We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner on Friday”
Review of Stephan Langton

Stephan Langton
Ranked #18 of 122 Restaurants in Dorking
Price range: US$13 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The most secluded country pub & restaurant in Surrey, serving local food and beer in a beautiful location. Inspiring and innovative dishes freshly prepared and served to you by friendly, caring and knowledgeable staff.
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Three of us ate at the pub in the restaurant area on Friday night. We have eaten there a few times before. We had a drink in the bar first as we were early, although we were offered a table straight away we preferred to have a drink first. There is always a warm welcome and the locals are friendly, also the beer is excellent.

The meal was excellent and served with perfect timing. Two of us had the smoked salmon starter which was beetroot smoked which was delicious and a very interesting taste combination. The other had the pidgeon breast which was perfectly cooked.

The mains were equally good two people had the lamb and one had the pheasant. the lamb, which is locally sourced was perfectly cooked and tasted beautiful. The pheasant was well cooked and presented and the mash and accompanying jus were outstanding.

Overall it was very impressive and good value too. We would recommend this to anyone as the meal was better than plenty of restaurants.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Holmbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC399, Owner at Stephan Langton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi Holmbury, so pleased you had a lovely birthday dinner with us & thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. It's great to see that guests who enjoy their visits want to share their experience. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2018

A very disappointing Sunday lunch. My roast beef dinner was almost cold and the chicken very dry. Had to ask for horse radish, mint sauce etc.which considering having to pre order our meals should have made them more than prepared. The service was poorly led and waiting staff seemed young and inexperienced. Portions were on the small side and overall not good value.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank paulandjojarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC399, Owner at Stephan Langton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi Paul and Jo, having checked with the FOH manager we were not aware of any concerns with your table during your visit making it hard to deal with concerns afterwards. We don't like to put sauces out on the tables in advance as not all guests want them and we are very conscious of wastage. Feedback is important to us and your points will be raised with the Sunday staff. I'm sure you'll appreciate it's very difficult to get mature and experienced staff to work Sundays, so we will work to train the team we have further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We visited the Pub for the first time with friends on a very cold Saturday It was such a great find, with open log fires and friendly staff. The food was excellent and beer 1st class. The chips were very good. Not cheap but well worth a visit

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank aaaaaaah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC399, Owner at Stephan Langton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your visit and took time to write such lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting this lovely area for years but never ever stopped for a meal, more fool us as we had an excellent meal and both said why hadn't we popped in before.
We can highly recommend the steak and pheasant pie with mash, the pate and soup to start.
It was also refreshing to find tables for two in prime areas of the restaurant rather than the mistake some make of squeezing you into the corner or beside a wall.
The menu caters for all and is from local suppliers including local chutney and has won many awards. We will return soon.

Date of visit: January 2018
3  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC399, Owner at Stephan Langton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thanks for your lovely comments Graham, so glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We had a super Sunday lunch here. Sausage and mash were perfect. Delicious food, well presented and good portion sizes. The restaurant was busy with a table of 30, but service was still attentive and all were friendly and helpful. Great choice of drinks too and enjoyed the local beers.

Beautiful setting, even on a grey winter’s day. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2018
3  Thank MourneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJC399, Owner at Stephan Langton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi MourneGirl, so glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking time to review your Sunday lunch. Always very busy on Sundays (around 140 guests served in 4 hours) it's lovely to see a positive review about food and service with so many guests to attend to. We're delighted that you were impressed with your experience. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stephan Langton also viewed

 
Dorking, Surrey
 

Been to Stephan Langton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing