We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming historic hotel in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel Posting House and Livery
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Paris, France
1 review
“Charming historic hotel in the old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in the city center, not far away from the train station and in the old town.

The room was big, well decorated, comfortable with a big bathroom.
I stayed one night in the room "John Astret".

Hotel recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steph8872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your comment regarding your stay here at the Angel Hotel here in Guildford.

Due to the nature of the building our rooms are very spacious compared to that of new modern hotels which is nice, and i am glad that you liked!

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    131
    66
    38
    34
See reviews for
45
167
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely hotel, all rooms individually decorated with large comfy beds, seperate seating area, tea/ coffee etc.
Most bathrooms have seperate bath & shower cubicle.
Rooms on the street can be noisy, especially in summer when you need the windows open. Ask for a quiet room & you usually get it.
Main issue (like most hotels) they dont change the duvets to lighter weight ones in the summer, so they are far too hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abigail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for you positive comments to which i have passed on to the team!!

We don't have any lighter tog duvets for the summer which is something we are looking into next year, as we did have some exceptionally hot days!!

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Angel Hotel on your next visit to Guildford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A lovely little hotel with quirky stairs and slightly slopping corridors. We stayed just for the one night and the room was very pleasant, clean and inviting. The bathroom was awesome although there was no shower screen/curtain and the entire area looked like a tidal wave had been through each morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for the review and the positive comments to which i have passed on to the staff. I have spoken to maintenance with regards to no shower curtain and we are rectifying that.

Again many thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent location. Historic building. Excellent service. Fantastic rooms.
I really enjoyed my stay. It is right in amongst great shops. You can walk where ever you would like. Restaurants are both in the building and close by so you have several options. Beautifully kept building. Front service staff are very helpful and sincere. I look forward to staying there on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for the lovely comments regarding your stay here at the Angel Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit so much you are coming back to England to see us again!!

Our location on the High Street does mean that you have the opportunity to explore so much more to Guildford..

I have passed the lovely comments on to the team about there effort's, to which i thankyou and look forward to welcoming you back to the Angel Hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived early hoping to change before a wedding,
Our rom was made available in 10 minuits just time to park the car, though a stroll away was not too far, suitcases carried to our very lovely room, only improvement would be a better make up mirror as oldies need to see what they are doing!!
Good value good service, very central.

Room Tip: You need to know you can not park out side in busy shopping times so not too much luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76tr0mb0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your feedback regarding your stay here at the Angel Posting House Hotel in Guildford....

I'm glad that we were able to accomdate you arriving early so that you could get to your wedding...

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Guildford when next in the area.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location is excellent; on High Street, right in the town center. My husband and I loved the hotel's Old World charm. The bathrooms were completely redone and absolutely spotless, which is a plus.

We were within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants, and were delighted to enjoy a stroll along the river.

Bill's restaurant -- located in the lobby -- serves exquisite breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are quieter. This is a really old building, so travelers need to be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melibeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, General Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your review regarding the Angel Hotel here in Guildford! Im glad within the high street meant you could see more of Guildford!

I have passed on your comments to the team.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here back in April to attend a wedding. It was quite pricey, considering it didn't include breakfast. The location was great, but the room was tired, dated & there were stains on the chairs & furniture. The en suite was large & very clean. We didn't get a good sleep due to the late night street noise & early morning business set up in the courtyard below. Secondary glazing would help with this aspect. We probably wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAngelManagement, Manager at Angel Posting House and Livery, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for your review regarding your stay here at the Angel Posting House.

We have been recently looking at getting Secondary Glazing for the room's fronting the high street; and due to being a listed building are awaiting feedback from the local planner's/council. Unfortunately being a high street location, something we can't control but we are looking to improve this as soon as possible!

There are also plan's for a rejuvenation within some of the rooms, over the next few months which is very exciting, and we would very much like to welcome you back so that you can see the changes!

Again thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.3 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Posting House and Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Posting House and Livery

Property: Angel Posting House and Livery
Address: 91 High Street, Guildford GU1 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Angel Posting House and Livery 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Posting House is a a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Guildford which has been tastefully styled to encompass the best of British opulance from days-gone-by. Each bedroom lends itself a distinct personality from the next. Our rooms are named after past patrons including; Jane Austin, Oliver Cromwell, Nelson and Lord Byron to name but a few. Offering free wifi, complimentary newspapers and full room service, The Angel Posting House is perfect for a weekend retreat, business users and a family stop-over.The newest addition to Angel Gate is the restaurant, the latest evolution of the hotel's rich history, which brings in a new era of unsurpassed quality dining. Serving a select menu of in-season produce, the food is prepared with passion and care, respecting classic dishes while incorporating recent dining fashions. Our select menu is complemented by our extensive wine list, and staff are on hand to help choose the perfect partner for your chosen dish.Angel's Bar is always on hand as a place to relax and take in the 800yr old surroundings whilst enjoying a bottle of wine, beers from around the world or even a cocktail or two!Whether you're looking for a weekend retreat, a top quality meal, or a meeting place for social occasion, The Angel Posting House is here to offer you our warmest hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Angel Posting House and Livery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Posting House And Livery Hotel Guildford
Angel Posting Hotel And Livery
Angel Posting House And Livery Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing