We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Surrey Hills”
Review of Surrey Hills Hotel

Surrey Hills Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surrey Hills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my sister stayed here over the weekend to get away from the husbands and the children and it was a delightful stay.

The owners really made us at home and it was so nice to be able to relax. There was a function going on and they invited us to join (we were out visiting friends so we didn't) but it was such a lovely thought.

The breakfast in the morning was lovely - my sister is a vegetarian and they especially cooked quorn bacon and sausages for her.. it was such a hearty full english. The lady who was there in the morning was so friendly and helpful.

Yes the room was a bit dated but I can't fault anything - it was a lovely weekend and we could not have felt more at home here.

We are already deciding on a date to book here again.

Thanks Surrey HIlls!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent friendly welcome from the owner and staff but disappointed the Malaysian Restaurant was closed (permanently?). Seemed very good value, with excellent beds/towels/modern TV/Wi-Fi etc... was made to feel at home- as when the weather's only moderate, my wife always announces 'ooh, it's REALLY warm, isn't it?' meaning 'you better not waste money putting on the heating again'.. and funnily enough the owner said exactly the same thing.. ah well, good job there was an electric heater in my room. (I have to hide mine at home). Cleanliness moderate, my re-usable Perspex bathroom mug had toothpaste remains on it.. ugh! The weird bit is that having discovered my cold tap didn't work at all I went down at 9pm for a drink and discovered the bar seemed to have gone the same way as the Restaurant, and the place was locked up and in darkness. As the bath taps seemed likely to be supplied by a header tank I didn't fancy water from there so I found the downstairs toilets (completely in darkness) so had to fill my now- washed mug from there. I sort of expected to meet Norman Bates any moment asking if his Mum could be of any help but there you go. Anyway, lovely breakfast.
Back home now. Wife says weather going to be INCREDIBLY hot but apparently not quite hot enough to put on our little air-con unit. Think I better buy some thermals though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retromen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have had 4 of our employees staying at the Surrey Hills Hotel now for the last 10 months and we could not fault them on anything. The guys have all said that it is clean and the rooms have been warm and comfortable and at a very high standard. We would like to take the opportunity to thank Peter & Leslie, they have bee absolutly fantastic and nothing has been too much trouble fo them.

We would definitley use them again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaBGCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Myself and my husband hosted our wedding reception at the Surrey Hills Hotel. We had a sit down meal for 67 guests followed by a DJ and a Band. The venue itself is lovely, there is a garden at the back that was perfect as it was a sunny day.

The room did not need too much doing to it as it looked fabulous as it was. The staff were great and the barman was efficient. The food was hearty and everyone enjoyed it. We also had the buffet for our evening guests that was extremely substantial.

The lay-out of the room meant that you could easily fit 150 people however it did not look empty with our 67 guests.

Peter and Leslie were courteous and professional and they were supportive throughout the day.

The reception was great value for money and we enjoyed our day immensely.

We did not stay in the hotel as there was only 6 rooms and for all the wedding party to stay together we found a hotel with more rooms in Dorking, However, the amenities that we did use were clean.

The Surrey Hills suited us for our wedding reception and we would certainly recommend it.

Thank you Peter and Leslie

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa44447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The upside was a fabulous night of live entertainment. Great atmosphere, terrific disco and a Neil Diamond tribute act that was captivating and sounded so original. Our large party had a wonderful time for a 60th birthday event and other parties in the room all joined together for a memorable evening. The food was also good and the service slick and efficient.
Unfortunately, the hotel itself has seen better days. Needs a good decoration and the rooms need a general handyperson to go on an inspection tour - only two of our five lights worked, the shower came more out of the pipe than it did the shower head. It was like Fawlty Towers when we got there, the hotel bar is large but there is only one seating area. When we needed another drink in the afternoon we had to telephone the hotel main number in order to find a member of staff. We paid enough for the room itself and were then told that breakfast was an extra £12.50 - oh but there was a much cheaper cafe down the road!
Two stars only for the hotel but the entertainment was a fantastic five star event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

What a great night - Live entertainment at it's best. We had a fantastic and fun night with a really good atmosphere and a top notch show. Anyone looking to book a party should look no further than the Surrey Hills Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were given to believe that the check-in time of 6.00pm was mandatory, so made efforts to get there on time. Our room, whilst a bit old-fashioned in decor, was very comfortable, with (to our mind) essential tea-making facilities. we were a bit surprised by the lack of the normal shampoo etc., but had a comfortable night's sleep. It was a bit odd that the floodlighting stayed on all night, though.
The downside came in the morning with breakfast. We should, I suppose, have been wary, as there was a little reluctance shown when we asked to book it on arrival, and I wonder if the high price of £12.50 each was intended as a deterrent, because when we came to actually have the meal, it was most unsatisfactory, using the cheapest ingredients ("plastic" bread, a substitute for butter, sausages that were not worthy of the name and so on), and very few extras, like a very meagre fruit bowl, very little choice of packet cereals, yoghurts straight from the shop, still in their fours, no sauces on offer....need I go on?
It seems a pity that , if they didn't want to serve breakfast, they didn't just say so, instead of leaving us with what is quite literally a nasty taste in our mouths. Judging from other reviews, I think we were fortunate that there wasn't a function the night we stayed, otherwise it may be that the good bits would have been spoilt as well.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186302john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#5 of 8 in Dorking
224 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
189 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#6 of 8 in Dorking
183 reviews
8.0 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
571 reviews
8.2 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Hills Hotel

Address: Horsham Road, Dorking RH5 4PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: £69 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surrey Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surrey Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surrey Hills Hotel Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing