We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Dorking B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in this lovely and homey house and was treated like a family member.
The room was tidy and comfortably furnished. Bathroom with power shower and if you've
forgotten to bring shampoo and shower gel, no problem, it's all in there. Breakfast with
truly free range eggs and alpacas (bring your spinning wheel).
I will definitely book again and I would like to thank Jill for having created such a peaceful place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked a double room partly on the basis of previous Trip Adviser reviews. We assume that those before us who wrote 'excellent' reviews did not have the small room at the front of the house. Our experience can obviously in no way detract from previous positive comments.The room was too small for a double bed, you had to move sideways to get into the bed on one side, there was no bedside table on that side and the bedside light was behind the curtain on the window sill!! There was no WiFi access as the room was too far from the router. Wallpaper was peeling over a significant area of one wall and adjacent ceiling, apparently from previous damp penetration. This was also evident in our nearby sitting room!! There was other evidence of 'neglect' in the room. We suggest the owner should get some immediate redecoration done and in future use this only as a single room. We curtailed our stay but on the positive side we were given a full refund and subsequently received a letter of apology.

Room Tip: Avoid the room we had and it looks as though you could have a good stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChartHouseDorking, Owner at Chart House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2015
I think the comments made by Richard do not reflect the standard we strive to achieve and, as almost all the other reviews show, our success in doing so.
When Richard booked the room I explained it was not a large room but had the benefit a king sized bed and it's own bathroom and there was a guest lounge available for all our guests. It was unfortunately that we had very recently had some water ingression from the roof above the room but to say the wallpaper was peeling off the wall is a gross exaggeration - there was a slight staining to the ceiling for which I apologised. (Since this reveiw the room has been redecorated). His comment at the time that 'I'm going to go on TripAdvisor and give you a really bad review', in spite of a full refund and an verbal and written apology speaks volumes!
The WIFI, for which we make no charge has now been extended so there is an excellent signal in all our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Chart House has all the necessary requirements for an excellent B and B.
Value for money, clean, comfortable, good continental breakfast with optional cooked breakfast at an extra charge. Laundering facilities are available for a fee, guests do own ironing. Chart House is in walking distance of the centre of Dorking but surrounded by lovely countryside and walks.
What makes Chart House excel is its owner Jill Attfield, who is very welcoming, kind, thoughtful, and interested in her guests.
My husband and I stayed at Chart House for 5 months, we were very happy and relaxed .In all that time Jill was always interested and helpful to us. It was also lovely to meet other guests who returned regularly,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at the Chart house for roughly 6 months whilst working in the area. It is a truly fantastic guest house located up a quiet lane, a 5 minute walk to the centre of Dorking. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the grounds are beautifully kept. The continental breakfast option has a choice of fresh produce, giving me a great start to the day.

The owner Jill is a wonderful hostess and was very welcoming. I recommend this place highly, it is a wonderful value bed and breakfast. I will be back again soon to visit Jill and her Alpacas!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty_D_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

this is my second weekend in Chart House b&b, and again it was not under the best of personal circumstances for myself. Once again, Jill was so accommodating to my needs, the grounds are immaculate (unfortunately I wasn't able to just sit in the field and read, mainly due to the snow!), so quiet, and a perfect place from which to explore Dorking and the Surrey Downs. I would always recommend it as the most comfortable b&b ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

An amazing experience. Understated but exuding class and comfort down to the smallest detail. Incredible value.
Perfectly situated for easy access into Dorking and run by an incredibly accomodating owner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This B&B was recommended to me by another local B&B where I have stayed previously and was thoroughly pleased with the recommendation!

We booked the room at short notice recently and turned up late but were made to feel very welcome to stay and that it was no trouble.

The house itself is magnificent with a quite spectacular garden (well, from what we could see through the picturesque morning mist!) and plenty of other quite unique and homely features.

As for the service, we could not fault it, incredibly friendly and accommodating. My partner left an item of clothing in the room and this was returned within 2 days free of charge! If you like to stay at a B&B that prides itself on excellent service we thoroughly recommend you consider staying here.

In some ways 5 stars doesn't say enough...

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.3 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.8 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chart House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Chart House Chart Lane, Dorking RH4 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chart House is a five minute walk from Dorking centre but enjoys panoramic views towards Glory Woods and open fields. Our beautiful 4 acre garden includes an all weather tennis court and where you can see our three alpacas and free range chickens. We have a choice of rooms available, all with TV (free sat), tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi. We take pride in making your stay as warm and friendly as possible. Prices from £35 per night for single room, £70 for double/twin room and £85 for double with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chart House Bed And Breakfast Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing