We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intoxicating view”

The Gallery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gallery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Earth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intoxicating view”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked on line, which was easy. I received an email reminder of the booking the day before our reservation, which was nice.
I asked for, and got, a Gallery Restaurant window seat with a lovely view. The waitress service was excellent, the menu a trifle limited, but the dishes we chose were very nice. Of course we had to sample the Denbies wine, Rose Hill, which was excellent, and I would recommend, especially for a lunch time. It was a little pricey by comparison with our usual meal time wines.
Denbies is an excellent place to meet up with friends, and we were left to eat and drink our fill without being harassed or made to feel a nuisance.
Definitely a place to meet up with our other geriatric friends, who seem to be spread far and wide.
Judging from what I saw of other customers, it was obvious that many people were meeting here for a meal, and to renew their friendships.
Apart from the Gallery Restaurant there is an excellent eating hall in a 'ginormous' Atrium, which has a cafeteria style service, with perhaps a wider choice menu than the Gallery Restaurant! This area caters for families and large groups, and again one has all the time in the world. You have your lunch, and chat until tea time if you wish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank devideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    63
    52
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have eaten here a few times and always had excellent food. Recently had our wedding reception here and had our meal in the Gallery. Food was amazing. I have had guests say its the best Lamb they have ever had. Thank you so much will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TIDDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little Dated...........”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having wanted to eat here for several years, I chose my wifes birthday to book and give it a try.
We were shown to our requested Window seat, and found that the restaurant was pleasantly busy, in spite of our early evening booking.
The service was excellent, and very attentive, the food was reasonable rather than exceptional, but I have to say, a little pricey for what it was.
Now, this is where I come to the 'how I think they could do better' bit!
The owners of Denbies have an absolute gem in this location. There is an air of exclusivity about the place, and with a little bit of a freshen up, it could be truly special. Having said that, it was pretty full, so perhaps there is little need to change things. The menu could also be improved a little, and perhaps needs a bit more attention to detail.
One other small disappointment. This is the largest vineyard in England, and produces some exceptional wines. I would really like to see these showcased in the Gallery Restaurant, and priced so that they are more appealing. We settled for something from Chile while looking out across the 265 acres of vines in Dorking, purely on the basis that the Denbies equivalent was nearly £10 dearer.
But all in all, I would try it again, and is easily as good as some of the other upper end establishments in the local area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RG-B19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ladies that lunch”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I booked myself & a friend the wine tasting tour, it was really interesting and wetted our appetite for lunch. We went to the third floor Gallery Restaurant & the views are beautiful. We had a set 2 course £15.95 which is excellent value & delicious. The staff are really friendly & helpful. I would recommend it .. But reserve a table as the restaurant isnt that big.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dollydotdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with four friends”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We all had the crab starter which was delicious so we were really looking forward to the main course. Two of us had the lamb and the salmon which they said was very good but the rest of us had the halibut which was sadly very dry and chewy and very disappointing considering the £22.50 price. As a result of our complaint we were given a discount and a complimentary bottle of wine which was appreciated but it was a pity it was Australian rather than a Denbies wine. On the plus side was the kindness shown when one of my friends fainted and I cannot fault the waiter and waitress who could not have been more helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Gallery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing