We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two tours and lunch”

Denbies Wine Estate
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denbies Estate, based in Dorking, Surrey, has been family owned and run since 1984. Denbies vineyard was planted in 1986, and since then has become one of the largest wine producers in the UK. Denbies core business is agriculture and we are pleased to be able to offer visitors an insight into wine production in the UK. Denbies wine now competes on an international level, including multiple gold awards for sparkling wine production, the first ever gold for an English rose wine and most recently an international gold for Denbies Noble Harvest Dessert wine. We are honoured over the years to have welcomed several members of the Royal family to the estate, completing the historical connections which date back to Prince Albert in 1851. The Surrey Hills is a beautiful area to live in and while you are visiting do take advantage of the surrounding areas, including 7 miles of public footpath which trail throughout the vineyard. Thank you for visiting Denbies Wine Estate. If you have any questions during your visit, our staff will be very happy to assist you in any matter. We very much hope that you will enjoy your visit.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Two tours and lunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We bought the Landrover train tour into the hills, the cellar/factory tour and tasting and had lunch in between
The hill tour was on a very nice day and the views spectacular, our guide able to field a number of unexpected questions. That was great.
We did the cellar tour a few years ago and little has changed - the video at the start is still dated, the guide still knowledgeable and eccentric. Sadly they seem to have got rid of the little buggies so you have to walk through. You do get three small glasses of wine but this part seemed a bit expensive.
I have no idea what lunch cost (we had a range of sandwiches) as we took care of paying for the tours.
Aside from these things there is a very expensive shop full of ephemera I can't see anyone needing, and a nice little plant centre with food shop, again certainly top end.
This was a great family day and very enjoyable but Denbies isn't cheap.
Hill tour at 7.95 - good value
Cellar tour at 9.95 - a little OTT
Lunch - well based on the shop, I doubt it was cheap!!!
A good day but don't forget your wallet

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HHH666Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    211
    97
    42
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best of British”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went on the winery tour, it takes an hour including a film and wine tasting. Although we did the last tour of the day, the guide was excellent. He explained about why the area is so good for growing vines, some history and the wine making process including sparkling wine. The tasting was informative and didn't feel rushed. Visitors are not forced to leave through the shop. The shop was good with some discounts on their excellent wine. Denbies is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WINE PURCHASE”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Denbies Estate has awards for it,s fine wines the Surrey Gold is a brilliant white to enjoy with a BBQ. Fresh summery taste. Reds are full of flavour. The train rude around the estate is great for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beatiful views and interesting tour.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a lovely estate and friendly staff.
We went on the estate tour which was very interesting and also the classic cellar tour which was very informative.Have recommended to all our friends.
Great wines too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CT13Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great deal, great weather and perfect views”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We took a budget train tour of the Denbies Wine Estate at a cost of £9 for two adults! We arrived in plenty of time which gave us the opportunity to explore the free facilities available. The shop is massive and full of nice (expensive) things to ogle, not to mention the wine grown on the estate for purchase and consumption later. There was an art gallery with a very interesting range of styles including some pictures from a local school. The farm shop was small but had a lovely range of cheeses and we were given several to sample free. MMmmmm. Then the tour. We were told it would be about 45 minutes but as this was the last one of the day it took closer to one hour. We were each given a glass of a gorgeous Denbie's champagne which we sipped whilst trundling up the hill in our own carriage (only three couples took this last tour so we all had a carriage to ourselves.) We stopped at a few viewing points and learnt all about the estate's history and the different grapes growing here. There were some surprising stories along the way and on reaching the top we learnt all about the estate properties on the summit. Finally we ambled back down the hill, taking in the sights from a different perspective. The weather was exceptional, the tour guide informative and friendly, the estate sprawling and beautiful and all in all we had a great time for just £9. We enjoyed the visit so much we may return and pay extra for the tour of the brewery or wine making facilities and the 180 degree cinema.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank snearxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denbies Wine Estate also viewed

 

Been to Denbies Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing