We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful overnight stop”
Review of Abbey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey House
Ranked #10 of 21 Woodbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sue was the most attentive, helpful lady that you would wish to speak with. Upon booking a few rooms for a local party, Sue helped us with taxi numbers and advised us that taxis were not easy to come by and gosh was she right!

The B and B is amazing, the rooms are huge and Sue's warmth upon arrival is unbelievable. The bed was so comfy and the breakfast was so fresh, cooked to order and worth every penny.

Thank you Sue from all of us.

Room Tip: We chose a de-luxe and for an additional £10 was worth the upgrade, but, all the rooms were very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Abbey House. Sue was extremely kind and a lovely host. Don't forget to check out the swimming pool out back and have a little walk around the beautiful garden and pond at the front (in our photos). Bed was comfy, room clean and very quiet. What more can we ask for? Very satisfied customers!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOBY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for one night during the recent lovely weather, mainly as a last trip away before our baby was born. I'd struggled to find any B&Bs in this part of Suffolk that would take one night only bookings and in the end came across Sue's beautiful home on the Sawdays website. Unusually for me I didn't check any reviews and we pitched up with no expectations. We couldn't get over what a lovely place it was. Firstly, the whole area is a delight, with castles, the coast only a few miles away, and plenty of quaint villages to explore. Secondly, the house itself is beautifully situated in its own well maintained grounds and Sue was very welcoming and friendly. We took her recommendation of the Victoria in Earl Soham, which we would highly recommend, and enjoyed a lovely meal there, returning as the sun set to our very pleasant room which overlooked the front of the house and pond. The house is a real home, with beautiful period furnishings and family photos. Sue was wonderful and obviously a natural hostess. Breakfast was enormous, with juices, stewed and fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and whatever hot 'bits' you'd care to have.
It's also worth mentioning, that several other inns or pubs with rooms seemed to charge £20-£30 more than what we paid for our double room, and I can honestly say we thought the rates were excellent value for money for what you get (gardens to explore, swimming pool, first rate breakfast, excellent quality bed linen etc)
All in all, we couldn't have asked for more and had such a wonderful weekend, happy memories of which we'll treasure for years. Can't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank span474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was a wonderfully relaxing visit, albeit for just the one night. We stayed with our older daughter and although the weather was not the best we were greeted upon arrival by Sue and a gorgeous log fire in the sitting room. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent; it set us up for what turned out to be an even worse day's weather. Sue is a very friendly, warm and welcoming host. Like previous reviewers we enjoyed a meal and pint(s) of locally brewed ales at the relatively nearby Victoria pub in Earl Soham. We hope to return and maybe next time even sample the self catering cottage which will be available shortly. Keith, Louise and Lucy

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were very comfortable with views across the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at Abbey House and wished it could have been longer. Sue is a warm and welcoming hostess, kindness itself. Monk Soham is within easy reach of much of what Suffolk has to offer and Sue has lots of ideas and suggestions. As a previous reviewer noted, the Victoria pub in Earl Soham which she recommended not only has great beer but great food too. And again, the breakfast at Abbey House definitely deserves a mention - wonderful fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, prunes, a full breakfast cooked to order, toast, preserves etc etc - I didn't need to eat again until late afternoon. I particularly liked the fact that my stay was almost technology-free - there is little or no mobile phone signal and no TV/radio in the rooms (although there is a TV in the lounge). Sue does offer free wi fi if you must but I took the chance to really be away from it all. Add to this the total peace especially at night, no traffic, no streeetlights, just ........... nothing. Great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Abby House for two nights with the intention of getting away from it all and enjoying some peace and quiet in the countryside and were not disappointed. The House and its grounds are beautiful and serene. The room was very big and the living room a great place to relax in the evening. Sue made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived and as other reviewers have said the cake on arrival was a nice touch. The breakfast was fantastic and Sue even went to the trouble of getting in some soy milk for me when she saw I was taking my coffee black. Would thoroughly recommend to any one wishing to experience some old fashioned hospitality and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt140973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Abbey House for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was large and comfortable, the breakfast was superb and Sue's welcome and advice were first class. And the house and surrounding are very peaceful and relaxing. The local pub in Earl Soham is a gem - not just for its beer brewed on the premises but also for good honest food and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
9.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.7 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,054 reviews
8.1 mi away
High House Farm
High House Farm
#13 of 21 in Woodbridge
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
3 Tuns Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Pettistree
134 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
357 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn
Cherry Tree Inn
#8 of 21 in Woodbridge
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: Monk Soham, Woodbridge 1P13 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woodbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Abbey House Woodbridge, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing