We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly , cosy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Drummond Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose this as it was close to my brothers . We paid £150 for two nights b and b in a double room . Even as you walk in it just feels warm , friendly and cosy. There was a friendly greeting . All the staff were friendly throughout our stay. There are wood beams and log fires , just loved it .The room was just as warm and inviting and comfortable . .There was tv and kettle etc . The bathroom was quite large , the shower a bit of a challenge but was fine . The floor sloped which was bizarre but added to the character. The one down side is that the room overlooked a busy road which was a bit noisy but thats the worst thing and not a problem
There was a small stream at the bottom of the beer garden which made sitting out a pleasant experience even at the end of October at 10pm
The food was lovely , breakfast was fresh cooked and quite tasty . You ate this in the conservatory overlooking the garden . Again a pleasant experience. We had an evening meal once in the restaurant .All seven of us enjoyed all the food served and at a reasonable price . There is a board in the bar telling you which of the local traders supplied which food , a nice touch. Even some of the wine is locally produced and went down well . Have i mentioned the traditional hand pulled ales , they are nice as well
All in all its not perfect but it goes a bloody long way towards it , loved the two days we were there and will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I had lunch here a couple of weeks ago on the recommendation of a friend. We are very pleased that we tried it, the menu was good and the food excellent, as indeed was the service.
I would imagine that the ambience will be even better when there are log fires burning in the restaurant during the winter months.
My wife and I are going to take the family here for Christmas,let's hope that they enjoy it as much as we did.
Highly recommended,give it a try!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TorchyPyrford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Drummond Arms the other night as a nice close hotel to Dunsfold Aerodrome for a track day at the Top Gear Test Track the next morning. When we arrived, I walked into the front door of the pub & immediately thought it looked like a nice place! A large area, with the restaurant a couple of steps down to the left & the bar / comfy seating area to the right. I told a staff member behind the bar that I had a room booked & she immediately went over to the computer & booked us in & gave me the key, showed me the room & explained about the restaurant & breakfast room.
The room was quite basic & not newly decorated, but actually had a very homely feel. Usual amenities there, tea coffee & hot chocolate, decent size TV on the wall & a very comfy bed with 4 very good pillows - not the big fluffy ones that when you lie on they try to suffocate you!!!
The bathroom was quite quirky having a floor that sloped down about 6-8" good job we weren't drunk!! :) in some other reviews on here the noisy toilets & showers are mentioned. This will be the saniflo unit. Granted, a bit noisy but not the end of the world!
We went down for an evening meal in the restaurant & I have to say, the Steak & Ale pie was one if the best I have ever had! Wonderfully tender chunks of steak that just fell apart in a lovely rich gravy. The mash (or chips) choice was a good one too, with a small dish of peas to complete a lovely meal. Too full for dessert I'm sorry to say, as they looked good too!
Breakfast was a nicely laid back affair too, with full English served, nicely cooked too.
We found all the staff very helpful & friendly & would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzicman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stay overnight in room 2 on 20th July. We were made very welcome. Sat in the lovely garden with stream and had best ever Rarebit for lunch. The restaurant was popular and the food was good quality. Could not fault the service. We slept well on a very comfortable bed, there was some music and laughter from the bar below but not disturbing. The room is well equipted although it does need a lick of paint, it is not shabby. There was an intermittent smell from the mascerator in the bathroom. The owner thanked us for telling him as he was not aware of it.
Full English breakfast was average but plentiful. This would be a great place if you are a fisherman as there are plenty of fisheries around and an angling shop next door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjaxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Visited this pub after 30 years for a trip down memory lane. After a tour of the city we needed some refreshment. A drink and several appetizers were quite tasty. There is a nice patio in the back which was nice on a warm summers day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerJazz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We ate here twice in quick succession - which says something about the place. Both times the food was pretty good. Not 'gastro' by any means, but certainly a cut above standard pub fare (fayre??) Very handy for the walks in and around the Surrey Hills. I am sure we will be back. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food is wholesome and filling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Guildford has many pubs to choose from, and the Drummond Arms is lovely. Nicely decorated, with a good range of beers and ciders on tap, and never a chav to be seen!

The prices are typical Guildford, hence only 4 stars, but dont let that put you off. The staff seem very nice, especially 'Little Barmaid' who is really friendly.

Food is well made, and perfect pub grub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestobike1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hurtwood Hotel Bed & Breakfast
3.2 mi away
The Albany
The Albany
#18 of 22 in Guildford
59 reviews
3.6 mi away
Atkinsons Guest House
Atkinsons Guest House
#12 of 22 in Guildford
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drummond Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drummond Arms Hotel

Address: The Street | Albury, Guildford GU5 9AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Drummond Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Drummond Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drummond Arms Hotel Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing