We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel Posting House and Livery
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Farnborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great New Years stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked the Angel so that my wife and I could enjoy Guildford's festivities on new years eve. The room was at the front which meant it was a little bit noisy but that just added to the evening. The room was fantastic and good value. Will book again for next year. Separate resturant (Bills)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRJM_CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Angel Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the New Year's with us and considered your stay to be a good value. I understand that a room facing the High Street provided you with a great immersion into the New Year's festivities and am genuinely glad that this even added to the overall atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    131
    66
    38
    34
See reviews for
45
167
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Room clean and tidy, Staff Friendly and food in 'Bills' very good,
The history , which was available in print and free at reception , made the stay even more interesting, Excellent 'free wifi ' reception

Room Tip: No parking at the hotel and High Street closed from 8am - 5.30pm so if you arrive between those time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Angel Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience at our hotel and in particular highlighted the rich history of our property as well as the good quality reception of our complimentary WiFi.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is an old building with loads of character. Rooms are comfortable. Reception is not very good and not having it's own bar/restaurant detracts from it's overall quality, but there are plenty eating places around, including the one in, but not part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drummerlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Angel Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of the rooms as well as the overall character of the hotel.

On the other hand, I was concerned to read your comments regarding the reception. Since unfortunately from your feedback I am not able to identify a particular issue, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly with further details. We take our guests' feedback very seriously and appreciate every input that helps us to improve our service.

I would like to bring to your attention that there are actually two restaurants within the hotel, not just one as you mentioned. The Bill's who are situated downstairs provide an all-day dining options including breakfast, lunch and dinner, whereas the Angel Dining Rooms upstairs offer a more private and upscale setting and usually opens for lunch and dinner.

We hope to welcome you in the near future and invite you to join us in either of our two Food & Beverage outlets.

Kind regards

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waardamme
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel drops you back in good old England atmosphere.
A very nice building with each room having its own name & a charming style.
A place to relax and enjoy. wonderful!
Also for breakfast and meals the separate run restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share a review of your stay online.

I was delighted to read that you have been happy with your experience at the Angel hotel and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Beautiful hotel, with wonderful rooms in the middle of the High Street.
Room was quiet, despite looking out on the main road.
Had a marvelous stay in a very British hotel.
Breakfast at Bill's was good too, but had to pay separately.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the street were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Angel Hotel during your trip to Guildford and the positive review of your experience with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and highlighted in particular our traditional English style and wonderful rooms. It is also a pleasure to know that you had a relaxing sleep in a room overlooking the historic High Street.

Your comments about breakfast at one of our independent dining outlets - Bill's will be gladly passed on to the restaurant team.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location but is it a hotel.? No residents bar, no breakfast included and in fact you have to pay to use 'Bills' which i assume is a franchise of some sort. We popped round the corner to the coffee shop in Angel gate. The room was nice and had great character however the shower didnt work, a point we raised with the Concierge who wasnt unduly concerned...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Angel Hotel and your time you took to write a review online. We value each guest's feedback and use it as a source for improvement and inspiration.

I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent. Situated right in the middle of the cobbled High Street, it is indeed very simple to enter the pedestrian zone and explore the array of shops, restaurants and cafes that Guildford offers, not far from the main business areas, bus- and railway station.

I noted your comments regarding the Food & Beverage options within the hotel. There are two independent restaurants onsite - Bill's and Angel Dining Rooms. Bill's provides all day dining including breakfast, while Angel Dining Rooms offers a more intimate atmosphere especially for dinner. There is a possibility to enjoy drinks at the bar in either of them.

Please accept my apologies for the weaker pressure in the shower and the attitude that you seem to have received from one of our staff. Your feedback has been shared with the Reception team. You may be pleased to know that we will be reviewing the condition of the showers with our maintenance team as part of our upgrade programme.

We hope that this will not deter you from visiting our hotel again and we will have a chance to welcome you in the future. It will also be a pleasure to assist you with bar & restaurant recommendations either within the hotel or in our vicinity.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My stay in Guildfors has been very fine, and the hotel added something to my experience. The hotel is beautiful, in an old building, in a wonderful location, and everything was at a walking distance. I will try to stay there again in the future. The receptionist has not been "warm" neither "frosty", only professional. I had to ask to turn on the heater, and there was no possibility to adjust the temperature; it was ever at the maximum. The bad point is the housekeping; it is erratic and not careful. I had to ask every day (4 days) for my room to be made.

Room Tip: I had the Lord Nelson. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Angel Hotel during your visit to Guildford and your review you posted on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the location, the rooms and the character of our hotel. I have also noted your neutral comment regarding the reception and we will strive to make our welcome 'warmer' and more personal in the future. As a boutique property, our aim is to connect with each guest and provide a home-like atmosphere, while upholding to a high standard of service and professionalism.

I was concerned about your feedback about our Housekeeping. Please rest assured that your words have been passed on to our team to investigate the issue and to ensure consistent level of service, so that similar situations will be prevented in the future.

We are pleased that in overall you were satisfied with your experience and will be happy to return. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you seek any assistance with reservations in the future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Posting House and Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Posting House and Livery

Property: Angel Posting House and Livery
Address: 91 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angel Posting House and Livery 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Posting House is a a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Guildford which has been tastefully styled to encompass the best of British opulance from days-gone-by. Each bedroom lends itself a distinct personality from the next. Our rooms are named after past patrons including; Jane Austin, Oliver Cromwell, Nelson and Lord Byron to name but a few. Offering free wifi, complimentary newspapers and full room service, The Angel Posting House is perfect for a weekend retreat, business users and a family stop-over.The newest addition to Angel Gate is the restaurant, the latest evolution of the hotel's rich history, which brings in a new era of unsurpassed quality dining. Serving a select menu of in-season produce, the food is prepared with passion and care, respecting classic dishes while incorporating recent dining fashions. Our select menu is complemented by our extensive wine list, and staff are on hand to help choose the perfect partner for your chosen dish.Angel's Bar is always on hand as a place to relax and take in the 800yr old surroundings whilst enjoying a bottle of wine, beers from around the world or even a cocktail or two!Whether you're looking for a weekend retreat, a top quality meal, or a meeting place for social occasion, The Angel Posting House is here to offer you our warmest hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Angel Posting House and Livery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Posting House And Livery Hotel Guildford
Angel Posting Hotel And Livery
Angel Posting House And Livery Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing