We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality B&B”
Review of Torlundy House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torlundy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Torlundy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality B&B”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This was my second stay at Torlundy House, and, I hope, not my last.
Everything about it is high quality, welcoming hosts, clean, comfortable well equipped rooms, a wide choice of excellent breakfasts, good parking, wifi, and a good centre for exploring the West Highlands.
This was a holiday trip, but my business means I travel widely in the UK, I have yet to find a B&B to match Torlundy House.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Jim W, many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. As you say it was your second stay, so we must be getting things right for you to come back. I am also pleased that as a seasoned B&Ber you find what we do and offer good, if not better than other places.

Have to say you were quite lucky with the weather for your filming, it has been a great summer here this year, we have all noticed it. Not always sunny but not as much rain as usual.

Hope to see you again next year. Best wishes and again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
162
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Having damaged the ligaments in my ankle two days before traveling to Fort William for, what was supposed to be a great walking holiday, I almost cancelled, but I am glad I didn't. We were met by Mike who is a wealth of knowledge and shown to our spotless room. The food was first class and the view of Ben Nevis from the Breakfast room is to die for. Although we had booked a room with a garden view we were in a room that had a view of the gravel drive at the back. I would just like to point out a couple of things to ensure that people are aware of the rules. They are:

1) Breakfast is a two set times 07:45 and 08:30 and food options and chosen time must be ordered by 22:30 the previous evening.

2) You cannot stay in the house after 10:30 and you should not plan to return before 16:00. In the words of the notice on the bedroom wall "This is a Bed and breakfast, not a hotel".

Having stayed in Self catering accommodation for the past 5 years this was a bit of a shock to the system in terms of flexibility, but regular B&Bers may not bat an eye-lid at this.

This should not, however, put you off as it is a fantastic B&B.

Room Tip: We found our room (end of the corridor on the ground floor) to be subject to noise from both the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Colin M, thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at Torlundy House. I am sorry you were a little disappointed with the view from your room. Yes it does over look a drive, but there is a terraced garden and tree lined grass bank the other side of the drive.

People who book via our own website as you did have access to the information you want to make people aware or. Our website has a full breakfast menu on it with times breakfast is served and information relating to the night before order system, a method used by most Scottish B&Bs now to save waste and get breakfast to people quickly as that is what most want so they can get on and enjoy the area. It also allows us to operate in a more sustainable, less wasteful manner and thus save costs to keep prices down. We have operated this system for 11 years now, and it works well for us and our guests.

As most B&Bs are also the owners homes and staffed by the owners with perhaps some limited outside help we do ask for guests to be out between 10am and 4pm, only 6 hours in a 24 hour day, most are out a lot longer than that exploring. This allows us to service, clean and maintain rooms, carry out any repairs etc. as quickly as possible and to the standard for which we are regularly praised on.

As you have been a self caterer for some years it might well have been different, very different types of accommodation. We have many people come to us for the first time having only used hotels, who say they would not use hotels again.

Thank you again for your comments which I am sure others will find useful, as will they my response I hope. One last thing, we accommodate up to 10 guests, and occasionally some are a little noisier than others, you get this in hotels as well in my experience, but of course in self catering you would not.

Very best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent three nights at Torlundy House and would unreservedly recommend it to anyone looking for excellent levels of hospitality and comfort.
The owner, Michael, certainly knows a great deal about good customer care, welcoming guests with a friendly smile every morning and engaging in friendly conversations. His excellent knowledge of the area made a real difference to us and his recommendations really added to our driving and hiking excursions. I had been to the area several times and thought I knew it well but we would have missed out on interesting side trips without his advice.
The accommodation is simply great, in a nice location in the countryside three miles north of Fort William. It is easy to find from the A82 but clearly a car (or taxi) is essential to enjoy the restaurants in town. The house is big and comfortable and our bedroom had everything we could wish for: excellent beds, a good shower / bath, heating at night if necessary, plenty of storage space. Michael takes a lot of pride in keeping his house immaculate and we felt happy to come back to our room every evening.
The breakfast is the best we have ever had in any B&B in the UK: the selection is unusually good, with a buffet of quality fresh fruit, cereals, pastries available. Additionally, guests have a choice between a traditional cooked breakfast or Scottish salmon with scrambled eggs. We tried both options and found them excellent!
All in all, our 3-night stay was extremely enjoyable and comfortable and we will definitely stay here again on our next stay in Fort William.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Olivier h, thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. It is very good to know that we were able to meet your expectations in so many ways, especially the breakfast as this is something we have just won an award for as we use so much local and Scottish produce.

I am also pleased that our local information and knowledge allowed you to visit places you might otherwise have missed.

It was a great pleasure having you stay with us and we will look forward to your return sometime when you can, there is plenty more for to explore and do here. Best regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the hottest weather Scotland has ever seen, a lovely quiet setting, immaculate rooms with nice extras in the way of bottled water and toiletries replenished daily. Michael the owner very friendly and with a wealth of local knowledge, even has suggested trips for you to do in a folder in the guest lounge.
Breakfasts daily were great nicely cooked with a good choice of fruit,cereal also if you didn't want cooked.
Really enjoyed our stay and if traveling back to this area would definitely book a stay here again..

Room Tip: Room 3 at front of house with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Bloomers59, yes you did pick the hottest time of the summer. It is not as hot now, much more comfortable, but that does mean we are getting a mixture of sunshine and some showers.

We think that Room 3, with the mountain view is the best, and I have to say it is generally the one that gets snapped up first.

I hope you had a good trip back home. Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Torlundy House was a real gem of a find. Our hosts, Michael and Maxean could not have made us more welcome. The house was first class - secluded, but only 3 miles from Ft William centre, spotlessly clean, and good sized room. We loved the full breakfast, but a word of warning if you order the works - you'll need the appetite of a horse :) Michael is generous with his portions! We'd not hesitate to recommend Torlundy, and it will be our first choice if we re-visit Fort William.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Bob M, thank you for taking the time to write a review here. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your short stay with us, and of course you had a great day on the steam train.

Many guests comment on the size of our rooms. It must mean that most other places have smaller rooms. Good to know ours are a little larger, especially when you stay a while.

Many of our guests are walkers so like a good breakfast, but we often manage to beat them as well!! We like to provide a good choice, and most of it local or Scottish.

Thank you again, very best wishes to you both and we look forward to seeing you again if you are up this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Torlundy House for three nights and it was wonderful!
When we arrived Michael was already expecting us and promptly we checked in and were shown our room!
The room was exceptionally clean as was everything! (this is something of the utmost importance to us and it was the cleanest place we stayed on... And we stayed in quite a few...)
We were explained how Torlundy House works, the breakfast hours and we were given the choice for what to have for breakfast... and what a great breakfast Michel prepared for us. All fresh ingredients and everything was very tasty.
The house is very quiet and also very comfortable.. It has a lovely living room where one can relax and enjoy a comfortable view over Ben Nevis!
We really felt like home and, when we return to Fort William, Torlundy House will be the only place where we will aim to stay!
It really is that good and clean and great!
A big thank you to Michael and his wife for everything!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FilipePinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
FilipePinheiro, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, I am pleased we were able to make it wonderful for you.

I am also pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts. We have just been given an award by VisitScotland for our food as we use a lot of local and Scottish produce.

I have passed on your comments about the cleanliness to our Housekeeper as this is her responsibility and she likes to know that all is well.

We both look forward to your return to Fort William and Torlundy House when you next come to Scotland.

Very best wishes to you and don't forget to find us on Facebook and like us so we can link back to your wife's website as well, her artwork is wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having stayed at Torlundy House before, I said we'd definitly go back as the experience was so good...and so we did. This time we stayed in a room at the front of the house.
You just can't do anything but love the high level of service and guest experience that Michael (our host) has set fot his guests.
When ariving we we're greeted by Michael and after having put our luggage in the room we were offered a nice cup of tea and some cookies. After a long day in the car that went down very easy.
Michael answered any questions we had about the surrounding area and offered suggestions for activities and restaurants. A big thank you Michael for making us feel so welcome and lending us your Smidge (I believe it was called) to fight off some of the midges.
The house isn't on the main road, so there's no problems with road noise. It's located about 5 minutes by car out of Ft. William and is situated in a quiet location. The room is a really nice size and the large closet easily fit all of our stuff. Most importantly for me is that the room and bathroom are really clean and well maintained (part of the high standard of quality). The beds are really comfortable (not too hard, not too soft) and trust me when I say, I'm not an easy sleeper but I slept like a baby in these beds. Normally I'm a bit worried when it comes to double/queen beds, because a lot of the time when my husband moves, I'd wake up. That fortunately was not the case with this bed.
Breakfast is fantastic. Michael is a very good cook and mackes sure your breakfast is just the way want it. Good quality products, fresh fruit salad, smoothies.... everything you need for a good start of th day. The view from the breakfast room is spectacular as you can have a good view of Ben Nevis (when not obstructed by any clouds).
The guest lounge is nicely decorated and offers a great way to relax after a day of activities. It's nice to have somewhere to sit besides the bedroom.
Overall the experiece met our (now even higher) expectations and we will definitly go back again! I can recommend this B&B to anyone and not think twice. No matter what standard of quality and service you're used to, Torlundy House will meet and surpass the expectations you mat have.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the house offers a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, LiWo, for your very enthusiastic and detailed review of your stay with us. I am pleased we were able to meet you expectations again. We try our best to do the same thing (or better/more) all the time as we have many guests who come back time and again and we do not want to disappoint. Having said that we like to treat all guests in the same way whether it is their first time with us or a return visit.

Choosing beds for guests can be difficult, as you say, not too hard and not too soft, glad we got it right for you.

On the subject of food, we do use local and Scottish foods whenever possible and as such at our recent annual quality assurance inspection by Visitscotland, apart from confirming we continue to a 4 Star establishment we have been put forward to hopefully receive the "Taste of Scotland" award. We are firm supporters of as many local businesses as possible for everything we buy, an when we can't obtain something locally, our next preferred option is to ensure it is Scottish produce before finally going further afield if we have to.

We look forward to seeing you here again at sometime in the future and trust we will continue to meet your rising expectations.

Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
0.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
551 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
954 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
694 reviews
5.2 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlundy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Property: Torlundy House B&B
Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Torlundy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torlundy House B&B Fort William

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing