We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”
Review of Surrey Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surrey Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Myself and my husband hosted our wedding reception at the Surrey Hills Hotel. We had a sit down meal for 67 guests followed by a DJ and a Band. The venue itself is lovely, there is a garden at the back that was perfect as it was a sunny day.

The room did not need too much doing to it as it looked fabulous as it was. The staff were great and the barman was efficient. The food was hearty and everyone enjoyed it. We also had the buffet for our evening guests that was extremely substantial.

The lay-out of the room meant that you could easily fit 150 people however it did not look empty with our 67 guests.

Peter and Leslie were courteous and professional and they were supportive throughout the day.

The reception was great value for money and we enjoyed our day immensely.

We did not stay in the hotel as there was only 6 rooms and for all the wedding party to stay together we found a hotel with more rooms in Dorking, However, the amenities that we did use were clean.

The Surrey Hills suited us for our wedding reception and we would certainly recommend it.

Thank you Peter and Leslie

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa44447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

The upside was a fabulous night of live entertainment. Great atmosphere, terrific disco and a Neil Diamond tribute act that was captivating and sounded so original. Our large party had a wonderful time for a 60th birthday event and other parties in the room all joined together for a memorable evening. The food was also good and the service slick and efficient.
Unfortunately, the hotel itself has seen better days. Needs a good decoration and the rooms need a general handyperson to go on an inspection tour - only two of our five lights worked, the shower came more out of the pipe than it did the shower head. It was like Fawlty Towers when we got there, the hotel bar is large but there is only one seating area. When we needed another drink in the afternoon we had to telephone the hotel main number in order to find a member of staff. We paid enough for the room itself and were then told that breakfast was an extra £12.50 - oh but there was a much cheaper cafe down the road!
Two stars only for the hotel but the entertainment was a fantastic five star event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

What a great night - Live entertainment at it's best. We had a fantastic and fun night with a really good atmosphere and a top notch show. Anyone looking to book a party should look no further than the Surrey Hills Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were given to believe that the check-in time of 6.00pm was mandatory, so made efforts to get there on time. Our room, whilst a bit old-fashioned in decor, was very comfortable, with (to our mind) essential tea-making facilities. we were a bit surprised by the lack of the normal shampoo etc., but had a comfortable night's sleep. It was a bit odd that the floodlighting stayed on all night, though.
The downside came in the morning with breakfast. We should, I suppose, have been wary, as there was a little reluctance shown when we asked to book it on arrival, and I wonder if the high price of £12.50 each was intended as a deterrent, because when we came to actually have the meal, it was most unsatisfactory, using the cheapest ingredients ("plastic" bread, a substitute for butter, sausages that were not worthy of the name and so on), and very few extras, like a very meagre fruit bowl, very little choice of packet cereals, yoghurts straight from the shop, still in their fours, no sauces on offer....need I go on?
It seems a pity that , if they didn't want to serve breakfast, they didn't just say so, instead of leaving us with what is quite literally a nasty taste in our mouths. Judging from other reviews, I think we were fortunate that there wasn't a function the night we stayed, otherwise it may be that the good bits would have been spoilt as well.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186302john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We called on the day of our arrival to find out what time we could check in - at this point we were told that there was no electricity to our room and that we would be moved to a smaller room whilst it was fixed. The rooms were functional but clearly haven't been decorated since the 80s and we also found there was no hot water, so couldn't shower before heading off to a wedding.

Later that afternoon we were called by the hotel to tell us that the electricity was back on and they would move our belongings into our original room. I wasn’t entirely comfortable with this and asked that they make sure they move everything as we had started to unpack.

When we arrived back at the hotel at around midnight it was like a nightclub. The car park was full of people shouting, swearing, drinking and smoking and there was even a couple becoming "intimately" entwined on the bonnet of a car where we tried to gain access via the fire escape (as advised when we had set off earlier in the day). We had to wait (with children) for 10 minutes before we were let into the hotel - when we questioned what on earth was going on (as no mention of a party was made when we booked) the manager told us that we were back earlier than we said we would be so why were we complaining? I'd imagine this was the same charming chap who hung up on Hermonj. The music was so loud it shook the floor of the bedrooms - this stopped just before 1am.

Thankfully I still had the key to the first room we were placed in, as when our belongs had been moved they left our phone charger, book and my suit bag and hanger in the first room.

Once the music had stopped we did have a fairly comfortable night. The bed was very old and noisily sprung, but it was pretty comfortable.

The following morning there was still no hot water and only a solitary cleaner could be found in the entire hotel. We were informed that the staff would not be in until lunch time so had to leave our keys on the reception desk.

In summary, a run-down old hotel that is falling apart, manned by staff who deliver by and large the worst customer service you're ever likely to encounter in a civilised country. If you have the option to stay ANYWHERE else I would strongly advise you do.

Room Tip: Try any other hotel you can find. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is awful.......do not stay here.....bad service through from booking to checking out.......issues with rooms, hot water, loud parties till 12.30am with guests vomiting and having sex in the car park........awful customer relations when I complained during the stay and afterwards......Cannot agree more with Hermonj review, our credit card was always noted in the same way......awful

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here for a few nights whilst vacationing from the USA and had a fantastic time. I am more accustomed to staying in the big chain hotels like Marriott, Hilton etc... Whilst hotels like these are always clean and of comfortingly similar quality no matter where they are located it is always refreshing and indeed quite pleasant to find a first rate independent hotel like the Surrey Hills.

Reading the few very negative reviews of this hotel, I find it hard to believe that we stayed at the same establishment. I found the staff to be courteous, helpful and professional, the rooms clean and excellent value for money and the on site restaurant of a very high caliber. For those of you unfamiliar with England's North Downs I strongly recommend visiting the area as it is the epitome of the "green and pleasant land" we all imagine England to be. I doubt there is a better place to stay when in this area than the Surrey Hills Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
270 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
3.3 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
476 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Hills Hotel

Address: Horsham Road, Dorking RH5 4PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: £76 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrey Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrey Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Hills Hotel Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing