We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for skiing, peace and quiet and a warm welcome”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great base for skiing, peace and quiet and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fabulous b&b in a peaceful scenic location, close to Ben Nevis so ideal stop for skiing or walking. I chose this one based on booking.com and trip advisor reviews being top and was still wowed. The place was comfortable,friendly and spotless, my partner would say I'm obsessive with the cleaning and usually spot something, I found nothing. The breakfast was magnificent and perfectly cooked, a well run established b&b that could give some 4 star hotels and lesson in doing it well! The personal touches like spring water, and cotton buds in the room, coffee in the lounge when you arrive, all add to the experience. it was a pleasure staying and I'm sure we will return again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ln_art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you Ln_art, I will pass your cleaning praise on to my housekeeper, she will appreciate your remarks as she does take it very seriously, as do I, it really is a joint effort with both of us wanting to ensure the rooms are clean. I am also pleased our breakfast was great for you.

We are really happy you had a good stay and got some skiing in as it has been a bit of a stop start year, not because of the snow, there is loads of that stuff, but because the wind has been stopping skiing to much this year.

Again many thanks for your review of Torlundy House and we do look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
145
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Other reviews generally say it all, however, we will say it again. From our perspective, it was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Providing quality in a B&B really is simple. Torlundy House is easily the benchmark in this accommodation category in the Highlands. Rooms are spacious with modern furnishings; welcome bottles of water and some biscuits to accompany tea, coffee and hot chocolate; bathroom with heated towel rack, large fluffy towels, toiletries, tissues and even cotton buds/make-up removal patches. Not to mention that everything was immaculately clean.

All of the little touches were noticed and appreciated. As was the warm and friendly welcome and the freshly made hot drinks and snacks upon arrival and check-in. Breakfast - apart from being well organised with choice of serving time and pre-order - was freshly prepared, delicious and enjoyed from a room with an awesome view. We could go on, but all that is left to be said is that if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Fort William area, Torlundy House should be top of your list for the home-away-from-home experience.

Only thing missing for us was some honey at breakfast! And sadly when we are next planning a stay in the Fort William area it falls in the high season, and as we only need a one night stay, we will have to find somewhere else to stay (due to minimum 2 night stay). But we have left with a great nearby recommendation, so will be sure to return to the area and hopefully leave just as happy. Thanks for a wonderful, albeit brief stay. Hope to be back sometime again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 - King Room, ground floor, overlooking front garden and the mountain beyond - im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
AUSLion, thank you for the glowing review of your stay with us, I am pleased we were able to set a good standard for you and that you had everything you wanted apart from the honey! I do have some here now though.

I am sure you will get well looked after for your next visit, had it been 2 or more nights it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again, but at that busy time of year we do stick with the "2 or more nights" policy that we have been running for several years now. However I do appreciate why you only want the one night next time and I know you will enjoy the night.

It is only from 1st May to 30th September we operate the "2 or more nights" policy.

Very best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Quite easy to find just outside Fort William, Torlundy House feels like home. We had two really amazing bedrooms, nicely decorated and breakfast was all we could expect and more. Michael, the owner, was really nice and very helpful with local tips like where to eat well in the city ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
How wonderful to get a review like this as the first one of 2014. Thank you "pcuni" and I am very pleased you enjoyed your short stop over with us and that you found the rooms amazing. I have to say it was really good having you and your friends stay with us and should you come back this way again, hopefully the weather will be a bit better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had arranged a 2 night stay as a surprise for my husband's 40th birthday, with a planned walk to the summit of Ben Nevis - lucky man! Was feeling quite nervous about what our accommodation would be like, but as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by Michael, shown our clean and good sized room, and given time to relax and make that all important cuppa from a selection of provided goodies! Nice touches were the Highland Spring bottles, the topped up tea and coffee supplies and a couple of toiletries in the bathroom. The towels were beautifully soft and the bathroom was clean with a shower that was much more powerful that it looked! We enjoyed chatting to Michael about the area and listening to his advice - the point about breakfast being particularly useful! The breakfast choices looked fantastic, and my husband was desperate to have the Scottish cooked brekkie just before walking up the Ben - luckily Michael suggested the scrambled eggs with Scottish smoked salmon might be a little easier on the stomach! The breakfast was excellent and so nicely presented with great views of the Ben. The fresh fruit and yogurt was so divine I had it both mornings, but luckily my man got his full Scottish breakfast on the second morning, and it was so good that he's still talking about it...
Thanks Michael for everything, we really enjoyed ourselves, and will definitely be recommending Torlundy House to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jells F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Fantastic Jells F, really pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and especially pleased you managed to surmount Ben Nevis for hubby's 40th. Thanks for putting some photos online and emailing them to us as well so we could upload to our Facebook site. It is always good to have feedback so we know we are doing OK and so that others can see what guests think of their stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future and also your friends if they decide to come up this way. Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunter valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I apologise for the lateness of this review. We stayed at Torlundy House for three nights from 27th September. We found Torlundy House with little difficulty about 5 minutes drive outside of Fort William which is what we wanted. We were met at the door by Michael who was very welcoming and served us homemade cake and coffee in the beautifully furnished guest lounge room. He gave us a list of restaurants to look at and also a list of local attractions to see while we wound down from our long trip from Lochinver.
Our room was really lovely and well equipped. It was at the front of the house, large comfortable and stylishly furnished with a fabulously comfortable bed. We thought the ensuite was great, particularly the power shower. I don't think there is anything Michael hasn't thought of to make your stay more attractive (there is even a place to leave your dirty shoes to be cleaned in the foyer) Our breakfast was fabulous with a variety of choices, hot and cold. My husband chose the hot breakfast every morning but I preferred the porridge which was really nice. The best part of the breakfast room is walking in to be confronted by a huge picture window with a view of Ben Nevus. It really brightened your day. Michael was a great host and a wealth of knowledge about the local area. There wasn't a thing he didn't know about the local restaurants and tourist attractions. All in all I think it was the best run b&b we visited (we stayed in 10)
I would like to thank Michael for sharing his home with us and making our stay worthwhile by his helpfulness and wealth of knowledge about the local area.

Room Tip: This b&b is close to all the attractions in Fort William, reasonably priced particularly for 4 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterValleyGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Torlundy House and also the generosity of your review.

It is always a pleasure to share our home with people who are here to get the best from their time in the area. A one night stop off is never enough to experience the fantastic scenery we have, including that view from our breakfast room, so glad you enjoyed it.

Many guests tell us it is the little things that count during their stay, I am pleased we hit the spot for you.

Thank you again.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 3 night stay at Torlundy House and I'm pleased to say it was faultless. Travelled as a couple for a short break to walk Ben Nevis and enjoy some of the other activities around the area. The rooms were spotless, food was superb and the host was exceptionally helpful with the knowledge of the area. Would recommend this B&B to anyone. Torlundy House is situated just outside Fort William which is around a £8.00 taxi journey.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Clark B for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that everything was good for you both here and of course out and about. Especially pleased you managed the outdoor activities you wanted to do, especially getting up Ben Nevis.

Keep your eyes on our Facebook page in the future, another guest has sent some amazing pictures he took from the summit of the cloud inversion and I am going to post them soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just back from spending 2 nights at Torlundy House in Fort William. A wee haven. Spotlessly clean, a warm friendly welcome, in a quiet area and a delicious fresh cooked breakfast with a great choice of fresh fruit. About 3 miles north of Fort William. Well worth being out of the town

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottiesSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
ScottieBerkshire, we think we are well worth being out of town for as well. Our rural location may not appeal to everyone, but as we are only 3 miles from the centre of Fort William it is not that far and, well, you get those views you just cannot get in town.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you managed to get up the Ben, the hard way!. Look forward to seeing you again if you are up this way again, and I have a feeling you might be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Property: Torlundy House B&B
Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing