We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality at Torlundy House!”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My son & I recently booked 3 nights stay at Torlundy House while on a winter climbing trip to Ben Nevis, just outside Fort William thsi February. We arrived late, but our host, Michael, gave us a warm welcome, and provided refreshments as soon as we stepped through the door. All of the facilitites and room/bathroom were of a very high standard, modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable - more akin to a hotel than what you would expect from a B&B. Lots of little extras (free Wifi, in room TV, coffee/tea making facilities, large separate sitting/reading area, etc. The breakfast room had a great view of Ben Nevis, and the breakfast offered excellent choice and quality of food - again cooked & presented to a high standard. Good parking facilities. Torlundy was very convenient for access to local outdoor activities - skiing, walking, climbing, canoeing and mountain biking. Also only a short distance from Fort William, shops and a wide range of restaurants and shops.
The key differentiator though is alway about the personalised service and friendliness of the B&B owners. Michael went out of his way to be helpful and made us feel very welcome at all times. He was knowledgeable about the local area, activitivies available and enthusiastic to ensure we had everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again in future, and would warmly recommend Torlundy House to other potential visitors to the area. P.S. I left my mobile phone charging cable in one of the draws. Michael found it and immediately posted it, first class, back to our home!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torlundytrip, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Mark L, thank you for your review. I am pleased that the weather was OK for you and that you managed to get to the top of the Ben, and go back the next day do some ice climbing. I have to say that we do aim to offer a quality akin to a good hotel, but in a bed and breakfast. It is nice to know we are getting there. We are also very lucky to be in a rural situation but only a few miles from everything that Fort William has to offer. I hope you will manage to get up here again one day in the future, I will certainly look forward to you staying with us again. Very best regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

It was our first visit to Fort William and after a 7 hour journey from Cheshire, we were warmly welcomed by Michael, the owner, who offered us refreshments in the lovely guest lounge. My husband, who had mentioned his food allergies in advance, was delighted to find that Michael had provided gluten-free fruit cake to accommodate his special diet. Our room was quiet, spacious and spotless with mineral water and good quality tea and coffee facilities provided. We enjoyed a fantastic view of Ben Nevis from the dining room and the breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with excellent cafetiere coffee and gluten-free bread for my husband was really delicious and beautifully presented. We also enjoyed chatting with Michael and the other friendly guests. On Michael's recommendation we had an excellent evening meal at the Lochy Bar and Restaurant just outside Fort William. All in all I have to say our stay at Torlundy House was perfect and I can thoroughly recommend it and hope we can return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobb1ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Only too pleased to help with your husband's dietry needs Gobb1ns. Thank you for telling me when you made your reservation, it did give me a chance to get a few extra things in for him.

I am really glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay, and of course found our recommendations for eating places OK.

I look forward to seeing you again, it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again when you are up this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Visiting Fort William? Well, you will not find better guest house accommodation than Torlundy House!
Set in the shadow of Ben Nevis (viewed every morning from the breakfast room) Torlundy House is outstanding in terms of the quality of the bedrooms, their furnishings and fittings, and the attentive nature of Michael, the owner, who clearly has a passion for providing the highest standard of B&B accommodation.
On arrival we were shown our room which, along with the other bedrooms, has just recently been refurbished and then a cafetierre of fresh coffee and biscuits was waiting for us in the large, comfortable lounge that is kindly set aside for guests to use.
Another nice touch, breakfast is served at 7.45am for early starters or 8.30am for a more sedate start to the day. Try the speciality of scrambled egg with smoked salmon as a change from bacon and eggs etc.
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was quite sad to leave, knowing that we would be very lucky to find that our next B&B was of an equal standard.

Room Tip: Each room is of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millside_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Great to have such a kind review of Torlundy House, thank you Millside_Baker. I am very please you enjoyed your stay with us. It is even more important to us that you enjoyed your stay as it was at an "out of season" time. Some people find that low season offers little for them to do, however I know you found it different. There is always plenty to see here in the Highlands.

We have found the split breakfast times very popular with guests often varying their time according to what they want to do for the day. look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was my first accomodation on the East Highland Way and though I had just over 4 miles to walk in from Fort William, it was a wet journey so I was in need of drying out when I arrived @ Torlundy house. There was a place for my muddy boots & my jacket was whisked away to dry out. My room was spotless, providing even still & sparkling mineral water as well as excellent toiletry supplies - indeed all one needs for a very comfortable stay. I also have some special dietary needs which I had been in touch about before my visit & the response was over above the call of duty - very pleased & impressed! All was quite perfect for me & I'm sorry I was only there for one night. A great start to my adventure - I can thoroughly recommend this B&B for cleanliness, general helpfulness & excellent facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

I am so pleased you managed the East Highland Way Mary S. It is not exactly one of the easy walking routes as it is pretty wild, well done. I am glad we were able to get you off to a great start. All the very best for the future and many more good walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here with my parents in september. Couldn't have had a better start of our holiday. Very nice house with a reception room for guests. Upon arrival we were offered coffee/tea and cakes :-) Our rooms were spacious and clean. Both the rooms and bathrooms are finished to a high standard. Breakfast was very, very good. Michael, our host, was very helpful in answering any question we had. We will definately go back when we're in Scotland the next time and I can recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: The Nevis Range Gondola is only a few (app. 15) minutes drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

LiWo, great to have such compliments from a Senoir Contributor. I am just pleased we are up to the mark for you as a seasoned traveller. Look forward to you coming back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Our 3 night stay at Torlundy House was wonderful...Michael, our host, made us feel welcome as soon as we walked in the door. Our room was very clean and our bed was so comfortable! Michael"s attention to detail was everywhere...he is definitely an innkeeper who likes what he is doing. The breakfasts were excellently prepared and served. Come morning, the view from our room was just beautiful and come evening, it was easy to sleep like a baby as it was so nice and quiet. Michael was also very helpful with information about the area. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Toni B, thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, you travelled a long distance to enjoy a holiday in Scotland and we are proud to have help you enjoy your time over here. The views are still there and changing daily at the moment as the autumn colours progress, wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I highly recommend the Torlundy Guest House! The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent. The owner's advice about the area was very useful. It had a calm and cosy feel and will not hesitate to stay there again when I return in the near future. The area is a very special place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhouse, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Sarah, Jayne P, we look forward to welcoming you back at Torlundy House when you are able to get to the area again. You are so right, the area is a very special place. Thank you for your comments. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
578 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#17 of 21 in Fort William
26 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range: £85 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing