We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories”
Review of Sorrel Horse

Sorrel Horse
Ranked #26 of 99 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Reputedly a Smugglers Inn dating back to the 15th century, The Sorrel Horse is the quintessential English country pub with tap drawn cask ales, a thatched roof, tiled floors and an original bar billiards table, nestled in a picturesque rural Suffolk village. Given our fantastic location on the Bawdsey Peninsula in glorious countryside, the pub is especially attractive to walkers, cyclists and the horse fraternity. Superb walks, open rolling countryside and the quiet and genteel nature of the area make the village a popular destination for visitors. With two bars you've a choice of both a restaurant or traditional bar for your food and drinks. The restaurant has a large wood burner, with the bar having a lovely open fire.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Visited this pub as a kid when staying at the local campsite, always had good memories, but it seems smaller and there is no real tables to sit at unless you are eating, so rainy day you would be in a bit of trouble. Needs a little bit more sorting out to make it more appealing, grounds are all a little overgrown and a bit of a dumping ground.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Powerscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Powerscape,

Thanks for your review and comments. I must confess to being somewhat bewildered on the initial reading of your post, and wondered if you had reviewed the correct establishment. I realise of course that you had!

In response I’d suggest that the pub is no smaller than you recall as a kid, for seating we have a dedicated bar area where one is not obliged to eat, with a separate dining room next door. We plan to decorate inside during the winter months but are currently focusing on the much needed outdoor renovations, hence why you may have considered the area a dumping ground?

As for being the grounds being overgrown I’d have to take issue with that comment as the gardens are lovingly tendered by Derek our extraordinary and talented village gardener. As a result we have enjoyed many compliments for our garden this summer.

Yours
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, lovely food and friendly staff reasonable price and comfy. Well stores ghost shipped for a top notch pint! We were plagued by flies but that's nature for you

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

We do appreciate your kind words, thank you for your visit and we do hope to see you again soon, once the flies have departed the Peninsula of course!!

With best wishes
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Called in today for a stop off on our circular walk, just had a simple bowl of celery & stilton soup and it was delicious.
Many thanks for keeping us going through to the finish of our 10 miler.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank seakingaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Our pleasure, glad the team could help!

Thanks also for your visit and kind words

With best wishes
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We were pleased to find a pub so close to our holiday cottage and now being a family of three adults, we felt we could make good use of it! Also, I am the only driver in the family, so a pub within walking distance is a real bonus.

The pub enjoys a central location in the village and looks gorgeous - thatched roof, beer garden, etc.

We decided to try the pizzas served at the weekend. They were slightly more expensive than we would usually pay, but the quality made it worthwhile - all three were really good.

On the strength of that we returned for Sunday breakfast which, again, was great. We also popped in for an early evening pint mid-week and found the pub ticking over nicely with a nice mix of regulars and holiday makers.

We also went there for a meal on the last night of the holiday; the food was excellent and the staff efficient and friendly, even letting my daughter take a selfie with them at the end of the evening.

This is a community-owned pub and it really does serve the village well. We didn't get the feeling that it was totally geared to the holiday trade or that hostile locals resented the holidaymakers. It was a very nice atmosphere all week.

Yes, there was a problem with flies (we had that in the cottage as well), but citronella candles helped deter them. And to be honest, it's farming country during a very hot summer - it could have been a lot worse!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thanks so much for your kind and generous words as well as the frequent visits during your holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks also for your understanding in respect to the flies

With best wishes
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Whilst camping nearby we chose to eat at The Sorrel Horse. The beautiful garden first drew our attention to this attractive thatched pub. The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout and were happy to answer our many questions about the delicious food.
We found it difficult to choose from the wide ranging menu, particularly as there was so much vegetarian choice. We had starters of beetroot tart and whitebait. The hake fish with braised cabbage was delicious. The Pimms Eton Mess contained plenty of lovely strawberries, meringue and fresh cream plus a refreshing aromatic scoop of cucumber sorbet.
All in all a great experience which we will definitely repeat when visiting Suffolk in the future.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank tshort678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Your kind and generous review is most sincerely appreciated by the entire team,

We look for forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Suffolk.

With best wishes
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrel Horse also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Sorrel Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing