We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Callum Peacock”
Review of The British Raj

The British Raj
Ranked #36 of 122 Restaurants in Dorking
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Orderd curry for my mum's birthday. And in the special requests section I asked if they could put a little something nice in as it was her birthday and they put in a nice selection of tikka bites samosas and bajhis. Really nice surprise and the meal was lovely. Many thanks

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Callum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

We went on a quiet mid week evening, just before Happy Hour ended. We both had very nice meals, great service, very cheap - £10.95 for a main meal.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigel727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Don't judge a book by looking at the cover - and don't judge this restaurant by its rather austere exterior. The food is excellent,

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

With friends and family we have been having takeaways and eating in in the restaurant over several years. The family run business offers great service and really good food. The dishes are beautifully prepared and adjusted to your tastes - you only have to ask. It is all cooked to order and consistently good. The welcome from the staff and the comfortable seating makes it a pleasure to dine in whilst the fast delivery service of the takeaway is excellent for a night in. Well done all at The British Raj!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oldorwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

The British Raj is a Family run restaurant adjacent/ in house to the fine Surrey Hills Hotel in Beare Green near Dorking on the A24 Horsham Road. I have again recently experienced ,I must say without any doubts the finest Indian Cuisine in the UK. The very comfortable surroundings , The warm polite welcoming and professional service of Adam ( The Owner) Cody ( his Wife) Costi and Adam (Jr) .all the chef's and Bar Staff are to be credited with 100% perfection. I noticed other reviews 'winged' about delivery's poor service. Those reviewers obviously are oblivious to how difficult it can be to please everyone all of the time . From my delivered experience as with in-house the ''Team'' at the British Raj it is always 100% with FOOD,Service etc . You are missing out on a ' HIDDEN GEM' in the Surrey Countryside.
P.s Half Price on Sunday's including Take Away

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The British Raj also viewed

 

Been to The British Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing