We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Afternoon (& Scrummy Ice-Cream)”
Review of Loseley House

Loseley House
Ranked #16 of 67 things to do in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LOSELEY PARK IS OPEN FROM MONDAY 1ST MAY 2017. SUNDAY - THURSDAY 11AM - 5PM Built in the reign of Elizabeth I, Loseley Park stands in ancient Surrey Parkland close to the North Downs yet within reach of London. Still the home of the More-Molyneux family, it is remarkably unchanged since 1562 when Sir William More laid the first stones, and remains, as he intended, a place of calm, grace and subtle beauty. From the house itself, where the intricate panelling in the Great Hall was once in Henry VIII’s Nonsuch Palace; to the Tithe Barn with its ancient oak beams; to the elegant and restful walled garden, Loseley Park is sought after for civil weddings, corporate events, and as a location for films such as Sense and Sensibility. But it’s also a place to visit, to enjoy the grounds, the garden and house, and relax in one of England’s friendliest historic homes.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Afternoon (& Scrummy Ice-Cream)”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Being a member of the Historic House Association I am fortunate enough to get in free, but I would still pay to see this architectural gem and delightful garden. The house is lovely and you are guided round the house viewing the Great Hall and other interesting rooms, upstairs and down. The guide was very knowledgeable, making the tour an enjoyable 45 minutes.(I maybe would have liked to see more rooms if that is possible, and a little less information regarding the paintings as nearly every painting was described!)
Outside though, the walled garden was immaculate, and so relaxing to walk round, and there are many benches to rest upon and take in the beautiful shrubs and flowers.
The cafe is simple and does not offer much variety in the way of food, but when you do get a drink and a slice of cake, don't sit in the small forecourt but head pass the pay kiosk, through the wall and take a seat in the lovely garden, much more relaxing!
On, and don't forget to buy a tub of Loseley ice cream from the shop - it's not made on site anymore, indeed the cows now reside in Wales, but the 'Eton Mess', 'Treacle Toffee', and 'Honey and Stem Ginger' were all very scrummy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating house”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was here for a private dinner, when we had a talk from the owner (it has been in the same family - More-Molyneux - since it was built in the mid-sixteenth century) followed by dinner in the Hall. It's not 'baronial' in its proportions, but if you like old houses, interesting architecture, and you want to get away from the National Trust way of doing things, then Losely is most definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautifully kept and charming - Worth visiting for only £9”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I visited Loseley Park & House yesterday with a friend. I wasn’t sure what to expect, however the grounds and house is beautiful!

We paid £9 each for access to the house, grounds and gardens. You can pay £5 for access to the gardens and grounds but I’m not sure why anyone would not want to visit the house for a few more pounds.
Access to the house is via a guided tour for an hour: The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the house. You could easily see she enjoyed her job!. The gardens are beautifully kept with an array of flowers, fruit and vegetables. I would recommend this to adults as I think children may find this boring. I saw no children on our day out here.

We had lunch in the café which was over prices - £2 for a bottle of coke and £5 for a sandwich. Be wary of the excessive amount of wasps that gather near the café. We choose to sit inside as there were so many. On the plus side the car park is free and you can spend as little or a long walking and exploring the grounds as you wish. A beautiful day out in this picturesque manor. Go its truly wonderful and charming.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnie_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely old house to visit ...the tour was excellent very informative ..Jill took us on our tour and had loads to show us on our way.. She was very passionate about the building and that really came through on the tour.

The garden are very well maintained and so full of colour and lots of butterflies.

We didn't eat here as when we entered the coffee shop there were loads of wasps flying around which put us off although the food that others were eating did look nice ... We did look at the menu and thought it was quite pricey £2.00 for a bottle of coke is just a bit much.

If you take a picnic it's a great day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RandR_K26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Enjoyed a nice visit to Loseley Park with beautiful gardens and a great house. The gardens were smaller than I had anticipated but well worth seeing. Particularly enjoyed the White garden with the white hydrangeas and small pond. Recommend you arrive early to enjoy the sights and fragrances around the various gardens and lovely scenic views by the lake. Café served excellent food and beverages and prices compatible with NT properties. However, they would benefit from more toilets as only 2 plus a disabled near the entrance. The House is worth touring as many pieces of lovely furniture and artefacts to see and our guide was very informative. Please note the post code on Sat Nav does not get you to the entrance and I advise you follow the Brown Tourist signs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jehinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loseley House also viewed

 

Been to Loseley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing