We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly bland”
Review of Golden Panda

Golden Panda
Ranked #49 of 91 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly bland”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Without a doubt the blandest Chinese I've ever eaten. The prawn toast was soaking with fat. The sauces were weak tasting and stodgy. The ribs are tiny little shards of over-cooked meat, didn't taste of salt or chili. There are so many better restaurants around. Horrible culinary experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MykWoulfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    12
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An old favourite at a low ebb”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant four/five times a year for some time and always enjoyed the food and the welcome. I can only think that there has been a recent change in ownership/management as the restaurant we visited on Saturday 12th April bore no relation to the one we have enjoyed visiting in the past.

The quality of the food was very poor with unappealing grey fried rice and all dishes lacking in spicing, garnish and presentation. It was by some way the worst Chinese meal we have ever eaten. The lack of attention to detail was summed up by the fact that one of our complimentary chocolates had already been half eaten!! Service was efficient but unsmiling and seemed more interested in clearing tables than customer engagement.

If you like Chinese food i would advise you to look elsewhere. We will not be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet - marvellous”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If you want value for money, go for their Sunday buffet but you must book as it gets busy. £6.99 each and starters,mains and puds, all you can eat and you get duck and pancakes too. Not the best decor and furnishings but the price of the food makes up for it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiesuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always OK”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Golden Panda has been in Woodbridge for years and servers your usual westernized Chinese fayre. The service is always efficient and the wait for take away meals is short.

A member of staff checks the take out orders in front of you so mistakes are minimized.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenziEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good meal and service”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We usually eat here two or three times a year in the evening (we also have eaten at lunchtime where they do a special set menu lunch); we ate here again last night and although close to Christmas, the restaurant wasn't too busy when we arrive about 6:45. The waitress brought us some prawn crackers whilst we were choosing but we usually stick with the same dishes - rice, chow mein, foo yung, crispy beef with chilis, lemon chicken and mixed vegetables. We also shared two pots of chinese tea. Food was hot and tasty and the service was polite and friendly. Looking forward to eating at the Golden Panda again in 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Panda also viewed

Wickham Market, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Golden Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing