We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to say..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acacia Villas Guest House
Ranked #14 of 21 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The building was collapsing.. At 60 quids per night I would at least expect a tidy room.. Rubbish from the previous tenants, a toilet full of hair and the WC was just dirty..
Would not recommend to someone else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nikos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having read the good reviews for this B&B on TripAdvisor I was disappointed with our visit and can only assume it was maybe just that room (1).

Upsides : a very central and convenient location and a very welcoming and helpful landlady. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very quiet, there were adjustable wooden shutters on the windows which meant no light disruption in the morning - we slept well. The facilities were good and the room was clearn with attractive, if a little tired decor.
Not keen going to a cafe for breakfast but I must say the breakfast was excellent.

Down sides: The room was very small and lacked attention to detail e.g. there was a screw in the door to allow it to be pulled to when going out - a practical solution that (call my fussy) didn't do much for first impressions. The ensuite shower room appeared clean overall and attractively fitted out but although the fittings looked relatively recent there were clear limescale marks all over the chome.

As I said, given the other rave reviews, I can only assume Room 1 is a work in progress and at £60 the room was not expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C4R0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely rooms, recently renovated, and GREAT bathroom. Very clean, and the owner Sue couldn't be more helpful and lovely! We stayed for three nights, and the service was superb. And, it' only a 10 minute walk to city center! There's a great breakfast cafe just across the road where you can get a full english, and which gives great value for money! We had a great stay, really enjoyed it, and we would absolutely 100 % recommend you, if you're going to Guildford, to stay at Acacia Villas Guest House!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmelieEdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Conveniently located for the town centre, the room has the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in at a hotel. Everything is there one needs for a comfortable stay, tv, coffee making facilities and a good hot shower.

And the landlady Sue is very friendly and a real diamond.

Thoroughly recommended since the local Travelodge is too noisy and not one of the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having just stayed at Acacia Villas for two nights I would just like to say how nice I found it and how convenient for the town centre. The room I had was clean and fresh with ensuite and flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee and loads of it. The owner was so friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough. She even ran me to the wedding I was there for. Although still a little work in progress, in the main it has been refurbished throughout and I would thoroughly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netti1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on business have to say I was very pleased with the accommodation. Clean comfy room room and the owner was very hospitable and couldn't do enough to help. Also a very handy location for the town centre. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with my stay here and wish I was brave enough to ask for a refund. The woman who owns it was friendly enough, but the rooms are just so awful. I had to share a bathroom with 2 noisy guys in the room next to mine, who started watching a film very loudly at 11pm. Breakfast was not included, but was an optional extra from the caf across the road. All that could be forgiven though if it wasn't for the fact that it was just so dirty :( There was dirt everywhere - from the bedding and the towels, to the floors, sinks and shower. It was like it hadn't been cleaned for a couple of weeks, and reminded me of my student place. I've attached photos as proof. That's not what you'd expect from a well-reviewed guest house. I would never go back again and write this so you can feel better informed than I did when I booked.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lilyplants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.2 mi away
Atkinsons Guest House
Atkinsons Guest House
#13 of 21 in Guildford
33 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hurtwood Hotel Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#4 of 11 in Guildford
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
413 reviews
2.7 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#5 of 11 in Guildford
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Villas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Villas Guest House

Address: 29 Woodbridge Road | Acacia Villas Is a Small B+B in a Three Story Town House in Guildford Town Centre, It's Ideal for Business Or Pleasure, Long Or Short Stays Welcome, Guildford GU1 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned B&B in centre of Guildford ideal for short stays whether it's business or pleasure ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia Villas Guest House Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing