We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hail for the ale”
Review of Lincoln Arms

Lincoln Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lincoln Arms
Ranked #12 of 12 Dorking B&B and Inns
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No hail for the ale”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

i visted here while waiting for a train. even the locals avoided the draught beer. Staff admitted cleanliness is an issue with draught beers. so i stuck to bottle beers. at least they were honest! food was ok tho.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
3
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I read the other reviews and was afraid, very afraid!!
However this is a very friendly hotel with good wholesome grub at very good prices. The Ritz it is not, but then again it doesn't purport to be! The hotel has character and very friendly, helpful staff and over the last few months has undergone a spruce up.
If you want to stay in a plastic hotel which could be anywhere then go to one of the major chains and sleep in your box and pay through the nose but, if you want good value, good food, cheap prices, excellent cask ales, a lively bar and are travelling on a budget, then this could be for you.
It has no spa, no gymnasium, no dining room with white linen table cloths and silver service but you wouldn't expect those at the rates they charge.
I probably would not recommend the hotel for a romantic weekend where you try to impress the wife/lover/mistress but as a place to lay your head, have some good wholesome pub grub with good beer and very competitive prices then I would certainly return to The Lincoln Arms.
I am unsure what the other reviewers expected for the prices that they paid but quite frankly I feel that there comments are a bit OTT

Room Tip: You may wish to try to get one of the rooms towards the back of the hotel to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weeman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

stayed there one night prayed for the morning, room was filthy, carpets ripped and stained, bed linen clean but defeats the object when the bed itself was tatty and stank, tv in room didnt work, window in bedroom broke, in the bathroom there was the biggest cobweb i'd ever seen, i could go on but havent enough characters left needless to say worst hotel ive ever stayed in only go there if youve given up on life.........

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dorking hotels

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Staff extremely welcoming. Hallway and stairs to the rooms VERY dated and had a musty smell. The room was awful, old, stained carpet, bedding dated and didn't look clean/fresh! The bathroom floor was dirty as was the bath and sink! The towels had holes in and had definitely seen better days and I would never have considered using the kettle! I am so glad that we only had one night in this grotty place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaMarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The decor throughtout the place was grubby, orange from nicotine, when smoking was allowed in pubs. The bed pushed up against the wall, clean bedding, but not ironed. Shower over the bath, no shower curtain. The shower just "Spat" out water, hardly enough to get wet. Luckily enough there was enough pubic hairs in the bath to knit a bathmat......
Breakfast was in the bar. Help your self to cereal, and the man behind the bar made toast. No English breakfast as no staff to cook it!!!
Cheap, at £55 for a double room, no where else to stay in the area, or we would not have stayed!!!! We definately won't be back. A carboard box in Dorking high Street had more class!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan44worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We needed somewhere basic to stay overnight, but this really was basic. The bed held together but it won't be long before the screws drilled into one joint to hold one corner of the bed fail and the bed collapses. The bedding has seen lots of use- no crisp linen there. Loads of cigarette butts lay outside the window on a flat roof- why have guests (or staff) been smoking in the room where this is not permitted? The bathroom was OK but the tile grout was stained and the sink had only been partially cleaned- where the soap would sit was very dirty. Breakfast was a very basic 'continental'- fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast, cereal. The glasses were sat on a grubby bar surface, with the 'drinking' end directly on the surface. Windows and other surfaces were grubby. There was a feeling that there is no rigour about the places- standards don't seem to matter. It is true that staff were polite and allow customers to change/leave their bags prior to the room being cleaned if you arrive early, but this cannot compensate for the lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LANDOFGREYANDPINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.0 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
293 reviews
4.8 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Arms

Property: Lincoln Arms
Address: Station Approach, Dorking RH4 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hotel and bar just off the A24 within easy reach of M25. Part of Mole Valley and the picturesque surrounding areas of the Surrey Hills and Box Hill. All rooms en-suite, parking, big screen, live music, pool tables good home cooked food, darts. Room includes Full English breakfast. Close to Leatherhead, Reigate and Gatwick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lincoln Arms Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing