We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills
Reviewed 20 May 2013

my partner and I stayed for one night,but would like to stay forever!!!!,
the hostel is in the woods,there is parking near the hostel and there is shops and a pub not far away,the staff were friendly and helpful,the room was ok and clean,
the reason I would love to return is the area,there is no tv as there is no signal,no internet and our mobiles didn't work so all in all it was the perfect "get away from it all"break

Room Tip: would like to live here
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Great youth hostel! The owners where very friendly and helpfull. Dinner was great! Not greasy as other british restaurants. Great place, where you are more than welcome! The location in the woods and The quitness makes this a great place to get à rest after à long days ride.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timvanderaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed at this youth hostel for a couple of nights with a group of friends. We had the top floor to ourselves and it felt really comfortable and relaxed. We loved hanging out in the large dining area which had big wooden tables and comfy sofas. We had several children with us and it was the perfect place for them to safely play in . There is a lovely outside area and many beautiful walks straight from the youth hostel up to great views. We went to some lovely pubs including the Kings Head in Holmbury St Mary and the Hurtwood Inn. In the evenings it was so peaceful and the stars were amazing as there was very little light pollution. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We had a great stay and I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room for two with a private sink on the top floor - it was comfortable and peaceful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed with my family and friends for 2 nights over Easter at YHA Holmbury. We loved everything about the place. The hostel was set in beautiful tranquil woods with super walks from the doorstep. The hostel was clean, comfortable and had all that we needed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the manager Gwen recommended excellent places in the area to visit including a local pub called the King's Head. I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and it was nice and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ju291995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmbury_Manager, Manager at YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laury S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
174 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 897 in London
406 reviews
YHA Truleigh Hill
#1 of 1 in Shoreham-by-Sea
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gatton Manor
#5 of 8 in Dorking
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills

Address: Radnor Lane, Dorking RH5 6NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Dorking
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Surrey Hills, YHA Holmbury offers simple, affordable accommodation for families, individuals and groups. Opened in 1936, YHA Holmbury is proud to be England's first purpose built youth hostel, retaining most of the original features. This historic building offers a selection of 4-bed bunk rooms, 2 twin bunk rooms and a double room. Set in 4,000 acres of woodland in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, YHA Holmbury is the perfect rural retreat and a great base for activity breaks and day trips to London.Close to the small village of Holmbury St Mary, the hostel is not far from Holmbury Hill with it's panoramic views of the North and South Downs. There are fantastic routes for walking, cycling, mountain biking and horse-riding on our doorstep - perfect for a family activity holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA Holmbury St Marys Surrey Hills Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing