We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angel Posting House and Livery
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Very central hotel on high street,next to train station, restaurants, shops and pubs.Fantastic stay, amazing rooms,friendly accommodating staff,would highly recommend!
Bills restaurant next door serve great food and have the best of staff, Thanks!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xcolx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    137
    70
    42
    34
See reviews for
51
174
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a former resident of the Guildford area since 1953, absolutely amazed and disappointed at how the 'Angel Hotel' has fallen behind the times. My 4 night stay in a 'Junior Suite' was not what I expected. The reception was manned by the only person on duty, who duly obliged by taking my case up several flights of stairs to what appeared to be the 'attic' and while opening my room door, answered a call to reception and asked the caller to ring back later as he was with a client!
No mini-bar - just a small bottle of water and a glass, details on the hotel's history, but no menus or useful information on breakfast, services or dining.
Water pressure for the taps abysmal, bath and 'power' shower even worse, with just a trickle of water from each.
When I complained to the German receptionist, he informed me that '" it was old plumbing pipes" and when I said that a pump was obviously needed,he replied that they had tried that but the pumps kept breaking. I requested an early morning paper and was told that "they didn't do this" and was directed to WH Smith in the High Street.
When I asked what time breakfast was served and where, he told me he wasn't sure, as this was provided by the "franchised restaurant - "BILL'S" - within the hotel, despite being told that breakfast was included in the room rate, it was not.
I breakfasted there each morning from a good menu selection, if a bit pricey - £15 for an orange juice and cooked breakfast, but the service and food was good.
The double bed in my room was comfortable, although the room overlooks the adjacent courtyard and I was awoken at 06.00 each morning with the 'empties' being deposited by Bill's staff from the night before and privy to their loud conversations.
The badly stained furniture in my room and the inadequate bathroom facilities, plus the poor, non-existent service led to my poor rating and I will definitely spend my money elsewhere in future.
Alex Polizzi eat your heart out!!
TGT - 31.07.2013.

Room Tip: Don't book a Junior Suite or any rooms on the top floor - or find somewhere else to shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Located right in the heart of Guildford, this hotel is full of charm. Given a warm welcome, a lovely room that was really well appointed and ideal for exploring Guildford. A very warm day and night was helped by the provision of a fan in the bedroom to keep cool and the large bath sheets were soft and fluffy. Separate bath and shower was good too. Plenty of hot water as well. No noise heard at night despite being right in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had a lovely stay in this hotel. I stayed 2 nights. My brother, parents and son stayed one night. Lovely rooms. Huge. Decor slightly tired but the charm made up for this. Shower in my room 219 had awful seal round it. And quite mouldy some of which could have been cleaned off but my concern was in the gap in the sealing which could lead to damp problems. I brought this up with the person on the reception desk so hope he will take this forward.
Ate in Bill's restaurant which was lovely. Good food and customer service. They were very late with our salads but didn't charge us so I went back the next night alone and was well looked after.
This is a good hotel and although it needs some redecoration I think it's quirkiness makes up for it.

I would go again if ever in Guildford.

It was really hot when we arrived and we were provided with a great fan to cool things down.

Room Tip: I was in 219 very good large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjulie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Needed a centrally located hotel in Guilford and I'm not a fan of modern hotels or chains so the Angel looked interesting. Read some reviews and it seemed to have some less favourable ones a few months/years ago but were now much better so instead of booking online I decided to do it over the phone so I could get a feel for customer service. The staff couldn't of been more helpful so I went ahead and booked. When I arrived at the hotel the excellent service continued and did so throughout my stay. My room was very comfortable and clean, the bed was superb, I slept like a baby. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black Dog C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having spend many a childhood holiday in Guildford visiting my Grandma when it came to a special family reunion there last weekend I decided to book rooms at the Angel Posting House. Its position on the High Street, its unusual frontage and its historical contribution to the town have always made it somewhere I wished to visit.
I have to say I was not disappointed. The booking and reception process was organised and welcoming and we were able to book the rooms we hoped for.
Of course the interior of the hotel reflected the history of the place, with uneven floors and low doorways but, for me, this added to the charm of the place, I loved the oak panelling and the antique furniture.We booked three suites including a junior suite and all three were well decorated with nice facilities for relaxing.
There were basic tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water. These probably did not reflect the cost of the rooms but as we used the coffee bar within the hotel, for us, this was not an issue.
My one complaint was that I used the lovely roll top bath on our first night and the brass shower head then left a staining in the bath which was not cleaned the next day, and we were not provided with freshly laundered towels until we asked for them. Not an issue when staying in a "Travelodge" style room but the room rate should have provided for this small luxury on our special weekend.
Breakfast was not included but we ate at Bills Restaurant which is located within the hotel and were very impressed with the quality of the menu and the service.
I would stay again if I had the money!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back were nice and quiet. We stayed in Jane Austin and William Pitt and Francis Scu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh22W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Well located for central Guildford town and restaurants. Courteous and helpful reception staff, but they had no record of my booking on the hotel's own website the previous day - just as well I printed the confirmation! The bed linen was clean and bed comfortable, which the chairs weren't. It's basic, no choices in the in-room tea/coffee and no tissues provided. Wi-fi is included. The water flow for the shower is abysmally slow so don't expect a quick freshen up, they really need a water pump if the pressure is that low. There's no restaurant, but you can cut through to the cafe next door, it's menu is like a pretend American diner, probably fine as long as you don't want choice or healthy eating, but don't judge the hotel on that, it's a separate business. Overall the hotel is ok if you're looking for something basic, cheap and cheerful and don't mind that its not actually cheap!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDC1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Posting House and Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Posting House and Livery

Property: Angel Posting House and Livery
Address: 91 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angel Posting House and Livery 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Posting House is a a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Guildford which has been tastefully styled to encompass the best of British opulance from days-gone-by. Each bedroom lends itself a distinct personality from the next. Our rooms are named after past patrons including; Jane Austin, Oliver Cromwell, Nelson and Lord Byron to name but a few. Offering free wifi, complimentary newspapers and full room service, The Angel Posting House is perfect for a weekend retreat, business users and a family stop-over.The newest addition to Angel Gate is the restaurant, the latest evolution of the hotel's rich history, which brings in a new era of unsurpassed quality dining. Serving a select menu of in-season produce, the food is prepared with passion and care, respecting classic dishes while incorporating recent dining fashions. Our select menu is complemented by our extensive wine list, and staff are on hand to help choose the perfect partner for your chosen dish.Angel's Bar is always on hand as a place to relax and take in the 800yr old surroundings whilst enjoying a bottle of wine, beers from around the world or even a cocktail or two!Whether you're looking for a weekend retreat, a top quality meal, or a meeting place for social occasion, The Angel Posting House is here to offer you our warmest hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Angel Posting House and Livery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Posting House And Livery Hotel Guildford
Angel Posting Hotel And Livery
Angel Posting House And Livery Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing