We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year 3”
Review of The Waltons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waltons
Ranked #2 of 12 Dorking B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Year 3”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

When I first wrote a review I was hesitant to say all the nice things I could as rooms do book quickly. I spend a lot of time in Dorking and this is my third year of stay at The Waltons; and my second year for very extended stays. My only "complaint" is that we don't see enough of the young grandsons Issac and Miles, or their moms. Edith the short haired wire fox terrior and Muzzy the cat are big bonuses. Maggie's own garden fresh eggs are a delight, as are the treats she bakes for us. Maggie's husband Richard deserves far more than an honorable mention.

Room Tip: Book early.... well not really, I might miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travissailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Goodness how time flies. We love our "lifers" and look forward to the next 3 years. I always thank our guests for taking time to leave a review, so once again a massive appreciation for your kindness putting your thoughts onto TripAdvisor. We rely on our guests comments to keep potential visitors informed about the Walton experience; and your contribution is most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
20
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at the Waltons for one night in November, only giving a days notice. Maggie Walton could not have been more helpful, despite having her hands full with a sick grandchild. The house was beautiful, the room large, well furnished and very clean. A very welcoming choice of cakes, fruit etc. in the dining room, made it feel like home.Breakfast of cereal, home made breads and good coffee with plenty of choice from the fridge. Very quiet and peaceful, yet 5 mins. walk into town with good shops and eating places. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Many thanks for your review, I am over the moon you found us for a one night stay at the end of a busy weekend, and that we had a room ready despite (as you rightly pointed out) the poorly grandson; He is now absolutely fine and back to his usual self.
All your comments were gratefully received and very informative for other travellers who might be searching for somewhere to stay in this area. I truly appreciate that you took the time to contact Trip Advisor and recommend The Waltons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We loved this house during our spontaneous visit of England.
If you want you can have a typical englich breakfast or a generously Continental breakfast ( with perfect soft boiled eggs from the garden and self-made marmelades).
A wonderful and stylish furnishing.
A great THANK YOU to Maggie and Richard and also to KATE and ISAAC.
Family B. from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We were thrilled the room was available for your family at such short notice and that you managed to get into London and enjoy the city, then escape back to the tranquil setting of Dorking. It's a shame we were away for some of your stay but it sounds as if Kate and Isaac looked after you very well. Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We loved The Waltons’ house. It was a dark winter evening, when my wife and I arrived. But as we stepped inside, it was warm and light, the walls were full of pictures I wanted to look at, a dog was wagging its tail and a friendly cat was lying stubbornly in the middle of the corridor.

Upstairs, we were shown into a bedroom that was carefully decorated with an eye for detail and artistic flair. Even the bathroom was imaginatively decorated with flowery wallpapers around the big old bathtub. A TV was in the room, but what a waste it would have been to put that on in this house. Maggie even offered us some cake from the breakfast room, where a small fridge is gently humming for guests to have fresh milk in small glass (!) bottles for tea and coffee anytime of the day.

Breakfast was served downstairs in the family dining room. Lots of jams and marmalade, cereals and fruit, and fresh bread – not just toast – were laid out on the antique table, with the fireplace lit up in the background. We could only have continental breakfast, as we had arrived without prior arrangements on a Sunday evening. But Maggie usually offers also a full English breakfast.

We did not want to leave that house. I have since arranged for my Dad to stay a couple of nights, and he felt the same. And the price of it all is friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
What a beautifully written review, I had to read it through several times as it was so delightful. It's always lovely to get repeat business and especially gratifying that a different generation gets to stay as well. The cakes are still coming, this weekend we've had coffee and walnut, rock cakes and chocolate brownies - I seem to have created a monster, due to Trip Advisor guests now arrive scanning the dining room for the latest offerings.
As always I thank those of you who take the trouble to leave a review, it is so important that potential new visitors can see up to date comments and be reassured of a warm welcome at The Waltons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a party nearby. What a beautiful building and location. We were welcomed by the dog, cat and John who showed us to our basement apartment (although we had only booked a double room) pointing out the breakfast room (and home made cakes en route). The basement was comfortable and charming and filled with lovely old furniture, books and antiques. We lit the candles in the fireplace, made a pot of tea, helped ourselves to coffee and walnut cake and were tempted to skip the party! Arriving back after the party and craving coffee and chocolate I was excited to see a big jar of mini bars & bags of chocolate to have with our cafetiere of coffee. Nice touch!
We enjoyed a continental breakfast sitting around the table laden with plenty of choice of cereal, yogurt, bread, fruit, proper crunchy toast and choice of preserves, some homemade. Decent coffee too.
It was also very convivial sitting round the table sharing breakfast with the interesting other guests.
Lovely B&B - would highly recommend and will stay again if we are in the area in the future. We even went home with a bag of blackberries which we picked close to where we parked in Rose Hill.
NB - well worth visiting Denbie's Vineyard which is very close.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shezerado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I can't stop reading this review, it has really made me smile. it would appear you couldn't have been happier and this is our aim for all our guests. So glad you liked the family room and we would love to have you back for another stay; you might like to try the front double with it's beautiful views over Ranmore Common and the slopes of Denbes Vineyard. Thank you for taking time to send off a review, and most especially for making me smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I am a long-staying guest due to work commitments and I can honestly say that the service and 'home from home' feel offered by Maggie and her family has been fantastic. If you time it right, breakfast includes some freshly laid eggs from the chickens in the garden! The dining room always has a wide array of homemade cake to help yourself and the house is a beautiful 3 story old English home, from which one can see Box Hill, the very distinct spire of St Martins Church and just in front of the house is a large green area which sheep graze upon, it's set in a wonderful peaceful street yet only a couple of minutes walk from Dorking high street! It's great value for money and if you're visiting for business or pleasure there's plenty Dorking offers; whether it's a long walk around the surrounding countryside or to just relax in one of the many coffee shops within the picturesque town of Dorking, whichever it is, if you're planning to stay in Dorking, stay here :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 982Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
This is so beautifully written you could get a job copy writing for the Dorking Tourist Board. We've enjoyed having you to stay for the last few months, and happy to know you feel so at home. The chickens seem to have upped their egg supply so with luck there will be plenty of fresh poached eggs for you in the coming month. It was extremely kind of you to write such an informative review, thank you so much.
All the best from
Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July. Pleasant owner and good breakfast. Cluttered room at top of house which was difficult to get to with luggage. Bathroom small but OK. No locks on doors. Parking tricky in narrow drive and requires keys to be made available to owners in order for cars to be shuffled. ??? insurance of hire cars. Attractive garden and location but probably impossible to find without a GPS. Only accepts cash or cheque for payment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magglington, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you Clive for your comments, although we're disappointed you didn't get such a positve stay as we would have liked. Just a couple of things, we offer free unlimited wifi at The Waltons and many of our guests pay directly online, or they pay via a direct bank transfer in advance if paying a deposit. We are a small concern and would have to put our prices up to accommodate a card machine. I agree that our drive is awkward, these houses were built in 1830, long before cars were invented so many guests park on the road which is free and unrestricted 24 hours a day. We would love to see you again and maybe next time you could choose a different room and try to give us another chance.
All the best from us both in Rose Hill
Maggie and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.2 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
1.8 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
303 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltons

Property: The Waltons
Address: 5 Rose Hill, Dorking RH4 2EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltons is a listed house in a conservation area. Dorking is situated in the midst of the Surrey Hills with easy access to London and both its airports. The coastal towns of Brighton and Worthing are a short journey, as are plentiful attractions including many National Trust properties.You are sure to find a warm welcome at The Waltons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waltons Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing