We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise”

Dorking Museum and Heritage Centre
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Dorking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I learnt quite a bit about the area, even though I have lived around here for 14 years. The museum is set in a newly built building and has plenty of scope to get bigger and better when the money is made available. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and will give you a guided tour if you ask and they are not too busy. It may be a case of pre-booking a guided tour.
A good effort with a future. Thank you

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Closed on Sunday??????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very disappointed that this museum was closed on Sunday as I had just passed a newspaper billboard informing the great and good of Dorking that something connected with Dickens had been discovered at the Museum?????

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dorking Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

A small museum but with treasures inside. A dinosaur, burial cart, second world war plane crash remains etc. The museum has been newly rehoused allowing the showing of so much more interesting history. Discover why Dorking cockerels were special (and why a cockerel decorates a roundabout). A hidden gem lies just outside the museum - the only house left of a Pilgrim Father who sailed with his family on the Mayflower. Spend a good hour or two and maybe buy a book of local history to read at leisure. A hidden gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Who knew? Dorking was interesting?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Dorking Museum was really very interesting, do I sound suprised? It takes you from dinosaurs to synthetic penicillin with a little side trip through the war and the glorious old houses. Really nice family entertainment, we tried on hats, did all the quizes and we were the grown-ups! I would be suprised if even Dorking residents know all of the information we learnt. Worth the trip just to look at the Wedgwood candle holder from Vaughan William's house. Dorking has a history! Who Knew??

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megladite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stumbled upon the museum by chance whilst strolling through Dorking on a leisurely day of sight-seeing.

Very interesting displays and glad that I found it. Good if you are interested in the history of the local area

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TrevCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorking Museum and Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Dorking Museum and Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing