We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip to Scotland!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Guides Day Tours - CLOSED

Wilderness Guides Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness Guides offer guided day and overnight canoeing trips on the beautiful lochs and rivers on the west coast of Scotland. Our guides are fully qualified with years of experience and a passion for their sport. Wilderness Guides are perfectly located at the start of the famous Great Glen trail and canoe hire and camping kit rental are also available.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to Scotland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I are avid canoeists in Canada and we thought it would be fun to get out on the water and do a day trip canoeing with Wilderness Guides (in our case to Loch Garry, which is close to where we were staying in Fort Augustus). Good decision! Chris, the co-owner, was our guide, and the canoeing, conversation and overall experience was quite enjoyable. A relatively easy paddle on flat water but a full day nonetheless with beautiful Scottish views and hardly a person in sight. We were joined by a very nice family from Cornwall that was new to the experience but did very well with Chris's guidance and through their own efforts. Their presence added a lot to the overall experience. For people who like the outdoors and want to do something a bit different and not "touristy", we highly recommend this outing with Chris.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank northernpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and a wealth of knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I rented canoes from Chris and Anita in 2013 for the Great Glen Canoe Trail and was very impressed with the level of service that went with this, which included a wealth of advice on likely conditions, the best places to camp along the route, weather forecasts and a reassuring contact if any advice was needed during the trip as well, of course, as their very good drop off and pick up service.

I have since attended a two day skills course and Chris has gone above and beyond what I would expect, with a very personal and tailored service. I have received not only excellent coaching in essential canoeing skills tailored to my paddling ambitions, but also offering great advice on boats as I am now looking to buy one, I've had such a great time!

Wilderness Guides have genuine passion for the sport and the outdoors and strike a great balance between safety and support and allowing their clients to experience the freedom and independence canoeing offers. I really couldn't recommend them highly enough.

Ian - Aberdeenshire

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect family trip out on Loch Moidart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

One adult and two children in a canoe sounded like a disaster waiting to happen but along came Chris who transformed the day into a superb family day out. His patience and manner with the children was fabulous and they had a great day, his attention to detail with tea and cake and his knowledge of the local area both with the history and natural surroundings made it a really great day for all. Loch Moidart is absolutely stunning and peaceful, long may it stay that way. Will be back for another trip for certain.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
“Fabulous day- highly recommended family day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

What an amazing day - we all thoroughly enjoyed our day with wilderness guides canoeing on loch moidart. Our 3 children now want to move to Scotland! The scenary was beautiful, we saw seals up close and had a picnic lunch (with homemade lemon cake provided!) on a beautiful white sanded beach. Our guide Chris was fantastic - friendly , fun and gave us enough instruction to give us complete novices confidence for our day canoeing on the loch. Would wholeheartedly recommend this as a great family day out and the perfect way to see some of the spectacular scenary Scotland has to offer. Finished the day with a fab meal in the Ben Nevis inn too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lehussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic day!! Worth the trip to Scotland in itself.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Where to start!! As novices Chris made us feel confident and safe whilst being knowledgeable in canoeing and the local area, interesting and great company for the day. The weather wasn't all that great but didn't hamper spirits, Chris choosing a place to canoe that was still going to give us scenery and suitable for our ability.

The lunch stop was great, Tea very welcome, Anita's cookies amazing and we got to see an Otter and some Seals which made battling through the wind even more worthwhile.

If you only have a day in Scotland spend it with these guys, any age or ability they will be more than accommodating and find something suitable for you to have a great day out I can guarantee.

I have ideas of trying to get the other half to go on one of their week long trips next....lets see how that goes. Thanks Chris, can't compliment you guys enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EveandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilderness Guides Day Tours also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing