We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Gatton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gatton Manor
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We have just spent New Years Eve at Gatton
Manor. The room we stayed in was teriffic. Tea/coffe making facilities, Exceptionally comfortable bedding, plenty of room and a modern spotless bathroom. All the staff bent ovewr backwards to do that little bit extra for us with a very warm welcoming & friendly atmosphere.

The food was excellent. We had lunch in the bar and breakfast. The food was freshly cooked, of very high standard and again nothing was too much trouble.

The food at the New Year's ve buffet was outstanding. It was all home cooked with a vast selection of seafood, cold meats, hot food sweets & cheese. There was a disco which played until 2am and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seagullHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 184 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2007

Having read the last reviews i was concerened about what to find however i needn't have been, the whole stay was fantastic.
Our stay of two days was relaxing and comftable, the new rooms are beautiful, but most of all the atmosphere from staff made Gatton Manor homely which larger hotels do not provide. The food was excellant and if you are a golfer you will find the course challenging and a delight to play.
We will definatly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank country-traveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We attented a wedding at the golf club and also had the misfortune of staying the night.

The wedding meal was cold and disorganised, my partner was ignored for about ten minutes until i had to almost walk into the kitchen to arrange there meal. The woman i spoke to was rude and aloaf.

The room we had was small and there were cobwebs b the shower, the kettle didnt work, there were stains on the bedding, it looked like blood and the paint was chiped.

Breakfast was a disgrace and i am sorry to have bothered to stay there, again it was cold and limp, with a poor selection and rude, uninterested staff. The member of the club also stared at us the whole time making us feel uncomfortable, and the staff were more interested in them.

I have never complainted about a hotel before but i would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mcdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel12, Owner at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2007

My first reaction when I read this review was they must have the wrong hotel! since we took over ownership in 2005 we have never received feedback like this.
Obviously it is difficult to comment on the specifics because this customer is anonymous and at no time during their stay raised any issue. This feedback is in total contradiction to the feedback received by other guests that weekend. We received nothing but praise for everything from the food to our staff.
Clearly something has gone wrong for this guest - I am disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to do anything at the time. If mcdodo reads this please email me direct belinda@gattonmanor.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Attended a wedding here in October. Service and food were excellent but rooms are in need of an update. Mould on bathroom walls, not very well decorated and shower curtain in need of cleaning. Rooms are comfortable but a good dust wouldn't go amiss.

Restaurant window sills were covered in dust and dead spiders.
However, staff were very friendly and helpful which in some way made up for the shortfall in cleanliness and the need for a lick of paint.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w_barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel12, Owner at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2006

We took over ownership of Gatton Manor in 2005. Since then we have been investing significantly to improve both the facilities and service we offer our customers. Consistently we receive feedback to confirm that we are achieving high levels of service and facilities are improving all the time. The golf course is highly rated and our food offering is regularly praised. Refurbishments unfortunately takes time - this year we focused on the bar/restaurant/functions areas. In January 2007 we plan to refurbish all the bedrooms in the manor house. w_barb is right some of the rooms are outdated however we have prided ourselves in high standards of cleanliness. It therefore disappoints me greatly to read of the reviewer's experiences - I wish I had had the opportunity to speak to the reviewer directly on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pevchikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
5.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
194 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
8.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
572 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatton Manor

Address: Standon Lane | Ockley, Dorking RH5 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: £77 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gatton Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatton Manor is a 18 bedroom hotel and golf club, set in 200 acres of tranquil woodlands, gardens, rivers and lakes, which form a championship length 18 hole golf course. The house dates back to 1728 and was the original Dowager's House of the Abinger Estate. Standards are high - we are AA 3* rated and our customers frequently comment on the first class food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton Manor Dorking, Surrey
Gatton Manor Hotel Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing