We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, best bed and breakfasti fortwilliam by far”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay, best bed and breakfasti fortwilliam by far”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

On arrival the owner micheal made myself and my partner eileen very welcome. since our last visit under the old owners, micheal has refurbed and what a pleasant surprise the rooms were imaculate and very comfy and homely.the food was Exelent and the choice would put a lot of bigger hotels to shame a must for anyone planning a stay in or very close to fort william

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugwash716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Pugwash716, I am really pleased you like what we have done since taking over Torlundy House. It was a lot of work but has bought the house into the modern day.

Food is an important part of what we do, it has to set you up for the day, and we try to vary some of the breakfast items so that those who stay a few nights see something different. Just depends on what we can get hold of that is nice and fresh. Let's hope you can come back again at some point in the future. Thank you for telling others of your experience. All best wishes, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
152
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Torlundy House was our base in the Ft William area. Michael is a GREAT host and very accommodating. Wonderful sitting room with tea and cakes on arrival. Nice room. No tub, but the shower was very adequate for our needs. Great views. Tasty breakfast. Heat was turned on upon request for those of us who weren't used to cool evenings. Wifi was included for no extra fee and available during normal "waking" hours. Michael even did a load of laundry for us for a very reasonable charge which was great since we were away from home for 3 weeks. We would highly recommend staying at Torlundy House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hello Janet C, thank you for your praise of Torlundy House. It is always good to hear comments so that we can adjust where necessary. We only have one room with a bath and that was booked out by another guest, sorry. When you arrived it was a little chilly, I appreciate you are from warmer climes so it is good we can turn the heat on for those that want it and not waste fuel where others do not want it.

We are very proud of our views, some people criticise our location, and we can only think that they would prefer to stay in town, but then they would not have the wonderful views of the UK's highest mountain, Ben Nevis as it cannot be seen from most Fort William town B&Bs.

I am also pleased we were able to help with other things for you to allow you to get the most from your short time here. Kind regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When we arrived we were offered coffee and biscuits and Michael the owner was so welcoming.He was helpful suggesting various points of interest about the area.
The room was very comfortable and spacious, the en suite even had a bath. The beds were very comfortable.The house was spotless clean and the service was second to none.There was an excellent selection for breakfast which was cooked by Michael .I feel that now we have found such a little gem we will definitely return. Many thanks for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: They are all good we had room 5 which had a bath in the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb1093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Jb1093 thank you for your generous review. Having you both stay here for a few days was a real pleasure. It is always good to know what people think of us and that they want to return if passing this way.

Afternoon tea is popular with guests at check in and it something we like to offer when we can.

I look forward to seeing you again one day. Very best regards, Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I've stayed in Torlundy house for 2 nights. Rooms are clean and fresh, bed and pillows are comfortable, bathroom is ok, wifi is stable, breakfast is really-really great and tasty, host (Michael) is very friendly, nice and communicative. Also you can find information concerning local restaurants and attractions in special book (ask Michael). What else could i desire from bb? I don't know, everything is almost ideal.

Also i liked a lot of information concerning house rools. All details that you see in this house tell you that people running this place are serious and assiduous. That's very pleasant.
The only thing i didn't like - shower (electric water heater), but that's my fobia and not BB problem :)

Good like guys!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hello ncknm, thank you for your review, a real accolade from a guest who is so well travelled and written many reviews.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am pleased you found the information in the room good and useful. I am sorry you did not like the shower. I presume you like a power shower, well maybe one day we will introduce them.

Perhaps if you come back to Scotland you will come to stay with us again, you will be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Tea and Cakes in the Garden on arrival with a cloud topped view of Ben Nevis. Terrific Room (room 2) twin beds converted to very large double for our 6 night stay from 10th to 15th June. Very, Very clean throughout, brilliant host, breakfast varied, large and excellent. One morning went out very early (6:45) and Michael prepared us a continental breakfast with milk and orange juice in flasks to keep them cold. Dried our clothes when we got wet walking.
Going back to walk Ben Nevis when its not full of charity walkers and this will definitely be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Fabulous, another guest who enjoyed the afternoon tea at check in. You were lucky the weather was lovely and warm so you could enjoy yours in the garden, and yes those views take some beating!

I am genuinely please you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to you both returning to tackle the top of Ben Nevis later in the year.

Thank you also for putting few extra pictures on the TripAdvisor entry. I look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on our way up to Skye. Couldn't have picked a more clean, friendly or quiet and convenient location. Will definitely be returning if we are in the area again. Thank you Michael for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mookeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Mookeepers, we are really happy that your stay with us was good and you found Torlundy House lived up to your expectations. You will always be welcome here so if you are coming this way again please get in touch so we can book you in. Kind regards and thanks for telling others of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you are looking for the best B&B in the West Highlands go to the Torlundy House. The breakfast is superb and the host Michael has always very good ideas how to spend your day in a very pleasant way. Not only my room but the whole Torlundy House is furthermore very clean. It is in one word FANTASTIC. Henk

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
hcv14, thank you for the great words in your review of your stay with us. It was great fun having you here for a few days and I know you did get a lot out of your stay as you were out exploring all the time. I sincerely hope that we will see you back here again sometime in the future. Breakfast is one of our specialities, it has to set you up for the day and make you feel good. Very best wishes, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
794 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 3 in Corpach
160 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Property: Torlundy House B&B
Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing