Orford Ness National Nature Reserve
Ranked #5 of 35 things to do in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest shingle spit in Europe was a top-secret military site from 1913 to the 1980s.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Private beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I've only headed over there on my own boat, rather than on the National trust's ferry. However, it is a long shingle spit (longest in Europe i think), with the river Ore on one side and the sea the other - just a few minutes walk apart.

When we've been there it feels like you are on your own private island, though you are required to stick the marked footpaths. Great place to go for a picnic and a spot of fishing.

I've yet to do it, but its on the list to view the pagodas - which are old nuclear test facilities. Amazing looking buildings. You have to do this with the NT i beleive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigBobW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    54
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We spent an afternoon here. Some lovely scenery and interesting exhibitions of the history of the site. Plenty of places to shelter from the breeze and enjoy a relaxing picnic too

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A series of unique ecosystems make Orford Ness an internationally important bird sight. We had a great day with many spots, including the incredibly tame hares. One of the most secret locations during the war the tour looked very interesting ... but we were there for the birds.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesGutteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great for a wander and photography”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Two friends and I visited on a Saturday in early August. One of my friends is living locally in Orford not far from the Quay and had recommended a visit. Judging from the photos he had shared before, he is a frequent visitor.

This excursion would not suit everyone. There is a significant price differential between National Trust members £4 and Non-NT members £9. The ferry crossing would also make it difficult for anyone other than the able bodied, unless there are options available of which I am unaware.

On arrival, you are given a briefing about which of the three paths are open. We were lucky enough to have two routes available. This enabled us to explore a large swathe of the island, although much is off limits due to unexploded ordnance. At times, I found this somewhat frustrating. As an avid photographer, some of the objects I most wanted to photograph being just out of reach. Nevertheless, I shot a good 100 + images during my visit.

The landscape is somewhat surreal with nature gradually reclaiming old military installations. This jumble of decay I found interesting and indicative of times gone by. We were lucky enough to be blessed with good weather. There is not a great deal of shelter on a less favourable weather day!

The ness is packed with wildlife and we saw a grey seal, a kestrel and a leveret amongst other birds and animals.

Bear in mind that the ferry is limited to 12 passengers per crossing and stops for 45 minutes at lunch. If you plan to spend a decent amount of time there, take provisions. None are available on the ness. And keep to the paths!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Orford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just a day trip, but had a lovely meal in the very old pub the Jolly Sailor, then on a boat trip for an hour with really interesting commentary about the spit & the use of the area during the war, not forgetting all the bird life

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orford Ness National Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Orford Ness National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing