We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect B&B!”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most perfect B&B!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Don't hesitate to stay at Torlundy House! The best bit is Michael and it gets better! Superb attention to every detail has been achieved and the standard and quality of everything throughout is superb! So glad we encountered this amazing place and wish we had stayed longer!
Michael's breakfast was first rate, even the tomatoes were perfectly cooked.... and the porridge was the best!
To sit and have breakfast in the shadow of the mighty Ben Nevis was a memory for ever!
I agree with the little lady who left the following comments in the visitors book 'If there were Oscars for the best B&B Michael would certainly win it and for best porridge!
Well done Michael keep up the perfection!
(and the housebreaking...... our little joke......)

Room Tip: From the room we had I would imagine that they are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Bevets, please come and stay with us again, it was such fun having you both here. I am really pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. I have told the little lady that you agree with her about the porridge, it is good to see the young folk eating porridge.

I will try to keep up the standard, oh and by the way, the view is still there, we have had a great week of weather and there are still quite a few large snow patches up there. Best wishes, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
152
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon in April 2014. Michael was super accommodating and the rooms and house was absolutely beautiful. I was particularly impressed with how clean, new, and nice the bathroom was. I think the bathroom is where you can really see the care and age of a place, and this bathroom was sparkling! There was even a towel warmer which was a blessing since it was still pretty chilly weather (for us anyway)!

The bed was super comfy and the room itself was just very comfortable and clean. I loved it and want to bring my friends back someday. Breakfast was also super delicious! Michael cooks an amazing fried egg!

There are a bunch of pamphlets laid out at the front and he has created a notebook with a list and directions for different hikes and exploring trips in the area. We went out to Ben Nevis and hiked, and saw some beautiful mountains.

Again, we had a great time and I would highly recommend Torlundy House to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Kitkat3287, I am so pleased that we were able to provide a good stay for a few days of your honeymoon as that is a special time. We will look forward to seeing you again, and your friends if you can come over again one day. Thank you very much for your review and kind words. Very best wish for a long and happy life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
247 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having stayed at Michael's previous B&B, The Mayfield, a few years ago we knew to expect a high standard at Torlundy House and we were not disappointed.
Clean, large spacious en-suite rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities (Good brands), Alarm clock radio and TV.
Everywhere and everything is kept spotless. The residents TV lounge has games, books and lovely views of Ben Nevis.
The breakfast is 1st class. A choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt's are ready for you to help yourself to while Michael dons his chef attire to create a freshly cooked full Scottish Breakfast or porridge for you. This is pre-ordered the night before so you get exactly what you like.
We are so impressed we have booked to come back in October.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKDons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Always great to have guests stay with us again, and I am very pleased you were not disappointed with the new house. It was really good to have you stay here and we look forward to your return in October. What made it special for you was your friends from the USA staying here at the same time. A great get together. See you in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What more can we add except that we would have loved to have stayed longer than our 2 nights thanks to the comforts and hospitality that Michael gave us but sadly we had to move on.
Everything about Torlundy house, the views of big Ben Nevis from the breakfast table and the home from home atmosphere will not be forgotten.
Just a word of advise to guests, do not forget to hand in your choice from the breakfast menu as you will not want to miss it.
We hope to visit again sometime in the future, Thank you.

Gill & Dave from Chelmsford, Essex.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review Dave8456. It is always great to see that guests have had a good time, even if the stay was short. Hopefully next time, if you can come back it will be for longer.

There is something quite special about that view at breakfast, I agree. Very best wishes and thank you for taking the trouble to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I am more than happy to recommend this as a great place to stay. I can find fault with nothing at all except the very very slow internet access even for simple operations like checking emails or directions for onward travel via google maps etc. We both do need to check and respond to work emails even on leave so this was a bit irritating as it made what should be a 5 minute task into something much longer lasting or at worst impossible. Having said all that we would happily stay at Torlundy House again as everything else under Michael's control far outweighed the internet speed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we do appreciate this. I am really very pleased that your time with us was a good experience, apart from the internet access.

This is a major gripe for us as well, as it is something completely beyond our control. Our problem is BT. We are a long way from the exchange and do not have a fibre optic connection so our connection is slow. There is absolutely nothing we can do until BT upgrade us to fibre.

There is no point in us changing our provider as they all have to use the BT copper wires so we are stuck.

I am just pleased that everything else was great for you and I would love to see you back here again if you are up this way. Perhaps by then we might have a faster connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

In May 2014 we spent 3 nights @ Torlundy House and we simply loved it.
My sister and brother in law joined us so we had 2 rooms.
We were welcomed by Michael who really made us feel welcome in his beautiful house.

The rooms and bathrooms were awesome, it felt like staying in a 4* hotel.
The rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee facilities, some cookies and bottles of water. And the bathroom.....I would love to have such a bathroom at home!

Michael took care of breakfast in the morning which was delicious. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, orange juice, apple juice, milk, coffee/tea, toast and a freshly cooked breakfast with sausages, black pudding, eggs, haggis, salmon,tomatos, etc.etc.

In the living room, which we used a couple of nights, you'll find cosy chairs and a lot of books and maps which you can use to plan your days in the area.

If I should name one (only one!) thing that was not as great as the rest it would be the Wifi. No worries for us but if you need to go online, perhaps work a bit, be aware of the interent not being very fast.

Michael, thank yousfo much for the hospitlity. We simply loved staying at your B&B!

Best regards,

Erik and Thérèse/Reny

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nupke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello "nupke" and thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay with us at Torlundy House.

It is always good to hear that guests enjoy their stay here and that we provide a lot of what they are looking for.

I agree with you about the WiFi, but it is not under our control. The Wifi in the house is fast, it is the broadband connection that is slow. We are almost at the limit of broadband supply here as we are over 5km from the exchange. We are waiting for the telephone company to connect us with fibre optic, but they cannot tell us when. So there is nothing we can do. I suppose it is worse for guests visiting if they have a fast connection at home.

On the other hand staying here in a lovely rural area out of town you have all the peace and quiet and the views of the mountains to compensate.

It was great fun having you stay with us and you will be most welcome if you come back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our recent stay at Torlundy House (4 & 5 May) was absolutely fabulous. We were greeted warmly at the front door by our host Michael who made us a lovely afternoon tea of brewed coffee complete with fresh chocolate and blueberry cupcakes. Our room was spacious, clean and warm and our ensuite bathroom had all the toiletries needed for our stay. The house was very quiet overnight so we had a great sleep. Our breakfast was yummy and we sat in a lovely sunny room under the watchful eye of snowy Ben Nevis. We can highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motoloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello "Motoloons" thank you for taking the time and trouble while you are still travelling to write a review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your time with us, that you had a good sleep and breakfast. Ben Nevis is still watching us and still snowy as well! Certainly the longest into the start of summer I have seen so much snow up there.

It was great fun having you spend a couple of nights here and if you are ever back on this side of the globe and up in Scotland, come see us again. Very best wishes and regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 3 in Corpach
158 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Property: Torlundy House B&B
Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing