We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting - best suited to aviation fans”

Bentwaters Cold War Museum
Ranked #6 of 36 things to do in Woodbridge
Attraction details
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting - best suited to aviation fans”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed the explanation of the cold war and visiting the control centre. We liked the exhibits and spent quite a bit of time exploring. Guides were keen to talk and help. Some of the exhibition is quite specialist and aimed at real aviation enthusiasts rather than your average punter. Good though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
242 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent museum and superb volunteer staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Despite living close by BCWM for over 12 years this was our first visit. Having grown up through much of the cold war (but being too young to understand it all) I found the information really inciteful. We spent 3 hours there and it was not enough time (we had a late lunch to organise for our guests).

The ad hoc lectures in the EAC, given by an American ex-USAF, were humorous and very revealing about the life on the base for the officers and men.

I liked the fact that the 'UFO' incident was treated with the disdain it deserves, a counterpoint to the 1960s propaganda film shown, in a loop, in the lecture theatre.

With so much more to see around the airfield we will be back for an arranged tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was assigned there in the 80's”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The museum is a perfect recreation of the command post battle cab. The decontamination room reminds one of the concern for chemical weapons. The displays and history are well worth the trip. The displays trace the history of RAF Bentwaters and RAF Woodbridge throughout the history of the USAF presence there. There are many unique artifacts and anecdotes doated by former USAF members. A great piece of history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BDsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of Military History.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Friendly and helpful volunteers who make your visit a wonderful experience. Cannot praise their enthusiasm enough. Well worth a visit to an American cold war ops room. We often see WW1 and WW2 museums but not so much of this period.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“it does somethings well”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

An interesting museum in a boys' toys kind of way, with a very complete command centre moved from Alconbury. If you want to know about A-10 tankbusters this will tell you ; the account of the history of the Cold War is pretty much by the US book though remarkably even handed about Cuba. It mentions Cobra Mist (the over the horizon radar which didn't work) and the Rendlesham UFO saga.

What there is nothing about is what life was like on a US airbase in Britain - virtually an American small town transported to the UK - nor of the effect on the surrounding area. Nor - despite half a dozen CND badges - much of an idea of the opposition to the bases.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bentwaters Cold War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bentwaters Cold War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing