We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit worn down but good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angel Posting House and Livery
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit worn down but good staff.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was nice, and the room (junior suite) was a great size. The staff were very helpful and friendly and for the money we paid it was a nice stay.

However, some things were annoying. For instance, the 'double' bed was actually two single beds pushed together, which is never great. The curtains in the room did not close on one side, and only one towel and one bath robe was provided (not bothered about the robe, but there should be two towels). The shower also gave out decent pressure on a scolding heat.

If these things had been working and with a couple of changes it would be a top hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irvsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Angel hotel and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. The experience of our guests is of utmost value to us and your kind comments provide us with inspiration for further improvement.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the size of the Junior Suite as well as the service provided by our staff. Your comments will be passed on to the entire team, who I am sure will treat it as a source of great motivation.

At the same time, I was concerned to read about certain shortcomings that you have experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team to investigate the issue and prevent this from happening in the future.

We hope to welcome you again the near future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    137
    70
    42
    34
See reviews for
51
174
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We got one of the suite room for our first night as a married couple.The bathroom was not done, towels were dirty and WC with marks.The hotel was full so they were not able to change us to another room.Worst experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cristinafumero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant experienced you had. To rectify our mistake, we have invited you to stay at the hotel complimentary. We hope that your second experience with us was much better and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sincerely yours ,
The Angel Posting House and Livery team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

East Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent location for shopping but shame it never had a car park as the closest one was rather expensive. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were a decent size. On the second night we stayed in a different room and the bed was better but literally a sheet on the mattress! The pillows were very soft so you need to ask for extra ones. Large bathrooms with toiletries and robes very nice to have. We stayed at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all so would recommend making sure you have one of those rooms.

We ate in the dining room which was very good and had breakfast in 'Bills' which was also good but a bit expensive.

Would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, can be noisy in the mornings at the front with delivery lor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Firstly, may I thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor following your stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed in particular the location, the room, the amenities and the services at the Angel and would be happy to recommend the hotel further.

The hotel is indeed ideally located in the town centre, close to all major shops and restaurants in Guildford. It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your dining experience at both of our restaurants - the Bill's and the Angel Dining Rooms located upstairs.

We hope to welcome you for another shopping weekend at the Angel hotel, or simply another relaxing stay with us.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I picked this hotel to stay in for me and my boyfriend for his birthday. They were extremely helpful by email and just as responsive in person. The decor was beautiful and the breakfast was very yummy. Definitely recommend for a relaxing extremely pleasant stay. 10 out of 10 for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Angel hotel for your recent stay and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your experience at the hotel. The essence of what we do is to provide excellent service and long-lasting memories and I will be happy to share with the entire team that we have achieved to deliver on this promise.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel again and hopefully celebrate the next birthdays to come!

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Booked the Angel so that my wife and I could enjoy Guildford's festivities on new years eve. The room was at the front which meant it was a little bit noisy but that just added to the evening. The room was fantastic and good value. Will book again for next year. Separate resturant (Bills)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRJM_CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Angel Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the New Year's with us and considered your stay to be a good value. I understand that a room facing the High Street provided you with a great immersion into the New Year's festivities and am genuinely glad that this even added to the overall atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Room clean and tidy, Staff Friendly and food in 'Bills' very good,
The history , which was available in print and free at reception , made the stay even more interesting, Excellent 'free wifi ' reception

Room Tip: No parking at the hotel and High Street closed from 8am - 5.30pm so if you arrive between those time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at the Angel Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience at our hotel and in particular highlighted the rich history of our property as well as the good quality reception of our complimentary WiFi.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is an old building with loads of character. Rooms are comfortable. Reception is not very good and not having it's own bar/restaurant detracts from it's overall quality, but there are plenty eating places around, including the one in, but not part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drummerlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Director at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Angel Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of the rooms as well as the overall character of the hotel.

On the other hand, I was concerned to read your comments regarding the reception. Since unfortunately from your feedback I am not able to identify a particular issue, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly with further details. We take our guests' feedback very seriously and appreciate every input that helps us to improve our service.

I would like to bring to your attention that there are actually two restaurants within the hotel, not just one as you mentioned. The Bill's who are situated downstairs provide an all-day dining options including breakfast, lunch and dinner, whereas the Angel Dining Rooms upstairs offer a more private and upscale setting and usually opens for lunch and dinner.

We hope to welcome you in the near future and invite you to join us in either of our two Food & Beverage outlets.

Kind regards

Anna Shakespeare
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,909 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Posting House and Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Posting House and Livery

Property: Angel Posting House and Livery
Address: 91 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Angel Posting House and Livery 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Posting House is a a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Guildford which has been tastefully styled to encompass the best of British opulance from days-gone-by. Each bedroom lends itself a distinct personality from the next. Our rooms are named after past patrons including; Jane Austin, Oliver Cromwell, Nelson and Lord Byron to name but a few. Offering free wifi, complimentary newspapers and full room service, The Angel Posting House is perfect for a weekend retreat, business users and a family stop-over.The newest addition to Angel Gate is the restaurant, the latest evolution of the hotel's rich history, which brings in a new era of unsurpassed quality dining. Serving a select menu of in-season produce, the food is prepared with passion and care, respecting classic dishes while incorporating recent dining fashions. Our select menu is complemented by our extensive wine list, and staff are on hand to help choose the perfect partner for your chosen dish.Angel's Bar is always on hand as a place to relax and take in the 800yr old surroundings whilst enjoying a bottle of wine, beers from around the world or even a cocktail or two!Whether you're looking for a weekend retreat, a top quality meal, or a meeting place for social occasion, The Angel Posting House is here to offer you our warmest hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Angel Posting House and Livery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Posting House And Livery Hotel Guildford
Angel Posting Hotel And Livery
Angel Posting House And Livery Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing