We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a drink and meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Drummond Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Visited this pub after 30 years for a trip down memory lane. After a tour of the city we needed some refreshment. A drink and several appetizers were quite tasty. There is a nice patio in the back which was nice on a warm summers day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerJazz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We ate here twice in quick succession - which says something about the place. Both times the food was pretty good. Not 'gastro' by any means, but certainly a cut above standard pub fare (fayre??) Very handy for the walks in and around the Surrey Hills. I am sure we will be back. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food is wholesome and filling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Guildford has many pubs to choose from, and the Drummond Arms is lovely. Nicely decorated, with a good range of beers and ciders on tap, and never a chav to be seen!

The prices are typical Guildford, hence only 4 stars, but dont let that put you off. The staff seem very nice, especially 'Little Barmaid' who is really friendly.

Food is well made, and perfect pub grub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestobike1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I recently stayed here whilst visiting Guildford.The hotel is an authentic old inn with a few modern extensions.My room was in the annex part.The bed was really,really comfortable,bathroom was huge,power shower brilliant,if any fault it would be heating too warm but hey i can live with that in middle of winter.The pub itself was very clean,beer spot on(if a little expensive?).Whilst i was there i witnessed an angler selling his days catch of rainbow trout to the kitchen....can't get fresher than that!!Staff were very helpful and courteous,all in all i'd reccomend it but be warned,Albury itself is basically just a street.Unless you like quiet walks and fishing,there's very little to do.

Room Tip: try for main building as annex involves very short walk but not good in rain/snow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I took 10 cyclists here for Sunday lunch today and it was a treat. We ended up being fortunate enough to choose a 'hog roast' day and it was absolutely delicious. We arrived at 10 ish to start our ride and the hog was already slowly turning over the oak fire (gave a beautiful smoky oak flavour to the meat), the very friendly manager (?) told us it had been on since 5 am. The service was very good indeed, the staff friendly and smiling and the décor and ambiance excellent. We will definitely be back. Book on a Sunday as it was packed. I can't say about the hotel facilities but I would give it a go based on the restaurant experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothlorienlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Could not fault the Drummond arms at all. Stayed in room 6 and it was clean, spacious, cosy and comfy. We arrived at 6pm and was greeted by a welcoming lady who showed us to our room and made sure we were happy. We had a dinner and a few drinks, dinner was lovely and excellent value for money, a bottle of wine a starter to share, mains and a pudding £48! We took a drive into a town called Ripley which I would recommend, a few pubs, little shops and beautiful curry resturant.

Our stay at the Drummond Arms was 100% perfect and we will be returning in summer 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

the restaurant and breakfast area was stunning, a blend of traditional and contemporary styling creates a relaxing atmosphere, then when the food arrives with excellent presentation and service, the taste finishes it off, with good local ales to help wash it down.
The accommadation all finished to a high spec, with spacious rooms, tv and all the norm.
A highly recomended trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
598 reviews
3.2 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,953 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
6.2 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drummond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drummond Arms Hotel

Address: The Street | Albury, Guildford GU5 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drummond Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Drummond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drummond Arms Hotel Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing