We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...Average...Arrogant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angel Posting House and Livery
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Have stayed here alot recently on business. Have to say that the hotel has so much potential...owners and management are definitely missing a trick or two.
Customer Service could be improved upon...we should be made to feel that nothing is too much trouble...I really feel the complete opposite.
Rooms are dated especially the bathrooms..Refurb rooms are OK but showers have no pressure at all.WiFi is a joke...no signal in alot of the rooms...good signal in the lobby...a signal booster is needed.
Tapas Bar is lovely...great bar and ambience. Disappointing food finishes at 8pm especially when some of us on business work late.
Room service would be an excellent addition.
Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy at night...no double or secondary glazing. Some windows do not shut properly. Young lads shouting alot and delivery drivers turning up at 11.30pm - 2.30pm to deliver to Boots etc...

Apart from all of this the location is fantastic for town, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Angel Posting House and Livery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Angel Posting House is a beautifully English hotel, fantastic to look at and steeped in history. Our room was named after a previous guest, Charles Dickens, and was very comfortable with a huge bathroom.

We were really pleased to be staying there...until it came to breakfast, which left us hugely disappointed and confused about how such a lovely (and not cheap) hotel could get it so wrong.

Continental breakfast was included in the room rate, but when we came down (mid-way through service), there was very little left on offer: no croissants, almost empty jugs of juice with no glasses, about three limp slices of ham and cheese...

So we decided to pay a few pounds extra for the Full English. After ten minutes, the waiter/manager (not sure who he was as no-one really seemed to be in charge) came over to say that they had run out of sausages and bacon. Unbelievable! We asked whether we could at least have eggs and mushrooms, but he seemed to want to charge us for a Full English. We decided to stick to the Continental, and requested some croissants. They never materialised. Our Continental breakfast comprised of toast.

Other guests seemed as surprised and disappointed as us. The solution is simple: prepare more food and have someone in charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rits25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed several nights within the same room on 2 different occasions (had a damaged ceiling) and on the latest occasion suggested to the staff (at the point of checking in) that my expectation was to have a reduced rate when I checked out - this did not happen and on the contrary i was summarily told 'you booked to stay the rest of the hotels in Guildford are fully booked so you will have to pay the price quoted'. There was NO acknowledgement of the failing within the hotel (including the fact that at breakfast there was NO indication that a cooked option was available OR that staff were available to serve tea and coffee in a timely manner). In summary the service from reception is superficial until you challenge charges when the true arrogance, lack of flexibility, acknowledgement of failings and lack of appropriate compensation comes to the fore.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bwanakuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We had a room only deal in a "deluxe suite" (£80 per night instead of £180 per night) our room was the "Emma Sclater" on the first floor.
The room was comfortable and it was lovely to have a separate lounge and bedroom with a TV in each room, the bed was massive (super king sized) but there were lots of MINUS points and if I'd paid the full price I would have been seriously unhappy and complained and asked to be moved to another room.
Other reviews mentioned modernised rooms, ours certainly was not - it was old, sad, tired and in need of decoration and modernisation, the bedroom curtains were tatty and the linings didn't sit on the rail making it difficult to close them tightly, the net curtains in all of the rooms looked old and dull.
The main problem for me was the bathroom. There was a bath with hand-held shower and a separate shower cubicle but the whole bathroom was very antique looking - and not in a good way!
I was unable to use the shower as I couldn't fully open or shut the door, it seemed to be jammed on it's ancient fittings so I used the hand held shower in the bath, I misdirected the shower and managed to spray water on the floor and wall, I wiped it down with the bath mat, when I looked at the bath mat it was covered with a sandy coloured dust.
There were PLUS points about the hotel though, we paid extra (£9.95 per person) for a full english breakfast and it was first rate, the staff who dealt with us were all friendly and helpful, particularly Charlotte on reception and the location of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: As for a room that's been modernised
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

There are some hotels that frustrate because if they just focussed on a few tiny details they would be goldmines. This is a hotel in a good location (if 'yoof' noisy at weekends); has a number of refurbished rooms of a high standard (though not all); great cleanliness; and has history. All good, but then you get to service. It is not rude so much as a bit distant and very slow. Breakfast is adequate but you had better not be in a rush in the morning. Noone seems to know when the wine bar is or isn't open. They are willing to help but it lacks urgency and a bit of zest. I would stay here again as frankly the alternatives in central Guildford are much worse but a bit more of a push and this could be fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

beautifully refurbished inn located in the heart of Guildford, walking distance to the train station, restaurants, shops, clean, nicely decorated room, roomy clean bathroom, very helpful staff, more restaurant services to come

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Looking at the other reviews I had good expectations. When I arrived there was on one on reception for around 15 mins. I noticed that the reception staff also had to do the table service and cook the breakfasts in the morning which is absolutly ridulious. The rooms are old and dated looking, despite a 'refurbishent' , the food portions are small and over priced, the service is slow, and i even seen one waitress answering their mobile phone which is linked to the main phone line., speaking about a reservation, so unprofessional. I feel sorry for them! Its overpriced and of average quality. 2 stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money ..
Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank goldie255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjsshake, Owner at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Goldie,

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear about your experience with us. There is not much that I can say other than that unfortunately the weekend that you stayed we had a serious reduction in staff due to unexpected illnesses which made our situation very difficult. The 2/5 members that managed to come in therefore had to cope with a considerably higher workload than is the norm.
I do hope that you will give us another try as this is not how we usually operate.

Best Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Posting House and Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Posting House and Livery

Address: 91 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: £106 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angel Posting House and Livery 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Posting House is a a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Guildford which has been tastefully styled to encompass the best of British opulance from days-gone-by. Each bedroom lends itself a distinct personality from the next. Our rooms are named after past patrons including; Jane Austin, Oliver Cromwell, Nelson and Lord Byron to name but a few. Offering free wifi, complimentary newspapers and full room service, The Angel Posting House is perfect for a weekend retreat, business users and a family stop-over.The newest addition to Angel Gate is the restaurant, the latest evolution of the hotel's rich history, which brings in a new era of unsurpassed quality dining. Serving a select menu of in-season produce, the food is prepared with passion and care, respecting classic dishes while incorporating recent dining fashions. Our select menu is complemented by our extensive wine list, and staff are on hand to help choose the perfect partner for your chosen dish.Angel's Bar is always on hand as a place to relax and take in the 800yr old surroundings whilst enjoying a bottle of wine, beers from around the world or even a cocktail or two!Whether you're looking for a weekend retreat, a top quality meal, or a meeting place for social occasion, The Angel Posting House is here to offer you our warmest hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Angel Posting House and Livery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Posting House And Livery Hotel Guildford
Angel Posting Hotel And Livery
Angel Posting House And Livery Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing