We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch supreme”
Review of The Running Horses

The Running Horses
Ranked #9 of 107 Restaurants in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The pub's menu focuses on traditional, rustic British food, The kitchen is open serving lunch and dinner using local and seasonal ingredients where possible. Food can be enjoyed in the former restaurant area of the pub, but since the makeover, we like to think of it as an extension of the bar now. There is also a new bar menu too, which changes daily, offering a quick bite to eat or snack throughout the day.
Claygate Surrey England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch supreme”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Visited this pub - wide variety of ales, very good atmosphere. Had a superbly cooked Sunday Lunch with a wide variety of choices on the menu. Service was very good but faded by the time the sweet was served due to volume of diners after 1 pm. Recommend you visit at 12.30 and you will be served without delay. There were parking issues with limited street side parking but the village is very narrow - again would recommend early visit to secure a place. Booking advisable because the restaurant was full by 1.15. Three course lunch with gourmet food for three including tip for under £100.00 represented very good value for us in this upmarket area. More a grown ups venue really.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    65
    28
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A varibale experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went to the Running Horses on the recommendation of a local, of many years standing whose suggestions are generally pretty reliable.
It's in a nice spot but the first thing we didn't bargain for was parking or the lack of it (there is no pub car park).
So getting parked easily could be an issue for some.
It has a good reputation for Ales which I have reason to suspect isn't the case but on this occasion we opted for wine.
The inside of the Pub is full of an old style charm which we liked.
The Pub wasn't that busy and although there is the "posh" food in the restaurant it still looked quite quiet.
Therefore we were a bit taken aback when told we'd have to wait at least 20 minutes for some pretty standard Bar Food.
When the food duly arrived it was of a reasonably good quality but when we came to pay, we thought, for what we'd we had, it was quite expensive for what it was.
I am told that the food in the main restaurant is extremely good, but expensive, but if it's well prepared and tastes good that's not unreasonable.
We left feeling slightly disappointed by this experience and would we go back in a shot, probably not.
It definitely has much going for it but I sensed that this issue of having to wait for Bar Food is not unusual which when you want bar food is missing an important point.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Strange set up - Not what we expected”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped here for a Saturday lunch whilst passing through the area. Saw the pub in the Good Pub Guide and thought it would be worth a try. Nice location, but not a very exciting venue. On arrival we spotted the bar menu and were pleased to hear food was served until 3pm. We ordered our food and drinks at the bar and then took a seat. The pub was quite busy, but nobody else in the bar seemed to be eating, however we could see separate restaurant area with white table cloths through a doorway. It wasn't clear how this linked in with the bar and if the same menu was available. We were not asked if we would like to eat in there. Strangely the bar staff were wearing formal white shirts with either bow ties or ties, giving a strange ambience in a country pub. Food for a number of tables suddenly came out of the kitchen at one time, including our meals. The sausage and mash was good, but the bubble and squeak dish a little over complicated and not what I had expected. Very little atmosphere in the pub, with a couple of loud groups drowning out everyone else. Nothing actually wrong here, just a weird experience and we were glad to leave. The pub had signs up saying it had won food awards in 2013 and 2014, but I don't think we will be returning and certainly wouldn't want to recommend it to others. A shame as we had high hopes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotelAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointingly rubbish”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having called and checked whether the venue was suitable/set up for kids we arrived to find no kids menu. Not as great start.

I made the wrong decision and ordered the pork roast, really dry and the chef had kindly drowned it in apple sauce rather than giving me a side so I could decide how much apple was required, and the roast potatoes appeared to have been prepared sometime in advance. Apparently the roast beef was very good though. My chocolate brownie was more like a cookie it was so solid. So the food was not great.

To be fair we actually had a nice time catching up with friends and the restaurant wasn't that busy, not terribly surprising in hindsight, so it wasn't too noisy and we had plenty of space.

Sadly the most annoying and worst was yet to come. The bill included a % discretionary tip as is usually the case. With two families paying we cut it up and despite the experience paid the tip. Clearly our maths isn't as good as we think and a waitress kindly informed us as we were leaving that we were 49p short from covering the entire bill.

Can I suggest to management that they educate their staff in the English use of the word discretionary, make their roast potatoes fresh and generally improve the quality of your food.

Finally, the venue is trying to act as a silver service type establishment - white tablecloths etc. It clearly is not, you need the quality of service and food to make this. I would suggest going back to your roots and being a good boozer offering quality food.

Will not be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Poor Mother's Day Lunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The whole experience could only be rated as poor. The staff were not attentive and one wonders whether they had received proper training on customer service. Please do not order the whitebait or the soup which was far too thick. Beef was very average and the vegetables had not been properly cooked. Decided to miss out on the desert. And it took forever to get the bill. Will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Running Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Running Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing