We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Character but Somewhat Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    200
    135
    57
    31
See reviews for
75
184
50
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George's
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Room and bathroom was clean and comfortable. Shops and eating choices conveniently nearby. Floors a bit squeaky but that's expected considering it's age. The lounge is cozy, a bit dark but ok. Eating in can be quite expensive. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: First floor room roadside is not the best choice, as the road noise can be disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel very relaxing. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We took my mum and dad with us and I asked for a ground floor room for them as she walks with a stick or is in a wheelchair. She was put in the old stable block and was very impressed. It was a lovely room. We we're in room 35. If you want a good nights sleep ask not to go in this room. The water pipes ticked and knocked all night. Very irritating. Although I must say it was a lovely room.
We found the bar very expensive but maybe that's because we are used to prices up north. But there was a pub just down the road which was quite reasonable and did lovely food. The Surrey yeoman.
Also if you want breakfast while you are there pay for it the night before. It's £5 cheaper than purchasing it when booking.!!!
All in all it was a nice hotel and if we ever return to Dorking iwould stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 35. Nice room but noisy pipes all day and night even though the heating wasn't on .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnlandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor, we value our customer’s feedback and use the website regularly to help monitor and maintain our high standards of service.

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you found the hotel to be very relaxing. It was also very pleasing to read that my staff surpassed your expectations and that you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding Room 35, I will ask my maintenance team to look into the noise issue in respect of the heating pipes as a matter or priority in order that this can be resolved and I would like to thank you once again for bringing this to my attention.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments.

With kind regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Having been looking at this hotel, from the window of my shop, on Dorking High Street, for the past 5 years, it has been nice staying there for a couple of nights. Stayed there for two nights, whilst doing the stocktake at work. Needed a comfortable place to sleep, peace and quiet to chill before the next days exertions. My one and only complaint is the extra cost for breakfast, when you have paid over £100 for a night, to be then asked to cough up another £17 for breakfast is a bit steep. Would recommend for a good nights kip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dtaylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a
review. I was delighted to read that we surpassed your expectations upon your recent stay, and we hope to see you again at the White Horse Hotel in Dorking in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Set in the High Street this is handy for shopping. The hotel is a mix of buildings but the all seem OK. There is plenty of car parking and the restaurant is good. The breakfast was excellent and the service very attentive.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 95. It is in the more modern block at the back of the site (you have to go outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltonpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear meltonpieman

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a
review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we exceeded your expectations. It was also encouraging to read that my team very attentive and you were suitably impressed with the breakfast offering, I have communicated your feedback to my Foof & Beverage team. We hope to see you again at the White Horse Hotel, Dorking in the very near future.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback

Kind regards,
Ed Cooper, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a private party in the dining room and the staff couldn't do enough for us. the food was excellent for the money, we also had several rooms for people who stayed overnight and although the heating wasn't on they had heaters in the rooms the bed and pillows were really comfortable and the breakfast was great. I would certainly consider having the room for another function in the future.

Room Tip: This is a very old Hotel right on the High Street so expect creaky floors and traffic noise etc., th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmknelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H6637, Manager at The White Horse Hotel, Dorking, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear pmknelly

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent event at the White Horse Hotel, Dorking.

I am delighted that you were suitably impressed with the standard of service and that the quality and value of the food surpassed your expectations. I have passed your comments to my F&B team who were all delighted and very touched by your kind comments, and feel extremely rewarded by your remarks for their hard work.

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the White Horse, myself and the team hope we can welcome you back to the property for your family celebrations in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your kind review

Kind regards,

Ed Cooper, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
1.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel, Dorking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel, Dorking

Property: The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England (Formerly Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Hotel, Dorking 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 41 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel, Dorking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing