We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

The Stepping Stones
Ranked #61 of 107 Restaurants in Dorking
Price range: US$5 - US$52
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delightful Country pub and dining,nestled at the foot of Boxhill National Trust, named after the famous stepping stones across the river mole, ideal walkers,cyclists and day trippers lunch or afternoon tea venue, family friendly, dogs and muddy boots welcome in the bar area. Meeting/function room which can hold up to approx 50 people, real ales, soft drinks and fine wines. Live events and specialty nights. Open all day with free Wifi
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Loved everything about it. Beautiful spot, very serene and the smell of wild garlic reminded me that I was truly in the countryside. A must see. I imagine it should be stunning in autumn

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
brilliant comments - will be going to use that wild garlic in new menu very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    75
    47
    36
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely old inn set in beautiful countryside at the base of Boxhill. Our party of seven prebooked. The restaurant was fairly quiet, but bad weather probably influenced. 3 had steak, two hunters chicken, one lamb shank and one baked goats cheese. Clean plates all round, good food. Relaxed and took our time, staff helpful and friendly. Desserts just as lovely and I can recommend the Pecan Pie. The restaurant is clean, tables well laid out with plenty of space. Would strongly recommend and am surprised at some of the negative comments I have read.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonY133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It was really lovely to have such a positive review and high recommendation, we hope to see you all soon, especially with the introduction of our new menu very shortley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived at lunchtime today for a family meal. We were warmly greeted by a very friendly member of staff and shown to our table immediately. Our drinks order was taken once we were ready and then we were left to peruse the menu. The restaurant area was spacious, clean and airy and we had a lovely view of Boxhill from our table,

We decided to give the starters a miss (although they looked very tempting) and opt for a main course and dessert. We ordered rump steaks, hunters chicken, goats cheese and minted lamb shank. As well as a good sized menu, there was also a further selection on the "specials" board.

Although we did have to wait a while, it was certainly worth it as the food is obviously cooked from fresh and you could taste this in the quality of the food. A lot of thought had gone into the presentation of the dishes and the food tasted amazing. Although there was 7 of us, all the dishes were brought out together and it was lovely and hot.

For dessert we had profiteroles, vanilla bean ice cream, pecan pie, sticky toffee pudding and cheese and biscuits. They were all extremely delicious. We eventually finished off with coffee.

This was a very special occasion for my family and the way we were taken care of, the quality of the food and the general atmosphere was lovely.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at The stepping Stones for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back and will be recommending you to our friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
everyone at the stepping stones was delighted to look after all of your guests on such a special occasion, it is always rewarding to receive such high praise for the service, presentation and quality of the food, we hope you will be back soon, and thank you for taking the time to highlight how much you enjoyed your event
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This venue over the course of about 6 months just consistently has bad customer service (except for 1 daytime young man behind the bar). Certainly won't be going back on a regular basis anymore!

Helpful?
2 Thank ljbennett72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
over the last 6 months we have consistently delivered a high customer service to many guests which has resulted in a continuous growth of regular visitors, if you would like to call me direct to discuss your concerns, so that we may understand what it is in particular that you find lacking with our delightful young ladies that look after the bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep driving if you come across this restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to take a drive out yesterday (18th May) to find somewhere to have lunch.
We came across The stepping stones, it looked lovely and the menu on the outside was much to our taste.
Although we didn't sit outside, the outside area looked nice and the restaurant inside was very nice and very clean. We were greeted by two ladies and straight away taken to our table.
I had the Bruschetta to start which was nice but not what I was expecting as it was served as a hot dish and I've only ever had it cold.
My partner had the pate and he said it was just ok.
For the main I had lamb shank and was disapointed, the gravy was full of oil and the veg was tasteless and a bit chewy.
My partner had the roast beef, the beef was just two thin slices, potatos were very hard and veg the same as mine.
It worked out £44 for our food and 1 soft drink each which I think is expensive for what it was.
I cannot fault the waitress staff as we were very well looked after but this place has so much potential if they could improve their food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairennadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina b, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I would like to thank you for your delightful comments regarding the cleanliness, nice decor and of course how faultless the service was, it is extremely rare that we have any complaints regarding our lamb shank, as it has proved to to be one of our more requested dishes, however has discussed on the day, we have taken on board all of your comments and will be taking these into consideration on the launch of our new menu in the next few weeks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stepping Stones also viewed

 

Been to The Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing