We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another winning dinner out”
Review of The Pilgrim

The Pilgrim
Ranked #60 of 107 Restaurants in Dorking
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Pilgrim Pub is situated on the outskirts of Dorking Town right next to Dorking West Station. This pub sells real ale with a choise and the food is outstanding with the roast lambs on Sundays plus the homemade desserts! The staff here are always friendly and always greet you with a warm welcomeBooking is advised at all times as with a small resturant it gets busy quickly.
Dorking
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another winning dinner out”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Got home from work on a Friday night, couldn't be bothered to cook so popped down to the Pilgrim. Great local pub end of the week buzz. We all enjoyed our meals - lamb shoulder, steak and ale pie, and prawn and avocado salad. Even found room for delicious pudding! All beautifully prepared and served with genuine service.
No airs and graces, just a warm welcome and great food, reasonably priced. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Dorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Sunday roasts at the Pilgrim are hard to surpass! The lamb is divine - it falls off the bone. The vegetables are cooked to perfection & all meat is full of flavour. The chef is very experienced & it shows!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SueDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlswood, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappoints.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

For family meals and special occasions we always choose here for a good choice of home cooked food in a friendly atmosphere. They always are happy to cater for any special requests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

For the third year running our group of train commuting friends - 15 in total - gathered last night at the Pilgrim for Christmas dinner. Everyone had a fantastic evening!
The dining room's looking good - midway through redecorating but very nice, cozy and Christmassy. Two of our party were delayed in arriving but that didn't phase the kitchen at all.
The food was excellent - tasty, hot, generous. The staff were incredibly efficient, accommodating and friendly. And judging by consumption, the beer was very well kept.
Following dinner the craic continued at the darts board. There were smiles all round - just what you want at Christmas.
Thank you to the Pilgrim. Our night couldn't have been better and we'll be back next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Dorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Birthday meal with family”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband has always wanted to eat at the Pilgrim and we went there for his birthday. It's a traditional pub with proper pub food and we had a really excellent meal with our family. The pub was surprisingly busy for a Tuesday evening and I'm glad that we'd booked. The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We all chose different things and every meal was delicious - and home cooked.

Other reviews have commented on the decor but to me it's exactly what a "proper" pub should be like. The Sunday lunch was recommended by our very friendly waitress and I shall be booking up in the next few weeks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepidtravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pilgrim also viewed

 

Been to The Pilgrim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing