We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasing public areas and delicious food, but expensive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasing public areas and delicious food, but expensive rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Reception areas, bars and restaurant are pleasing to the eye, with some character of the old building evident. The cheapest room was £118 online without breakfast, which is expensive for these impersonal 'executive' style rooms. Breakfast booked online was an additional £20 for the two of us, and is stated to cost £16.50 each on the menu. We were 'upgraded to one of the garden rooms (room 123) which was perfectly adequate and comfortable. The bathroom, though, was small for a room of this grade. The additional small indoor sun trap area and private outside area was a lovely addition to the room, and must be a great asset in the nice weather. Our 3-course evening meal in the Emlyn restaurant was pretty special. It was delicious, and was cooked with great skill and beautifully presented. In the morning, the hot buffet breakfast did look a bit unappetising, but I was able to order 'eggs benedict' from the menu and this was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden seem the best situated, but may be too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaumontLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel and especially the evening meal in the restaurant.
I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    151
    91
    47
    28
See reviews for
132
174
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

bathroom needed some tlc, a bit of bleach would of made a difference, gloomy decor, depressing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westwood627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bathroom decor. Most of our bathrooms are in a very good state and we meanwhile did some extra regrouting work in some of our classic bedrooms to ensure we avoid any such feedback in the future.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

After booking this hotel I read a review which described dirty glasses left outside the room, I could not believe it when we arrived at our room-with no help from staff and found dirty glasses outside. The room was extremely dusty with stained carpets and the toilet had a Stanley blade lying in the bottom. Room service was poor and the gluten free bread we had requested on booking was not available. All in all very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your review.
As you also replied via our online guest feedback form, I sent you my apologies via this tool a last month. We certainly strive to keep our corridors free of litter and we have put extra daily walk rounds in place by our duty management team to ensure that whatever time of day, we minimize any trays left in our corridors.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 40 years witnessing several changes of ownership. It remains a beautiful hotel. Situated in stunning countryside, it exudes comfort and luxury. The staff are wonderful and so helpful. Whether you want to spend time relaxing in the very comfortable lounge or climb Box Hill or explore the countryside this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a balcony where one can sit and enjoy sitting in the sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel on an ad hoc whim - Could not fault it at all
Front Office reception staff (a young lad) was extremely friendly and helpful.
Room was large , clean with all mod cons that you would expect from a Mercure, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Very useful location for Box Hill, but we walked across the road (useful subway under the A24) and took a train from the adjacent station - Boxhill and Westhumble, for a night out in Epsom.....

Couldn't have worked out better!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments on tripadvisor. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had such a positive experience at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel.
I will pass your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Free parking across the road from the hotel
Check was friendly and efficient
Garden room was very good. Well presented with modern decoration, very clean. Small balcony with chairs and table over looking the garden. Modern Tv, tea making, water all provided in the room. Nice comfortable bed.
Bathroom was ok, shower only.

Used the bar which offered friendly service, rather limited choice of draught beer.

Had breakfast in the room which was excellent, good service, standard of food and arrived spot on time.

I would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on tripadvisor. I am glad you had a good stay with us at the Mercure Burford Bridge Hotel in Dorking. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotl on 4 different occasions in the last 2 months, because it is local to my place of work.
I would not have breakfast here, £16.50 for buffet and cooked is not good value when the cooked is not fresh. I had scrambled egg which seemed like it had been cooked the day before and the tomato also.
Uprated rooms are good, although I had to complain on 2 occasions that the air con wasn't working; the ceiling lights did not come on and rooms at the front are not good value as there is always noise from the A24. The advert that says you get uprated toiletries in the uprated rooms is not true, they are all the same.
The last time I satayed the paying policy had changed which meant I couldn't charge to my room because I was using a debit card. Ordering room service meant I had to go to reception to pay, they did waive the tray charge though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and your feedback will help us to improve on our services. We are reviewing our breakfast pricing within the company. I will feedback your thoughts on this to the breakfast committee. All the hot food is cooked to order during the week and served from a buffet over the weekends. All airconditioning and heating units are in a good condition at present and I apologize for any shortcomings you have experienced during your stay.

Kindest regards,
Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.4 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
0.9 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.6 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Property: Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH5 6BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing