We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely, quiet and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Claremont Cottage

Claremont Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claremont Cottage
Ranked #10 of 13 Dorking B&B and Inns
Tipperary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homely, quiet and central”
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Me and my partner had to visit for a wedding. We had been meant to stay in another local hotel but decided to change after reading the reviews of Claremont Cottage.Those reviews were right
The place Julie runs is very homely and very comfortable. Our room (she has three) had a big double bed, three armchairs, a table and two dining type chairs, wardrobe chest of drawers and tea and coffee (and Horlicks) A nice bathroom complete with roll top bath and windows out to two different elevations to the garden and birdsong (it is central but peaceful) completed the room. We thought what a nice place it would be to return to after a days sightseeing or walking.
The breakfast was very nice, freshly prepared pineapple, other fruit , cereal and a cooked breakfast (mostly organic from the local Waitrose) sent us back to London well happy with our night over in Dorking. Woukld have been nice to have stayed a week or two. Good luck Julie.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kildare54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2008

From the floral quilts to the delicious organic breakfast round one large kitchen table, Claremont Cottage delights as a haven of rustic charm.
My friend and I stayed in the spacious twin room on our way to a wedding and had a deeply restful night in the quiet of leafy Dorking. We were awoken the next morning only by church bells and birdsong. The atmosphere is relaxed and homely, and the owner very accomodating, upbeat and chatty, keen to taylor her services to the needs of individual guests.
The twin room and communal kitchen area were prettily and stylishly decorated. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patchworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

This is a great little B&B. We stayed here for one night after a wedding, and were made to feel truly at home by Julie. NOthing was too much trouble, and she even went out of her way to get us some vegetarian food for breakfast the next day. We stayed in the twin room which is slightly set away from the other 2 rooms, and therefore perfect for people planing on returning late at night. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with a nice sitting area complete with a small table for breakfast by the window looking out over the garden.

One of the nicest things about this B&B is the fact that you are able to help yourself at any time to drinks, fruit and snacks in the kitchen which is in between all three rooms. This just adds to the homeliness and relaxed feel to the place. There is a good choice for breakfast, which you can have at any time.

The location is great, and plenty of room for parking by the cottage. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendly hospitality from Julie, and kitchen access.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2007

A wonderful B&B, I give it 5 stars.
A character cottage, tucked away close to Dorking town centre with very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts.
I have not slept so well for ages but here, it was so peaceful and relaxing.
You will be well looked after if you choose to stay here.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2007

Just stayed here for 2 nights and we can say it's the best guest house that we have been in.
The rooms are very comfortable and well sized.
Julie who runs the place is exceptionally helpful and her breakfasts are fantastic. The exotic fruit salad is delicious and the qualiity of all the food is outstanding as she sources organic products most o the time.
The house is centrally located, so walking to the shops, a local pub or restaurant is very easy.

  • Liked — Hospitality and quality of food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2007

We stayed in Claremont Cottage on Saturday 28th April and absolutely loved it. In a previous job I travelled regularly and stayed in 5* accommodation all the time. Claremont Cottage is a 5* accommodation level. The hospitality and warm welcome we were given was so personal and genuine. The cottage is a beautifully and tastefully restored cottage with very comfortable beds, extremely clean rooms and bathrooms and a fantastic breakfast. On Sunday morning we had a nice lie-in (after a pretty wild wedding) and enjoyed a delicious organic breakfast with fantastic fresh fruit salad, cheeses, crossaints, pain au chocolat's, fresh coffee, teas and the Sunday papers. We were offered a full Fry but declined. We breakfasted at our leisure enjoying the atmosphere and reading the papers. We felt under no pressure to leave and were sorry that we could not stay for additional nights. This is what a Guest House should be like!

  • Liked — Fantastic High Standard of service and accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate_high_standards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2007

I booked all three rooms with Julie as we were visting Dorking for my
sons wedding. I can only say that it was home from home only better.
The standard and variety of Breakfast was second to none.... fantastic. the rooms are exceptionally clean and Ican only say that what was a fantastic memomorable weekend for us in Dorking was only topped off by the high standard of our stay in Clarmont Cottage..
Well done Julie and Thank You

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tinrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.3 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
3.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
59 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
279 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Cottage

Property: Claremont Cottage
Address: Claremont Cottage Rose Hill, Dorking RH4 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claremont Cottage is under 10 mins' walk to the town centre. About 20-25 mins walk to the main train station. We have 2 double bedded rooms and 1 twin room. All rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claremont Cottage Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing