We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good golf course poor service/condition”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gatton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gatton Manor
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good golf course poor service/condition”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed locally to Gatton Manor on a golfing break and decided this would be one of the golf courses we would play, We booked the round for 8 people using 2 fore 1 vouchers. When we arrived we were early so had drinks in the bar and found staff friendly and helpful. We were then charged £20 each for the golf whilst using the 2 fore 1 vouchers which did seem pretty expensive!!! We went for a practice putt but was unable to as the putting greens were being hallowtyned and were covered in sand as were all the other greens on the course. Why were we not told about this when we booked a week prior. Surley this work is booked well in advance??? The course itself is a nice track however i found the stroke indexs were very strange i.e hole 4 stroke index 7 139 yard par 3 with small amount of water in front of the green relativley easy, then hole 16 412 yard par 4 stroke index 14??? When returning to the very small pro shop to return trolleys we hired we found the pro on the phone and ignoreing us until we had finished. All in all a very dissappointing day. Take my advice and play Chartham Park just up the road for £12.50 with the 2 fore 1 vouchers, excellent value and top notch staff and course condition.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    60
    30
    19
    14
See reviews for
24
56
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed with 7 friends in mid-August for a 1 night golf break. The staff were friendly and attentive, although other than checking-in, ordering food and drinks and checking-out, the majority of the time we were playing golf. The drinks were reasonably priced for hotel close to the M25. In the evening we had bar food which was acceptable although not outstanding. Breakfast was included within our package and was of a high standard served in a buffet style.
We had a room close to the bar which was noisy the following morning when bottles were being emptied and golfers were meeting to tee off early.
The golf course was in good condition for the middle of summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for posting your feedback - glad to her you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments on the quality of the course. I will pass this back to our green keepers have done a great job this year.
Hope to be see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Played Golf here couple of times and ate at the bar. The golf course is picturesque and quite a few holes challenging.

We were behind 2 golfers, who were behind 4 slow players who seemed to spend too much time looking for lost balls. It would be good if the Tee times were increased to 12 mins if a group of 4 joins, so allowing them time to finish the first hole before the 2nd people start. We had to jump the que and miss a hole to enjoy the game, the 2-ball in front of also did the same.

The bar staff are very helpful and always pleasant.

We may look to book the venue for a party, but its a bit far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aro-rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for posting you thoughts, I have passed your feedback on tee times back to our Golf Manager. So glad you enjoyed the course, it is in great condition at the moment and please don't think we are too far away for a party ....the answer is easy, just stay over and make a night of it! Talk to us directly about party room rates and don't forget for our Christmas Parties, the organiser goes free for groups over 10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Myself and 3 mates booked to play 2 rounds of golf and stay the night, golf was great, we where in no hurry as the weather was great so had 2 very enjoyable rounds of golf on Saturday and Sunday.

The rooms were very cosy and bigger than I thought they would be, the Resturant was nice nothing amazing but I was pleasantly surprised, there was a wedding there the same night which was quiet peculiar as we ate dinner to dance tunes and lady gaga but it was good for a giggle with the lads, the staff were very helpful and super pleasant and the barman who kept serving us until 1am was a champ all in all a good fun weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thanks for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend even with the unexpected appearance of Gaga.
I will pass your kind comments on to the Clubhouse team and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went here with my husband & another couple. The guys went off to play golf and us girls had lunch and wine !!! The food was lovely as was the service. Evening meal was good, service was second to none. LOVELY. Our room was clean & comfortable. Thank you xxx

Room Tip: The twin room at the top was huge. If you need a double just push beds together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thanks for your lovely review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us...I will pass on your comments to the clubhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Gatton Manor and booked an online deal to include 2 rounds of golf and 1 night at the hotel.

Firstly the golf. The course is very good, every hole is different and it is very challenging without being ridiculous. However the course was horrendously overbooked on both days, we spent a lot of time around Gatton Manor and there was always a queue for the first tee, we waited for four 4 balls to tee off before we could start putting us way behind our scheduled tee time and the round for the two of us took over 5 hours. All the people around us told us they were booking through Groupon and getting cheap rounds, the guys in front of us had clearly never hit a golf ball and didn't even have golf shoes. This course could be excellent but I would never go through such a long and painful round again. The greens were slow, the reason for this is that they are covered in sand, presumably to protect them from the battering they get day in day out by all this Groupon golfers.

Having talked to the guys in the pro shop about how slow the golf was their solution on day two was to pair us up with another two people without even asking if that is what we wanted to do, which we didn't, we told him we weren't prepared to do this just so that our round seemed less slow because we wanted to enjoy a round with each other, this was very annoying and we should not have been put in this position.

The hotel is decent, the rooms are clean and tidy, the TV signal is non exsistent and so you can only get a few channels but this is not exactly a major issue. Being a very old building it is very creaky and the walls are very thin so you can hear absolutely everything going on in the building.

The restaurant was not such a good experience, we arrived quite late, about 8, due to the long round and we were not greeted or even acknowledged by the staff, in fact there was only one member of staff who was busy taking an order, and so we stood around for a while before taking it upon ourselves to choose a table. When then sat there being ignored by staff and eventually had to ask for service. Once we finally got some service the food was very good and very quick and it would have been a lovely meal were it not for the poor initial service.

I would recommend Gatton Manor for groups of 4 people looking to play a nice course at a slow pace and I would recommend the hotel generally but this place did not reach its potential which is a shame because it could be an excellent venue for a weekend retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post and the issues you have bought to our attention.

We must apologise if you experienced slow play, due to the popularity of the course it can occasionally take a little longer than we would hope to complete a round.

It is our standard practice, if our guests are in agreement, to pair up our two ball players on busy play days, however this should not have happened without you being asked in advance and I can appreciate your frustration. I have fed back all of your comments to the golf team

The sand on the greens that you make mention of was due to solid tining part of our on-going maintenance programme to improve the course. A course inspection had been undertaken and it was deemed not to have been presenting any issues with play, but again I can appreciate this was not your experience.

Your restaurant service issues have also been returned to our Operations Manager.

Your overall experience of Gatton Manor is certainly not as we would have hoped it would be, but we strive to make continuous improvements and all feedback helps us to do that.

I do hope in future you will visit us again and let us demonstrate these improvements to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Went to Gatton Manor on Saturday with two friends on a one night b+b and round of golf deal. This has to be one of the friendliest clubs I have played staff are very good and the welcome is a warm one. This is a traditional club and is well run, there are good practice facilities handily right next to the first tee so there is little delay from your last practice shot to your tee off.

The course itself took me by surprise it's very mature and well established no road noise due to it's rural location. It was in great condition and pleasing to the eye, the greens are very fast. There are differing forms of water hazard on 14 holes, you really have to think your way round and there are good risk v reward options A small point is that if you don't know the course it will cost you on blind shots off the tees which have no hole guide maps, yes I could have paid for a course guide but other courses have maps on tees. Will be back to have another crack at lowering my score.

Our stay was superb value for money the rooms were very clean comfortable but slightly dated in appearance but bear in mind the price it's perfect for golfers. Breakfast was buffet style and good quality.


Overall if you like trying different courses this is a must. Treat yourself with a stay and play deal and soak up the buzzing atmosphere as a very good golfing venue.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
5.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
6.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
8.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Horsham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatton Manor

Property: Gatton Manor
Address: Standon Lane | Ockley, Dorking RH5 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gatton Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatton Manor is a 18 bedroom hotel and golf club, set in 200 acres of tranquil woodlands, gardens, rivers and lakes, which form a championship length 18 hole golf course. The house dates back to 1728 and was the original Dowager's House of the Abinger Estate. Standards are high - we are AA 3* rated and our customers frequently comment on the first class food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton Manor Dorking, Surrey
Gatton Manor Hotel Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing