We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rubbish food and awful service”
Review of The Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Albany
Ranked #18 of 24 Guildford B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rubbish food and awful service”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Albany in Guildford, claims its kid friendly, well I would dispute that.
Decor itselfs is nice, but the service was almost non-existent at times. Since it's supposed to be gastropub, I would have expected table service but each time we had to go to the bar to get the attention of the waitress as she seemed to prefer to chat with the locals then to take orders for food, give the bill or finally to payment. It wasn't even busy and judging by the food which promptly arrived, I can see why.

Room Tip: Stay away, select another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberts5667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveyH2, Owner at The Albany, responded to this review, 15 October 2016
Dear Roberts5667

Thank you for your review and sorry you had a poor experience in 2012. Since then (it is now 2016), we have changed a lot. We are not only very child-friendly, but also dog-friendly so want to encourage all of the family to come. Sasha and her team work really hard to provide a personalised service so I hope that if you returned today, you would have an altogether different time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
4
24
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife and I booked the Albany, Guildford, through their website in February, 2011 for two nights.
Their website is hosted by Eviivo.
This review was removed by Eviivo, at the request of the Albany, as being inappropriate.
More on this at the end...

The accommodation is reached by a stair outside the main building.
We were immediately put off by the brown stains on the stair carpet, the stains on the floor and the tiny teeth marks in the soap.
The sheets and towels were clean, and we’d paid, so we stayed.
We had a tasty meal in the pub below, served by very pleasant staff.
By the end of the meal, the band had started, and we left.
We returned some time after ten, knowing that the band stopped at eleven.
They continued after eleven, and then were replaced with loud music till after twelve. The noise died down by about one.
Sleep at last? No. The heating system played the beat from the band all night!
Breakfast is mini cereal packs and a pastry, and is provided in the room.

Returning on Sunday at about five, we found the room tidy, but cleared of all catering facilities except tea bags. Not even any cups to drink the tea from.
The kind bar staff gave us a cup of coffee and said they would replenish the room supplies soon.
We went out for the evening, returning at about eleven.
The pub was closed and the cupboard was still bare, with no-one around to ask about breakfast.
At least it was quiet, for a while. Then the heating system started again.
We’d just got used to that noise when, in the early hours, someone tried to get into our room, trying different keys as well as brute force.
Fortunately, they didn’t get in and disappeared into the morning mist.
We breakfasted on tea then packed our bags.
The pub was still locked up, but as we left, a car arrived, carrying a man with a big bunch of keys. He unlocked the front door, so I followed him in.
I think he said he owned the place. We told him our tale of woe, finally saying we were off to find breakfast.
He asked us if we’d paid, then with a flourish, produced a ten pound note towards our breakfast elsewhere. With that final insult we laughed, took it and left.

I emailed Eviivo, asking why my review, and some others I thought I'd read, had disappeared from the site. Their reply is below. They have not contacted me since.

"Our review system allows properties to flag reviews they consider inappropriate. We then check them and following certain criteria (such as bad language) we will take a decision on whether to reinstate the review or delete it. The review you wrote with subject “Good, popular pub with pleasant staff and poor, neglected accommodation and bad service for guests” has been flagged by The Albany and it’s currently being checked by our team. Please note that this system aims to be fair for both parties, our guest and properties."

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fingal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

East Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Booked and pre-paid via Eviio five days prior to arrival. On arrival at 1945hrs, staff had no knowledge of reservation and requested we wait, whilst room was made up.
When my wife and I were shown to room, it was only was made up for one person, even though I was with wife at arrival. Staff then stated the reservation was only for one person - Incorrect !!
No heating in room and had to ask staff to turn on central heating.
During night between midnight and 0700hrs, the central heating was turned off making the room extremely cold, especially as only summer quilts on bed and outside temperature at or near freezing.
No heating in bathroom.
No staff available in morning, pub all locked up, to make representations to.
Wrote letter to manager day following departure, but no reply recieved.
Stay here at your own risk, take thermal underwear and your own form of heating

Helpful?
1 Thank dixon1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
701 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany

Property: The Albany
Address: 80 Sydenham Road, Guildford GU1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albany Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing