We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Abbey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House
Ranked #12 of 21 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Abby House for two nights with the intention of getting away from it all and enjoying some peace and quiet in the countryside and were not disappointed. The House and its grounds are beautiful and serene. The room was very big and the living room a great place to relax in the evening. Sue made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived and as other reviewers have said the cake on arrival was a nice touch. The breakfast was fantastic and Sue even went to the trouble of getting in some soy milk for me when she saw I was taking my coffee black. Would thoroughly recommend to any one wishing to experience some old fashioned hospitality and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt140973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Abbey House for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was large and comfortable, the breakfast was superb and Sue's welcome and advice were first class. And the house and surrounding are very peaceful and relaxing. The local pub in Earl Soham is a gem - not just for its beer brewed on the premises but also for good honest food and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time chilling out from the world. Had heavy rain for most of the time but did not detract from beautiful house & surroundings. Sue was so welcoming and also very helpful with ideas for evening meals & places to visit. Really appreciated tea, coffee & biscuits on arrival. Lovely grounds, went swimming in a steaming pool in the rain!! Lots of good places to visit within short drive. Bedroom very comfortable & stylish but not cluttered & deep bath with M&S bubble bath, superb breakfast with fresh coffee in lovely dining room. Can't wait to go again.
I have no negative comments.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandLorrainedb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We spent a wonderfully peaceful long weekend at Abbey House and would definitely go back. The house is surrounded by well kept gardens and has some permanent residents in the form of two black swans and some peafowl. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice. The seaside towns of Southwold and Aldeburgh are only a half-hour drive away and Woodbridge is closer and has a variety of restaurants including a very good vegetarian establishment (The Cross 1652).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed 3 nights and as I was working had to be away early and was back late. A full and delicious breakfast for 5 of us was no problem at 7am each day. The house is large and gracious with antique furniture, the bedrooms light and attractive. There is a pond in front of the house with ducks, black swans and surprisingly quiet peacocks. Mrs Bagnall is a very charming hostess. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Stayed 1 night in late June at Abbey House which is an impressive dutch gabled style house. Sue, the host, was very welcoming and gave us tea and cake when we arrived, and later coffee when we returned after dinner.

The room was large enough with views to the pond but at £80 more slightly expensive than the norm. The bed was not particularly comfortable but ok.

Fresh fruit for breakfast in the dining room was very good but the cooked breakfast could have been more lavish.

In short a good place to stopover and a very friendly host but otherwise not exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at Abbey house for a much needed mini break this last weekend. The house is quite hard to find but so worth the effort. It is set in lovely gardens, replete with peacocks, geese, ducks, chickens, an ancient moggy and a very friendly dog! Well furnished rooms, comfy beds, a lovely little pool in the garden and a nice sitting room make it quite tempting to stay put and forget the outside world, but it's not far to all sorts of things. Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlington and many others are in easy reach. Sue is a fab hostess, full of great ideas for things to do and she cooks up a feast at breakfast time- no need for lunch! We loved it, and i'm quite sad to be sat on my sofa writing this review, 200 miles away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
9.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.7 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,039 reviews
13.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
354 reviews
14.2 mi away
Woodhall Manor
Woodhall Manor
#4 of 4 in Woodbridge
45 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hill House Hall
Hill House Hall
#4 of 21 in Woodbridge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: Monk Soham, Woodbridge 1P13 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Abbey House Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing