We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Guildford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guildford
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Not the most modern rooms, but clean and well furnished, all the amenities. The staff were so helpful,I stayed with a large group of friends and the staff on reception were so fantastic ordering taxis for twenty odd people, checking theatre times. In the bar which is hugely over priced, Chloe the bar person was a star putting up with us moving chairs and tables so that we could all sit together. Whilst Suprasun our delightfully waiter in the dining room was very attentive. Whilst I name but a few the staff could not be faulted. If there is one criticism then it is the extortionate cost of wifi, £16 a day cannot be justified, when every other hotel charges a couple of quid or its free!

The hotel is quite large and was pretty full whilst we were there but really peaceful, slept really well. Would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rae V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Rae V,
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Guildford. The team and I were all so pleased to read your review especially Chloe and Suprasun who you gave a special mention. I will ensure to pass your feedback to our Head Office with regards to the price of internet. As of July, internet access is free to all Elite IHG Rewards Club members and from 2014 will be free to all IHG Rewards club members.
I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    269
    143
    30
    15
See reviews for
160
143
32
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was on a business trip and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. I have to say I was pleased mostly by the staff. The hotel itself is ok and it is good value for money but I do like to stress on the fact that I found very refreshing one of the employees who is Bulgarian (sorry, I cannot seem to remember the name). I had a good ol' chat with the chap about traveling, high-end engineering and I'm always pleased to meet people with broad knowledge who aim higher. I must say it is rare. This is all what makes life interesting and my stay even better. It is not only about your room and your quietness when you travel. It is about WHO you meet and how it impacts your life in general.

Anyway, very pleased with the hotel and with that chap in particular.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear James S,
Thank you for your 5 star review! I was glad to read you were pleased with the hotel. It is also motivating for members of the team to receive positive feedback about the levels of service that they have delivered. I have shared your feedback with Ivaylo who served you during your stay along with the remainder of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just had a 3 night stay at this.hotel and loved every second of it. Everything from the free (yes free) parking through to the free milk and home made cookies made this stay so lovely. The reception staff are some of the friendliest and helpful I've ever come across, as were the restaurant guys. Breakfast was very good, as was the meal on our first night (£50 all in for a family of 4, with the kids being 3 courses and the food being excellent, wasn't too bad we think). We ate out on our second and third nights, choosing to bring food back to our room, which wasn't a problem when we asked. The baristas serving the Starbucks need a special mention as the quality of the coffee we had was mindblowing. All in all, a brilliant hotel, perfectly positioned for all those wanting trips to chessington and Thorpe park, or anyone wanting a quality hotel break at anytime....thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Drewhop,
Thank you for your 5 star review! Your review is definitely one we were all pleased to read. Your kind words and feedback with regards to the team have all been passed on as it is something they can all be proud of.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a Chessington world of adventures deal. When we booked in we were greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff, he gave our children 2 princess activity packs which the kids loved. Once checked in we had a bit of a walk to our room (bit of a pain but got used to it). Once we got to our room we were pleased with the cleanliness and décor. After unpacking we visited the swimming pool which was very welcoming after a long drive, we also made good use of the steam room, sauna plus spa. After the swim the hotel had put on cookies and milk for the kids which was a nice touch. We decided to go out for dinner as the hotel prices were a bit steep, £11.95 for a club sandwich etc. Once back we settled down for the night , the wife and kids fell asleep and I started to watch the TV only to discover how thin the walls and ceiling were. it appeared a herd of elephants had moved in above us. It seemed to settle down around 11ish. Next morning we headed off for breakfast which I have to say was very good, choices from cooked breakfast to continental with fresh fruit with Greek yoghurt as well as make your own pancakes. After reading the free paper we set off to chessington which is not to far away. So in summery this is a great Hotel for families with good amenities friendly staff and a good location for chessington only let down by a bit of noise at night and price of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Damian D,
Thank you for the time taken to review us on Tripadvisor. Feedback of all kinds in incredibly important to us and as we strive to constantly improve. The positive gives us an opportunity to praise the team and the room to improve areas give us clear direction from a customer’s point of view. Food prices are set centrally by our Head Office however, I will pass your feedback onto them. With regards to noise, I am in the process of reviewing this.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we were visiting chessington world of adventures. Check in was slow, no platinum quick in area, around 5 people in front. Check in was nice as the children were given activity packs abd invited to have cookies and milk in the bad between 5-8 pm. Once checked in we went to make dinner resignations (check in at 3pm), but informed that they were booked up until 9pm (we have very small children) we did eat from the main menu while sat in the bar, however the children chose the children's Buffett which was at the bottom of the dining area, they had to walk past lots of couples dining, not just my children, but 4 or 5 families who had just checked in sat eating in the bar as the children came and went to the Buffett! The staff all very accommodating though.
Sleeping was bad, the room upstairs was very noisy and you can hear your neighbour ... Our children got to sleep before some adults night time activities started in the room above - all not very nice!!
Breakfast was equally as hectic as the evening meal, not enough space for the residents, however the staff were professional, happy and plesent, despite chaos!
Overall a nice place, book a meal time ahead of check ing in. Ask for a quiet room, lovely for those with children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extratowelsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Vicky J,
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a review further to your stay at the hotel.
Glad to hear that overall you had a nice stay despite a few issues. I can offer no excuse only my sincere apologies for the obvious annoyance this caused you. I have noted your comments and passed them onto the relevant departmental managers for their review.
We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Rooms adequate for working and relaxing. Quiet location for sleeping, restaurant fine but bar pricey. Overall a good night's sleep with friendly service. Did not try the pool but colleagues have enjoyed these facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Simon W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the hotel. I'm glad to read you had a good night's sleep with us. With regards to our bar pricing, this is set centrally by our Head Office. I will pass your feedback onto them to review. It's a shame you didn't get a chance to use our pool facilities. I hope you get a chance if you stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The rooms here are clean and well maintained - although not especially modern...

Be careful of corner rooms that look into each other...

Breakfast is a great buffet and the bar food and service is hard too criticise - but it kind of lacks "atmosphere"...

I really HATE the "security coat hangers" - I mean c'mon... I trust you with my credit card details and looking after me for the night and you don't even trust me with your coat hangers....

Room Tip: Try to avoid a corner room which seem to be overlooked by other corner rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheTropicsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear LoveTheTropicsSydney,
Thank you for your positive review and I'm glad to read you had a good stay at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the coat hangers. We will take your feedback and pass this onto our Head Office for when they review the brand standards of our bedrooms.
We are glad you enjoyed our award-winning breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nick Aristodemou
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
2.8 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guildford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guildford

Property: Holiday Inn Guildford
Address: Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guildford 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Guildford, a modern full-service hotel, close to Guildford Town Centre and only 29 miles from London with easy access via the M25/ A3 and by train. The hotel is located near the Guildford Business Parks & FIVE Exhibition Centre . The hotel offers 168 air conditioned bedrooms including accessible (4) & family rooms. The hotel has high speed internet access available throughout and WIFI in the public areas. Stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford hotel & enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner in the Restaurant or have a 'light bite' in our Bar/Lounge. Kids eat, Stay free!* Holiday Inn Guildford is a Legoland hotel , and also close to other local attractions such as Chessington World of Adventures, Thorpe Park & Wisley Gardens. The Academy Conference Centre at the hotel is a leading Meetings venue in Guildford offering superb meeting rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates with extensive on-site car parking available. The hotel is also a premier Wedding venue in Guildford, Surrey. 'Spirit' at Holiday Inn Guildford is an excellent fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool, fitness studio and gym with a wide range of Beauty treatments available. *Terms & Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Guildford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guildford Hotel Guildford
Guildford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guildford Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing