We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 12 Dorking B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Found this place on Groupon didn't know it existed What a wonderful place Aaron and Kat who looked after us were lovely Our room was spacious comfortable and clean I especially enjoyed the shower The vineyard is amazing look forward to exploring more Thanks we really enjoyed our stay Cheers Marion and Phil

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion7910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed midweek as part of a Groupon bed and breakfast with wine tour and tasting. Room 3 front left.

The first thing I noticed as we entered the room was the massive stain on the ceiling and the wall paper was lifting off the wall. This was of course due to the chimney leaking water into the room which was now all wrapped in heavy tarpaulin. The room was very basic and felt uncared for unlike the other rooms which are shown online to have nice coloured painted feature walls with nice ornaments and bottles of Denbies wines on the shelves. The carpet appeared not to have been hoovered as I found a variety of dead insects, food and bits on the carpet as shown in the photos. The wallpaper by the windows was missing in several places. The reading light over the desk was not working and there was no information about the free wi-fi code in the welcome book in the room.

There is a varied selection of coffee, tea, juice sachets and biscuits. However one blackcurrant sachets had been drunk already and the glass was still dirty with the blackcurrant stain! Really!!!

The bed was very small and very uncomfortable and pillows were lumpy. It made an annoying noise every time we moved.

Things did not improve in the bathroom with the flooring feeling dirty, dangerously cracked tile with an exposed, serrated edge at the side of the bath. The nasty toilet cleaner holder was unhygienic, looking rusty and horrid.

I did not sleep well at all and due to this was not refreshed the following day. The breakfast selection was good.

The overall experience was exhausting and disappointing. To award 4 stars for this establishment is a joke. I recommend you look at what 4 star accommodation does look like. Everything here is very dated and unkept with little/no attention to detail. Cannot understand where all the good reviews have come from.

Room Tip: Would not recommend.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a groupon deal. The owners were friendly. when we got into our room we quickly noticed there was a moldy half eaten pot of pate on the window sill! How we noticed it within minutes but the person that cleaned the room before had not noticed it is beyond me!
The amenities are good, good selection of shampoo, conditioner etc. There is also a good selection of coffee, tea and juice sachets. However one of the juice sachets had been drunk already and the empty packet placed back into the cup! Again this went unnoticed!
The worst thing about our stay was the bed, it was very small for a double, very uncomfortable, it made a terrible noise every time we moved. The pillows were lumpy and all different, and the duvet was very very thick and way too big for the bed.
It was one of the worst nights sleep we both had! The next day I had awful back ache from the bed. At the end of the day this is a bed and breakfast, and if the bed isn't great, it kind of defeats the purpose!
The breakfast in the morning was served in a lovely room and the tables were made up nicely. We both had a cooked breakfast, I'm a veggie so I could only have the mushroom, beans and tomato (I don't eat egg). I was disappointed to see there was no veggie option offered such as veggie sausages.
My fiancè had a full English. We both agreed the breakfast was nice but the portions were quite small and we were left feeling still hungry afterwards!
All in all the bed and breakfast is in a stunning location and is very tranquil, the staff were friendly, and the facilities were clean. However more attention to detail is needed, and going home from your weekend away feeling exhausted is not exactly what you want from your mini break!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank billiet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a wonderful B&B! It has great facilities, staff and wonderful breakfast. You couldn't ask for more. We have stayed here more than once and all of the rooms are well appointed and have the same facilities. The beds are very comfortable (everyone has their own bed preference). Some people have commented in the past about the place not having a Bar, a Lounge or serving evening meals - it is a traditional B&B therefore there will be no Bar, Lounge or evening meals. This takes nothing away from the place, it is wonderful and the manager Paul already goes above and beyond in quality of service! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a lovely stay here :-) rooms we're clean and staff were very helpful and welcoming. The only thing missing is somewhere to sit downstairs in the evening or afternoon just for a coffee or a drink. Also found beds uncomfortable for my liking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here as part of a Groupon deal. What a fantastic 22hrs.
We arrived at 12.45 on Sunday 2nd Feb. A very nice gentleman(sorry I forgot your name) greeted us and took us through the check in process. You're given 2 keys, one for your room the other for the front door. Unfortunately I hadn't printed my voucher, no problem I just had to email it to them.

We were in Room 6. This is a very spacious room with 3 aspects so great views all round. There was a double a single and what we think was a sofa bed in the room. There is a small selection of books a TV for entertainment. Individual radiator control which was very helpful. The complimentary refreshments tray was very well stocked. Tea, coffee, still and sparkling water, juice sachets and a selection of biscuits. There is a plug socket next to the bed which is an annoyance in some major chain hotels.
The bathroom was more than adequate in size with a built in hairdryer. The nickables (amenities) were very nice as were the towels.

The piece de resistance was breakfast in the conservatory. Individual teapots, filter coffee, 3 juices, fruit pieces, cereal, toast, continental or full English. The full English consisted of a locally sourced sausage, 2 rashers of locally sourced bacon, grilled tomato half, mushrooms egg either poached scrambled or fried finally beans on request.

Dorking town centre is a very easy 15-20 minute walk, less if you go during daylight using a shortcut across the vineyard.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone in the area even if you're not into wines.

The two fellas (apologies for not remembering your names) who run the place were very friendly and accommodating making the whole experience a great pleasure.

Room Tip: Im not sure about the other rooms but room 6 was excellent for its size and views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTPsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I always stay at Denbies whilst visiting Pfizer on business. I love the warm and friendly (and safe) welcome that I always get. Great wifi, beautiful beds and linen,amazing breakfasts. I absolutely detest the corporate welcome and indifference of the other hotel venues in the area, that also charge 3 times the price. Denbies is a breath of fresh air, a really high quality place to stay. There are always really thoughtful extras in your room. Really nice toiletries,lots of tea/squash/biscuits Read less
Likes:
For business,there is a big desk & good light,plenty of plug points.Breakfast is prepared from locally sourced items & cooked to order & enjoyed with free papers & great views over the vineyard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstClassLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorking
0.7 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
3.7 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Dorking
Travelodge Dorking
#6 of 8 in Dorking
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation

Address: Bradley Lane, Dorking RH5 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a 4 Star Rating and situated on England's largest vineyard, Denbies Farmhouse B&B offers a uniquely peaceful setting for overnight business trips, short stays and relaxing breaks in the Surrey Hills area of 'Outstanding Natural Beauty'. Our spacious, non-smoking en-suite rooms have flat screen TV, hospitality tray, hairdryer and trouser press. The conservatory Breakfast Room has spectacular far-reaching views over the surrounding vineyard. Enjoy a complementary Full English Breakfast with fresh farm eggs from the Estate, local butcher's sausages and other fresh local produce when available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denbies Farmhouse Hotel Dorking
Denbies Farmhouse Accommodation Dorking, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing