We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Week”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were welcomed with a warm drink and biscuits and cake. Michael then gave us a potted guide to the area, and recommended places to visit for our evening meals. His choices were superb. Our room was excellent. Everything about it found favour. We enjoyed very comfortable nights, and woke to excellent breakfasts. The choice matched what we have been offered in five star hotels, and we were not disappointed with the taste. The breakfasts were excellent. As the week progressed we came to rely on Michael's help. There was helpful advise available on places and sites to visit, with very specific routes, so we could fully enjoy the many attractions of the area. This was our first visit to the region, we will return, and when we do, we will stay at Torlundy House.
Brian W.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Brian W, thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. I have to say it was great having you stay with us for the week, you were good company and you also made sure you got as much out of your stay as possible.

I am also pleased that you found our recommendations of all forms, both touring and eating out good. It really is our aim to help our guests enjoy their holiday. Thank you again and now that you have had a taster of the area we will look forward to seeing you back at Torlundy House again as soon as you can make it. Very best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Torlundy House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent service with very friendly host, willing to help with literally every problem you encounter (even if it is caused by your own stupidity). Best B&B I've ever been in.
The rooms are clean, the towels are like the ones you get in five star hotels. The breakfast, well, the breakfast, oh man... I still dream of that at night. The evening before you can choose your breakfast from an extended list, and at which time you want to eat it. Besides that, there is the best creamy yoghurt I ever had and fresh cut fruit and tasty cereal to go with it.
The scenic routes advised by the owner are very comprehensive and full of excellent tips, including suggestions about where to have dinner. Follow these suggestions.
This is more a five star little hotel with a very personal touch then "just" a B&B.
If I go back to the Highlands (and I certainly will) I will definitely stay here, I won't bother to look for another B&B any more.

Room Tip: I was with my cousin and we had a room each, she in the front side of the house and I overlooking th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brix68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Hello Brix68 and thank you for your great compliments about Torlundy House. I have to say it was a real pleasure having you and your cousin stay here for a few days. You were always bright and cheerful and that made having you stay here fantastic. I will hold you to your promise to come back and stay with us again. We may even have some more tour information for you.

Very best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We recently enjoyed two nights at Torlundy House and we received a very warm welcome from Michael including tea and biscuits, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, advice and local knowledge about weather, restaurants etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Michael even though we had not told him that we required Soya milk as I had a dairy intolerance,Michael went out of his way to get us some Soya milk and spread. Thanks again, Susan from Cheshire.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaH848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you Sylvia H for your review of Torlundy House. I am glad you found your time here comfortable and enjoyable. It is always a pleasure to ensure that our guests have a good time and if we can obtain the things they need that is great as well. Since it is not possible for a small guest house like ours to stock all the different things people may require for their diet it is always good to know in advance. However if we have to dash out at short notice to get them we will if we can. We can get most things, but just in case notice is always good. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Scotland skiing, which was made extra special by stopping here, the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was lovely. Overall I would recommend this B & B, and I would definately go back. Emma and James - West Midlands

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Emma J, thank you for putting your thoughts and comments here for others to see. I am very pleased your choice of Torlundy House made your skiing trip special for you, and we definitely look forward to you returning if up this way. The skiing went on a while after your weekend, but the weather has now changed and it is unlikely there will be much more so you made a good timing choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for Mine Host. All rooms are comfortable, well appointed and spotless. A wealth of information on activities and local amenties is available and the breakfast menu superb. Very happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

What an accolade, thank you. Being just a little way (3 miles) from Fort William town centre we aim to make sure there is as much information as possible available to our guests. It is good to know we are getting it right. Breakfast is special to us, it starts your day and leaves a lasting impression for the day and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights during Easter Break - base for one day of late season skiing at nearby Nevis Range and a spot of sightseeing. We were made to feel very welcome by Michael (tea and cake on arrival) who was also very helpful in giving guidance on local things to do and places to eat. Room was clean, spacious and very well presented although mattress was a bit firmer than our preference. Good selection for breakfast with cooked breakfast being one of the best I have had for a long time. Overall a nice stay and will have no issues about returning if back in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rr_wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your very honest review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay whilst getting in a little late season skiing. Oddly we had some more snow up there the other day!

The mattress is a new one for this season so as it is early in the year it has not had much time to settle in, my apologies. We tend to err on the side of firmer mattresses as that has proved to be most popular in the past, however I fully take your point. Next time you come to stay with us book the other double room, that one is a little softer. Mattresses are something we do change on a fairly regular basis to try and avoid sagging as well as we can.

I am also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast, it is a feature at Torlundy House we are quite proud of and gets us many good comments. We look forward to seeing you again when you can get up this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I recently enjoyed two nights at Torlundy House where my friends and I received a very warm welcome from Michael including coffee and cakes, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, advice and local knowledge about weather, restaurants etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Michael even though we had booked the wrong dates, and on our second day he made arrangements for us to arrive back very late, very cold and wet after a day winter climbing on Ben Nevis. Just what we needed! Thanks again, Pete.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Great, Peter L, I am glad your stay with us was good. I am also pleased that you managed to get so much done, what with skiing and climbing and only a 2 night stay. We are never more pleased than when guests enjoy their stay and their time in the area. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. All the best, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
982 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range: £83 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing