We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country pub - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bulls Head

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bulls Head
Ranked #75 of 282 Restaurants in Guildford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Country pub - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Was staying at East Horsley and researched nearby pubs to visit and came across the good reviews for this one on Trip Advisor so gave it a whirl and was glad that we did!

Visited on Good Friday evening and the pub was busy but not overly packed. A good atmosphere and selection of ales on offer and very friendly staff.

Although not overly extensive the menu has some excellent choices of proper pub food (none of this gastro pub 'braised swan's neck in duck spit jus' rubbish) plus a specials board at very reasonable prices.

Shared a starter of the breaded prawns and chili dip which was good and then both had the Chicken pie for main, which is a proper home-made shortcrust pastry pie. Served piping hot on a warmed plate with great chips and veg and smashing gravy; it hit the spot!

Shared a lemon tart for dessert which was delicious. The total bill was £37 which was absolutely cracking value considering that we also had three and a half pints of bitter plus a gin & tonic.

Will definitely return as and when we find ourselves in this neck of the woods and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Shame it's not our local!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gomshall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proper Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This an old fashioned pub with a very warm and cosy feeling to it and great staff who are friendly and efficient. The food is real food, not of the 'plastic type' that you find in other establishments. It is home cooked and of the highest standard and at a sensible price. A great place to enjoy a fantastic meal with your partner or friends in peace without lots of loud background music affording the opportunity to talk without shouting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebonygundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Home Cooking , Best in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The food in this pub is certainly the Best Pub Grub in the area !!!!
With friends we have been eating here regularly and the food is always to the highest standard !
Anyone wanting a great meal and a great beer would be well worth calling in

10/10

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb, friendly and not over-priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch on 2 February 2014. Very olde worlde and cosy and spotlessly clean. The service was friendly and efficient. The menu published on the internet seems a little limited but they have a specials board also with a very good number of choices. Two of us had the Lamb Henry with roast potatoes and veg. The lamb fell off the bone and was mouth watering. The roast potatoes were some of the best I've ever tasted. My husband had one of the pies and also said that that was delicious. The last of our party of four had the fish cakes which I think she found to be perfectly fine but, being a vegetarian, she would have liked a bit more to choose from. (there was another fish dish - salmon I believe - but that had sold out by the time we ordered. I was the only one to have pudding and choose the butterscotch pie which was superb. I particularly liked it because it wasn't made with really sickly sweet, crumbly pastry that you so often get - that would have been too much with the butterscotch filling. Will definitely return, especially as everything was very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visited today 29/12/13 for a birthday lunch with a range of ages from 20 months to 85 years young. Excellent service, excellent food all plates cleared. Food all hot and plentiful, all fresh produce used, excellent value for money. Food clearly made with love. Return regularly and never disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bulls Head also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing