We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch!”
Review of Sorrel Horse

Sorrel Horse
Ranked #26 of 99 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Reputedly a Smugglers Inn dating back to the 15th century, The Sorrel Horse is the quintessential English country pub with tap drawn cask ales, a thatched roof, tiled floors and an original bar billiards table, nestled in a picturesque rural Suffolk village. Given our fantastic location on the Bawdsey Peninsula in glorious countryside, the pub is especially attractive to walkers, cyclists and the horse fraternity. Superb walks, open rolling countryside and the quiet and genteel nature of the area make the village a popular destination for visitors. With two bars you've a choice of both a restaurant or traditional bar for your food and drinks. The restaurant has a large wood burner, with the bar having a lovely open fire.
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Staying locally at Hollesley Run Cottage, and again made the walk to the Sorrel Horse, which is well worth it.
What can be said about this pub but fantastic!
Lovely staff great service, food, good wine and beer!
Well worth a visit.
Can’t wait until our next visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank essexbrowny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Wow that’s a decent walk, a great way to ensure a healthy appetite!

Thanks so much for the kind and thoughtful review

Hope to see you again soon

Yours
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

There are some lovely walks around the Shottisham area which to my way of thinking is a fairly unique piece of countryside. What better then than a walk through unspoilt countryside, maybe down to the river and back, followed by a great Sunday lunch in the Sorrel Horse.
I did this in October and was very lucky with the weather which was dry and warm. Having built up a healthy appetite I popped in to the pub for a traditional roast Sunday lunch. It has to be said that you can find cheaper but I would much rather pay just a little bit extra and get a meal which is a proper pleasure to eat. So far all the meals I've had in the Sorrel Horse have fallen firmly into that category. This Sunday was no exception. The roast beef was very generous in quantity, very tasty and tender. The veggies were well cooked, the roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding just right and the gravy was first rate.
All this with really friendly staff who seem to take a genuine interest in your visit being a good one rather than just paying lip service to it.
I was surprised that the pub was a bit quiet when I was there. Perhaps everyone was out making the most of the exceptional autumn weather but I really hope that the SH continues to get good support and thrives as it is a real pleasure to visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DJinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

I must echo your sentiments in the Shottisham area in the Deben Peninsula is indeed a beautiful and special area to be based and to live, let’s hope more people will take the trek out to this neck of the woods to see for themselves!

Equally we do sincerely appreciate your kind, generous and in depth review which is heartwarming, thank you so much indeed.

Yours
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Although slightly out of season - we had the place to ourselves. 4 Adults & 2 dogs - food excellent - fresh fish, plough mans , calamris & devilled whitebait. Sweets very good too & a good choice of real ale & cider etc.
Dog friendly & staff very attentive - nothing too much trouble.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevebaumber2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future

With best wishes
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We had an early evening, midweek dinner here. It was extremely quiet so obviously there wasn't much atmosphere but the pub had a nice "olde worlde" feeling to it. The staff were friendly and attentive. We both had fish, which were tasty but in my opinion a little too salty and buttery. We also felt they were a little overpriced. All in all we were slightly underwhelmed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank uniquelyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thanks for your review and sorry that you felt somewhat underwhelmed. We do price as keenly as we can but do insist on good quality produce which of course commands a premium which may not suit every budget.

Yours
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Staying at the local campsite we ate here 2 nights. Good beer and lovely food at reasonable prices. Staff helpful and friendly. Fine walking country all around.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryM4583, Director at Sorrel Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review, it is certainly a special corner of the country.

We sincerely hope to be able to host you again soon

With kindest regards
Team Sorrel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrel Horse also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Sorrel Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing