We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent ervice far beyond what was expected”
Review of Gatton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gatton Manor
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for one night having attended a wedding reception 1.5 miles up the road. The room was big, airy and comfortable. What made the experience even more memorable was the friendliness and service levels demonstrated by every staff member we encountered.
Our car was left at the wedding venue the night before, meaning we were forced to pay a local cab firm £20 for the short taxi ride back to Gatton Manor when the evening drew to a close, an extortionate amount for such a short distance. In the morning, the hotel staff were only too happy to put extra food on for us even though the kitchen had just stopped serving breakfast while we pondered our dilema - walk from the hotel along the roadside or pay the taxi fare again. What was surprising was that Stuart, a member of the hotel management team, kindly offered to take us in his own car to ours - for this we were extremely grateful and will happily stay at the hotel again when we are next passing and care to take in the wonderful scenery and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kriss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks so much for posting and for your kind words. I will pass your comments on to Stuart and the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked one of the luxury rooms. It was very spacious with plenty of seating and cupboards and a wardrobe. King size bed. Big bathroom. Everything was very clean. All very nice. The room (Room 2) overlooked the golf course (with door and small balcony) and had no direct neighbours so it was very quiet. I slept well.
Our only criticism was that the way the shower was mounted in the bath was pretty useless, had to hand hold it in the end.
Buffet English breakfast was excellent as well.
Altogether a very pleasant stay, shame about the shower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike551721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for posting your comments. I have asked our Maintenance Manger to look at the shower attachment so hopefully on your next visit all should be in order.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stopped for two nights. The room was fine and as expected. Okay perhaps a more secure door would be on the wish list but overall good value for money. Free wifi was welcomes as was the snacks with the in room tea/coffee. Evening menu was varied with the specials recommended. Breakfast was well presented and cooked spot on though service was on the slow side. Can't have it all ways. Access was down narrow roads but we'll worth the drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ny_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thanks for posting your review. Please accept our apologies if the breakfast service was a little slow but glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Last year (2012) a group of friends got together and went to the Gatton Manor Christmas party night with a buffet meal for £20 a head. Last year (2012) it was superb value for money but this year (2013) it was dreadful. There was a smaller selection of food and the quality of it wasn't as nice as last year (plus some things were cold when they weren't supposed to be) ....in fact there was only a few out of our party of 13 that went up for seconds. The disco was also rubbish it was almost as if the guy was trying to clear the dance floor (pretty much every other song was clearing the dance floor....hard core trance/rave music is not suitable for a christmas party night) - not really the Gatton Manors fault but if people had come last year, they would have been disappointed. As far as the evening went, because everything was a lot worse than last year, our group of friends had a fantastic time catching up but everyone has told me they were disappointed and we're definitely going somewhere else next year....probably to the punchbowl inn in okewood hill!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nicnac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback and I am sorry that you did not enjoy this years Christmas Party as much as last years. I have fed back your comments to our F&B Manager and to our DJ.

As a valued customer, we would love to talk this through privately with you, if you could please call us on 01306 627555. We are also hoping to plan something a little different for next year, so I hope you will give us the opportunity to make things right in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Being a non golfer I was rather sceptical of staying at gatton manor hotel. However, for £50 approx per night, including a splendid cooked breakfast, we were delighted with the hotel, especially the welcome and staff. Yes the hotel needs some tlc, but the bar menu was reasonable , very quiet despite being full, with lovely surroundings. Yes next time I will upgrade as the room was pretty basic, but clean and adequate for a one night stay. We will return, as for value for money it is hard to beat in that beautiful location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank suffolkmayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, I will pass these on to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently stayed locally to Gatton Manor on a golfing break and decided this would be one of the golf courses we would play, We booked the round for 8 people using 2 fore 1 vouchers. When we arrived we were early so had drinks in the bar and found staff friendly and helpful. We were then charged £20 each for the golf whilst using the 2 fore 1 vouchers which did seem pretty expensive!!! We went for a practice putt but was unable to as the putting greens were being hallowtyned and were covered in sand as were all the other greens on the course. Why were we not told about this when we booked a week prior. Surley this work is booked well in advance??? The course itself is a nice track however i found the stroke indexs were very strange i.e hole 4 stroke index 7 139 yard par 3 with small amount of water in front of the green relativley easy, then hole 16 412 yard par 4 stroke index 14??? When returning to the very small pro shop to return trolleys we hired we found the pro on the phone and ignoreing us until we had finished. All in all a very dissappointing day. Take my advice and play Chartham Park just up the road for £12.50 with the 2 fore 1 vouchers, excellent value and top notch staff and course condition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed with 7 friends in mid-August for a 1 night golf break. The staff were friendly and attentive, although other than checking-in, ordering food and drinks and checking-out, the majority of the time we were playing golf. The drinks were reasonably priced for hotel close to the M25. In the evening we had bar food which was acceptable although not outstanding. Breakfast was included within our package and was of a high standard served in a buffet style.
We had a room close to the bar which was noisy the following morning when bottles were being emptied and golfers were meeting to tee off early.
The golf course was in good condition for the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna N, Manager at Gatton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks for posting your feedback - glad to her you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments on the quality of the course. I will pass this back to our green keepers have done a great job this year.
Hope to be see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
221 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
467 reviews
8.7 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
587 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatton Manor

Address: Standon Lane | Ockley, Dorking RH5 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatton Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatton Manor is a 18 bedroom hotel and golf club, set in 200 acres of tranquil woodlands, gardens, rivers and lakes, which form a championship length 18 hole golf course. The house dates back to 1728 and was the original Dowager's House of the Abinger Estate. Standards are high - we are AA 3* rated and our customers frequently comment on the first class food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton Manor Dorking, Surrey
Gatton Manor Hotel Dorking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing