We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
134
150
75
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
150
75
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street bills restaurant four poster excellent location central location lovely hotel large bathroom train station centre of town no lift comfy bed the ground floor car parking suite ghost cobbled suitcases
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2015

I stayed at the Angel Posting House for a business trip in early February. The rooms are reasonably sized, bathrooms tend to be rather big with a nice shower and separate bathtub. Location of the Hotel is perfect right downtown Gildford with lots of options for restaurants, late night shopping and pubs. Apart from that, nothing fancy. Breakfast is not included, room service not really available. Staff was friendly. Recommended for location but wouldn't stay there for a longer period. A bit overpriced with 100+ GBP but that seems to be normal in this region.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

But that is as good as it gets...
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is excellent.
But No hot water, no water pressure and no wifi made the experience less good. The hotel needs a big make over to live up to now-adays-standard...

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank WinnieRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We decided to book this suite for the night of our wedding, and the night after. It has a beautiful four poster bed, and a massive, deep stand-alone bath. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the beautiful high street. We had our second wedding event on the Sunday at the Angel Dining Rooms which was sublime - highly recommended! Our stay was wonderful, and the staff very helpful. They forgot to bring us the champagne and chocolates on the first night that we ordered, and when they realized, they offered us a free night to make up for it. We gladly took them up on the offer as the suite is absolutely gorgeous.

Room tip: Pancras Chamberleyn has consistently high reviews, and is considered the "bridal" suite, so I think this is probably the best one.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NGirard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Perfect location on the High Street with an excellent restaurant just next door. Spacious rooms and efficient, friendly service. Good heating too, which was a real advantage considering the sub-zero temperatures outside! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

This property is the only hotel in the centre of town on High Street, right in the middle of the shopping district. Though the street shuts down early, it is quite active during the day and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. The hotel has a great historic feel, particularly the exterior and public rooms. The bedroom was a standard room with no view, but a fairly large bathroom with separate tub and shower. The place was clean, but tired, as evidenced by peeling wallpaper, carpet that needs to be replaced, and a shower frame showing evidence of a door that had been removed and replaced by a cheap shower curtain. The adjoining restaurant, Bill's, was a great place for breakfast (breakfast not included with the room rate). All in all, I would return to this hotel on a future visit to Guildford, though I hope that they eventually put some effort into some cosmetic improvements to the rooms, because I fear it will not be sustainable if it deteriorates further and they expect to continue to charge rates over GBP 100 per night.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank scottj370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews