We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guildford
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Better than average Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

You pretty much know what you're going to get with the Holiday Inn brand, but in Guildford, Surrey, you're going to get a better deal than you expected. This is because the hotel was originally part of the more upmarket (but now defunct) Forte Crest brand. It then became a Posthouse and finally a Holiday Inn.

The origins of the hotel, in terms of its pretentions to be more upmarket, can be seen in the lobby where you are greeted with an impressive illuminated "stained glass" ceiling. There is also a very well equipped fitness centre/spa.

Originally there was a separate higher end restaurant in addition to the cafe-style restaurant adjacent to the hotel lobby. The high-restaurant no longer exists and the room is used for other purposes. The remaining cafe is "ok" - but nothing special.

The rooms have always been - and remain - fairly basic ... even in Forte Crest days. But there is a good variety of options in terms of bed arrangements and the rooms have all the basic amenities that you would expect, and are usually clean, in good repair, and comfortable enough. The decor is a little "stark", but ok!

The staff are usually very friendly and professional - I've almost always been impressed with the quality of the front desk team.

The hotel rates here are rarely "cheap" but Guildford never is. Its "dormitory" proximity to London (approx 30 minutes from Guildford to London Waterloo by rail) makes it a great tourist location for those wanting to explore London and the Southeast.

There are good boutique hotel options in the area, but if you want a known quantity, the Holiday Inn Guildford is a pretty safe bet.

Note: There is free and plentiful on-site car parking and you are close to a very large supermarket (just the other side of the roundabout outside the hotel). The only downside is that without a GPS, some drivers may be a little confused finding the entrance for the first time, or then getting back onto the main A3 (which is actually VERY close and logical if you take your time and look out for either the London or Portsmouth signs which take you in opposite directions).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much taking the time and trouble to write a very comprehensive review of the hotel further to your recent stay with us. I have to say your knowledge on the history of the hotel is most impressive! We certainly value guest feedback to enable us to improve our facilities and the services we offer. I will share your review with my team and thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    290
    149
    32
    21
See reviews for
181
150
33
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed for 4 nights over a long weekend. Check in was swift and trouble free, staff very welcoming and helpful.

Our room was on level 2 which is actually the ground floor as the hotel is of long flat design with rooms above and below ground level. I don’t think there were any lifts but as it was only 3 floors probably not necessary.

The room was fine, kingsize bed with sofabed for our little one, on arrival the sofa bed wasn’t made up and there were insufficient towels for 3 of us, but I mentioned it to the reception staff on route to dinner and by the time we finished it was all sorted. Flat screen tv was good and had a range of channels including kids CBBC etc.

We used the restaurant for breakfast everyday (included) and dinner on 2 occasions. Breakfast was the usual fare of full English and cereal etc. It was all well presented and tidy and plenty of staff on hand. We didn’t find any trouble getting a table and it didn’t seem that busy, but we did tend to go a little later than most people. With only one exception the staff were really pleasant and helpful, getting anything you needed and topping up coffee etc. (one young man did need to revisit charm school mind, his idea of snapping at guests and ‘when I have time’ attitude and nearly taking my sons head off when speeding past with a loaded tray was very much the exception). The hot food was very nice, very hot, something some hotels seem to struggle with and a fair range of options. Dinner choice was fairly good and changed during our 4 days, not sure the frequency of this, but it meant a changing menu. Price was reasonable, although like most hotels bar prices were high (£7.50 for a large glass of wine)

In the reception area there are some children’s toys and this was handy to keep kids occupied and happy. There was also plenty of seating in the bar / reception area with good wifi connection (charge).

The pool and gym (Spirit) centre was very good. The 2 times we used the pool, it was fairly quiet and only a few people in the pool / changing rooms.

Car parking is free and there is plenty of it. Journey time to Guildford is only 10 mins, even round the one way system and if you need the university it is right need door (likewise the Cathedral). Access to the motorway and A3 is also really easy and you don’t have to go via the town centre, so quicker to get out of town.

Summary
Good – Staff (mostly!), location
Bad – Bar prices

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseeker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I will cetainly share your comments with my team. My Restuarant Manager will be following up on your comment with regards to the one member of staff but thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Good location for business, free parking, free health club, with good facilities..good pool, sauna & steam room
Hotel is very typical Holiday Inn style ... a bit sterile.
Unfortunately it is overpriced for what you get ...but there are few hotels near by so prices stay high.

If you are a member of Priority Club and get an upgrade room the refurbished superior rooms are good...standard rooms are dated.

Check-in staff are usually quite helpful, but restaurant staff are not up to the mark, almost all staff are non-British, but that is typical in Holiday Inns.

Food at this hotel is awful, the breakfast items are very poor quality everything is fried and sodden with fat.
The sausages & bacon are the worst I have ever come across in an hotel – other than a Holiday Inn Express.
The price for breakfast is also very expensive, if it were 50% less it would be struggling to be worth it.
Dinner is also very disappointing, poor choice, and way over priced.
For example they have a weekly curry night, and you could get a far better curry in any of the local curry house for at least 50% less, and far better quality.
In general the restaurant is way too expensive for below average food, sand poor service.

A better tip (assuming you can’t get out to eat) ... eat at the bar, the bar snacks are not bad ... and reasonable value .... better than restaurant.
Warning though drink prices at bar are expensive .. as are most Hotels, just be aware.

Also another warning ... internet access ........ it’s VERY expensive, both hourly or 24Hr ... rate is way too high.
Unfortunately there is also zero mobile phone signal in most of the Hotel (at least on Vodafone or Orange ) so you might need to be off-line for the night.

The plus point of hotel is it's location for business users either at University or Cathedral Hill, science park.
It is close & convenient for those places – it is a fair distance from town, you need a car to get there, or a pricey taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dog_Spheroids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a very comprehensive review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am always pleased to receive guest feedback as it enables me to review and improve the facilities that we offer. I will be sharing your comments with my team however I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the food and drink experience in the hotel restuarant. Please do get in touch when you are next planning to stay in Guildford as we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our food and beverage offering.

Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Have stayed here several times when on business in Guildford. Its just what you'd expect - no surprises. Food can be dodgy in the evenings, the bar is expensive, the spa is quite good and the rooms are as you'd expect. Overall no real grumbles.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymollyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We are always looking at ways to improve our facilities and our services. Please do get in touch next time you are in the hotel as I would welcome the opportunity to get further feedback from you regarding our food offering. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very comfortable stay with very welcoming staff and excellent spacious well decorated rooms. Would recommend to a friend. Free hot drinks in rooms, ability to pay for a wide range of other food and drinks from an automated charging system.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in January. I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here as part of a function - although the actual function took place elsewhere the hotel were great - they kept the bar open late for us, put extra staff on the desk when we were going to be checking in and were generaly just really helpful.
The rooms are really spacious with proper bathrooms (not those cubicle things) and the showers actually work rather than dribble.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was delighted to read your feedback and pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff which I will share with them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Standing (nee Garnett)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is located just off the town centre in a lovely area full of greenery. Staff are very efficient and courteous. Room was very comfortable with a large LCD screen and crystal-clear TV channels (cable) and radio. Really lovely surroundings. Very safe. A 5 min walk from frequent buses into town or the research park. 7-24Tesco just 5mins away. Very good breakfast. And a nice pool. What more could I want?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrekwentFlajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review, it is much appreciated. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Kind regards
Jane Standing (nee Garnett)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guildford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guildford

Property: Holiday Inn Guildford
Address: Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guildford 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Guildford, a modern full-service hotel, close to Guildford Town Centre and only 29 miles from London with easy access via the M25/ A3 and by train. The hotel is located near the Guildford Business Parks & FIVE Exhibition Centre . The hotel offers 168 air conditioned bedrooms including accessible (4) & family rooms. The hotel has high speed internet access available throughout and WIFI in the public areas. Stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford hotel & enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner in the Restaurant or have a 'light bite' in our Bar/Lounge. Kids eat, Stay free!* Holiday Inn Guildford is a Legoland hotel , and also close to other local attractions such as Chessington World of Adventures, Thorpe Park & Wisley Gardens. The Academy Conference Centre at the hotel is a leading Meetings venue in Guildford offering superb meeting rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates with extensive on-site car parking available. The hotel is also a premier Wedding venue in Guildford, Surrey. 'Spirit' at Holiday Inn Guildford is an excellent fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool, fitness studio and gym with a wide range of Beauty treatments available. *Terms & Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Guildford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guildford Hotel Guildford
Guildford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guildford Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing